wazua Sun, Jan 11, 2026

6 Pages<1234>»
2012 Voter registration November
#21 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 12:13:25 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
Has anyone registered yet?
Or is it that the Kenyaness in us won't let us til the last 3 days? I will register either today or Wednesday.
We can't just sit, not doing our civic duty and finding it convenient blaming IEBC.
Be responsible and register early,easing the immense pressure on IEBC and maybe, we might have around 15mn registered voters by the end of the 30 days.
How do we expect IEBC to everything right when we are doing nothing at all,things only us the public MUST do for IEBC to do its part.
Stand up n be counted.
We can avert election violence if we do our civic duties diligently.

waiting for a national holiday to allow for registration....smile
#22 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 1:04:25 PM

radio wrote:
I am very disappointed with the registration.

Why is it not possible to register anywhere and specify where I want to vote. Sad Sad

...kwani thngz changed thought thats the way it waz spsd to be...

thought so too

What was the need of automation then?

I meant that I thought you could register anywhere as the kits have all polling stations pre-loaded. Thus I can register for North Horr while in Westlands

Thought so too. As it is I won't register as there is no way I shall be found in Nairobi come election day.
tuvok
#23 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 1:55:12 PM

The list of reg centres:

http://t.co/2z4h13Po

Apparently starts daily at 6am ... I think my household shall be registered this week.
grolut
#24 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 3:56:42 PM

Registered today but my card doesn't have an elector's number. Anyone else have that?
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#25 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 4:18:51 PM

grolut wrote:
Registered today but my card doesn't have an elector's number. Anyone else have that?

Registered this morning. Registration number is a minor detail which will just make your identification process during voting longer, your prints will identify you.
grolut
#26 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 4:48:33 PM

Thanks Gordon.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#27 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 4:50:15 PM

The IEBC just announced that they registered some 2.8 million voters by Saturday using BVR kits against a target of 3.7 million giving them a 75% success rate against their target. The exercise ends on December 18.
#28 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 5:14:15 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
grolut wrote:

Registered this morning. Registration number is a minor detail which will just make your identification process during voting longer, your prints will identify you.

On the polling day you only need your ID. That card is simply an acknowledgement that you have registered. You will never need it again.
Lucid_Iam
#29 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 5:18:31 PM

bkismat wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
grolut wrote:

On the polling day you only need your ID. That card is simply an acknowledgement that you have registered. You will never need it again.

Politicians who thrive on buying voters cards need new winning models. Technology is our saviour. I hope in 2017/18 we can vote electronically.
#30 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 5:51:08 PM

And I hope this is the last time Im registering as a voter and from now on there will be continous registration of new voters. In 10 or so years I have done it three times. Im sure there are guys who are reaping big from this constant changing of the voter's register.
#31 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 9:23:00 PM

The IEBC just announced that they registered some 2.8 million voters by Saturday using BVR kits against a target of 3.7 million giving them a 75% success rate against their target. The exercise ends on December 18.

..guys need to register i hvnt but i will...75% isnt bad we kan do better tho will manage
#32 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 6:14:50 PM

Lamu, Kiambu, Nairobi and Muranga counties lead in percentage of registered voters.
wazuaguest
#33 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 6:27:41 PM

bkismat wrote:
And I hope this is the last time Im registering as a voter and from now on there will be continous registration of new voters. In 10 or so years I have done it three times. Im sure there are guys who are reaping big from this constant changing of the voter's register.

I hate it too,its like opening a bank account every time you want to transact. No wonder some people are not bothered. I second that a permanent register, lakini sio 2017 bado unaambia WaKenya waache Kazi zawakajisajirili.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#34 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 8:13:46 PM

Lamu, Kiambu, Nairobi and Muranga counties lead in percentage of registered voters.

Tharaka, one of the " 2007 swing state" is also in the list.
#35 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 8:30:03 PM

Top counties (above 50%) this far;Note in any particular order.

Lamu, Kiambu, Nairobi, Muranga, Nyeri, Kirinyaga, Kajiado, Nyandarua, Kisumu,Siaya, Nakuru, Tharaka, Homabay, Laikipia, Embu,Meru Vihiga and Busia.
mnandii
#36 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2012 7:38:38 PM

Elder wrote:
radio wrote:
I am very disappointed with the registration.

Why is it not possible to register anywhere and specify where I want to vote. Sad Sad

...kwani thngz changed thought thats the way it waz spsd to be...

thought so too

What was the need of automation then?

I meant that I thought you could register anywhere as the kits have all polling stations pre-loaded. Thus I can register for North Horr while in Westlands

Thought so too. As it is I won't register as there is no way I shall be found in Nairobi come election day.

My opinion is that Issack Hassan has and continues to fail miserably.
1. Why couldn't the BVR kits be configured to register voters wherever they are? I mean just loading the kits with with all the polling stations so that individuals choose their station at the time of registration isn't exactly rocket science!

2. Why were the hopes of diaspora voters lifted high up only to be dashed at the last minute? Any idea for wasting tax payers money in expensive hotels abroad then fail to do the very thing the conferences intended to achieve.

3. Why should a voter be required to go with their ID card on polling day? If biometric features are unique to an individual as Hassan endlessly stresses then my finger should be enough to identify me, no?

The issue of ID card could make sense if they had a chip which you just swipe and whollah! Your details appear. As it stands the clerks will have a hard time trying to enter your ID card number. What with the tension from impatient Kenyans thronging the poll booths.

4. Aspirants for the elective post are not sure of the qualifications required yet Hassan has not come out to help.

5. And many others some which will become apparent as the clock ticks towards the election day.
In summary Hassan and his team are misfits for the posts they occupy. God help us.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
wazuaguest
#37 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2012 8:16:09 PM

I will register on Saturday, I intend to travel home that's where I will execute my constitution right, unless niambiwe there is early voting before then mpango ni hiyo.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2012 9:24:29 PM

I like the idea of registering at the station where you will vote. One should influence the electoral outcome of the place where they spend most of their time.
mnandii
#39 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2012 12:44:13 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
I like the idea of registering at the station where you will vote. One should influence the electoral outcome of the place where they spend most of their time.

The issue here is that if somebody is in Nairobi, for example, and they want to vote at their shags, then the guy should register here in Nairobi but be given the option to specify their home polling center. With a computer this is not difficult, unless IEBC bought fake machines.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#40 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2012 12:50:10 PM

this 'exercise' should be extended to 30th dec..Haki yetu