wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Coca cola withdraws from Nyayo stadium deal
Feish
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 3:26:00 PM

Coca Cola company has withdrawn its naming rights to Nyayo Stadium,Thus the stadium reverts to nyayo national stadium but minus 113M ksh it was supposed to generate in 3 years. Is this a step forward or step backward. Whats the role should politicians (minister) play in such a deal

life is an endless adventure
petro
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 4:35:00 PM

I cannot imagine we lost 113Million because a whole professor could not see the sense. A case of 'academic nonsense'

Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can't lose.
Feish
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 6:19:00 PM

I hope this is not part of in-fighting between the two sides of the political divide,else it doesnt look so good. I believe it was a good initiative and other companies will not be interested to bid for fear of getting similar disappointments and loss of investments

Mwabili
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:18:00 AM

What the f*** is wrong with us kenyans?Cant we get something right even for a second?Cocacola has the same naming rights with stadiums in Tunisia,Ghana,Cameroon and Togo..and the stadiums they took over have been revamped to World class standards..and we give a f*** about a name?God bless kenya....

Its the Economy..Stupid!!!!!
HUNGRY TIGER
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:23:00 AM

letter recomending review of the deal came from Muthaura's office. cannot be PNU/ODM politics here. but there is clearly sth we are not being told.

AND THOSE WHO WERE SEEN DANCING WERE THOUGHT TO BE MAD BY THOSE WHO COULD NOT HEAR THE MUSIC
Marty
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:29:00 AM

Naming of Stadia with Company names is accepted world over,think Emirates,Reebok,Brittania,etc

Instead of seeing the income generated from the same,the Prof thinks Nyayo is a cute name and must be maintained ati,Coca Cola Nyayo stadium.... And the cash could have been used to bring the stadium to a higher standard. Trust Kenyan politicians to screw up anything.

..wise as a serpent,humble as a dove
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
murenj
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:43:00 AM

It has nothing to do about names. It is all about someone's cut....of the coca cola cake.

Guka killer.
jipinde
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:48:00 AM

The good Prof's pitch was on Nyayo legacy. Maybe she was right because with Nyayo bus,Nyayo Pioneer Car and other many Nyayos long forgotten she felt that the stadium was the only one left and she could let Coca cola go away with this one.

......the truth shall set you free.
mali ya nguvu
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:03:00 AM

Is it that the professor is being sentimental about the Nyayo era....i thot we were meant to revert to the Nyayo name after three years!!!!!

Coca cola wanted to show the world atleast how it cares about African soccer development with the 2010 soccer showpiece being staged in Africa.....

Peace to all men of Goodwill
Bareta
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:54:00 AM

Jipinde,

You are spot on!

Yesterday I refered to this govt as a 'concoction of bitter herbs in water/kerosene',non of them can just get anything right howver simple it may look.

The Prof is protecting her past,she came from Nyayo and can't just sit and watch as Mzee's legacy is being torn down.

God help us.

Chief
Chaka
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:16:00 AM

@feish

I think a better heading for your thread should be 'Government withdraws fron Nyayo stadium deal'

Probabaly the other stadia being mentioned in other countries have been put up by local governments in those countriesin which case Coca Coal should have negotiated with NCC to re-name city stadium and spruce it up?
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:49:00 AM

It was East African SAFARI Rally,then Marlborough SAFARI Rally,then 555 SAFARI Rally,then back to East African SAFARI Rally,then KCB SAFARI Rally. What is the common thread in each of the names? Would it be the same if the common thread were removed?
adept
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:15:00 AM

At the end of the day,Coca Cola is in it for business. It is identifying what makes the most business sense for them.

City Stadium is not a bad idea. However,the onus to structure a deal that is attractive for businesses/sponsors is primarily on GoK and its affiliates,not the other way round.

I tell you,we have real nincompoops for leaders. Will not be surprised if next week,there will be a press conference where the same guys will be asking FIFA for cash to renovate our stadia.
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:52:00 AM

The prof dint get her cut,that is all!!!!

Have coca cola actually withdrawn or they threatended to withdraw if the name is udultered....I thought it was the former!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Mkimwa
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:32:00 AM

Whats in the name 'Nyayo' anyway?
Feish
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 1:27:00 PM

http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/sports/local/700.html

@ Chaka the thread is as it is..... Coca cola withdrew read above link

We have completely lost it out on this,its funny that even the minister differed openly with Joe Aketch

amauriceus
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 1:58:00 PM

We live in a messed up country.A country where a charitable organisation is NOT allowed to build schools/hospitals/drill boreholes etc unless the politicians get their cut!
Same thing happening with Coca Cola Nyayo deal.

N prof should better know that the rest of us Kenyans are very phobic to anything reminding us of the dark Moi error of following in Mzee Jomo Kenyatta's footsteps.
Mr.Tea
#18 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 6:47:00 AM

I am seated here wondering to myself,now that the politician got what s/he wanted,what does the mwananchi on whose behalf they purport to speak receive.....With this kind of visionary leadership,who needs V2030 in fact it is right behind us. God bless(help) Kenya.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Moibutu
#19 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 7:10:00 AM

The Minister should come up clean and stop hiding under the guise of 'protecting our heritage' what heritage is there to protect in the name Nyayo? The country is losing out on a chance of a lifetime. But anyway this is Kenya where you expect all wierd things to thrive.

Apart from Nyayo stadium l propose a change of the following names,Nyayo house,Nyayo tea zone,Nyayo market and many other names that reminds us of the draconian nyayo 'error'

die trying
Mpenzi
#20 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 7:59:00 AM

The decision by the Minister to cancel the deal is the most stupid and illogical decision yet in this government! So will she donate her own money to revamp the stadium? In Melbourne,Australia one of the main stadiums has long been known as Telstra Dome - because of a sponsorship deal with the largest telcom company in the country. Recently the naming rights were bought out by an upcoming airline Middle East airline co - Etihad Airlines. Read the following extract about the millions of dollars that are being paid by these companies to get naming rights - a clever way of ensuring that stadiums are of world-class standards.

Naming rights history
The stadium was constructed by Baulderstone Hornibrook and opened on 9 March 2000,as Colonial Stadium. Colonial State Bank paid $32.5 million for 10 years of naming rights. [2] In 2000,Commonwealth Bank took over Colonial State Bank and sold the naming rights to Telstra for about $50 million. The name was changed to Telstra Dome on 1 October 2002. It was also colloquially referred to as simply 'The Dome',particularly by clubs who are sponsored by rival telecommunications companies. On 1 March 2009 the name was changed to Etihad Stadium,for an expected period of five years,when the naming rights transferred to Etihad Airways.[6]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Docklands_Stadium