wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

bribery still very alive
G - Boots
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2008 9:46:00 AM

i wonder why people in the government still have to ask for bribes yet their salaries were double dthe other day. i just wasnted to apply fora lost id then this dude asks for a whooping 1500 and promises to deliver within a day tell me should i give or leave?

Boots
PONDI
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2008 10:08:00 AM

set him up with anti corruption folks...but be warned the guy could come looking for you. just ask the guy who used to own The horseman in karen....he sold it
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2008 11:07:00 AM

I lost my ID in feb and have never gone to apply for one for that very same reason!! I had been syking myself up to go have the forms filled,and then i read this??? That alone desykes me enough to wait for another year!

Is the guy gonna get you a valid one of is it the ones that are done in river road? The process of having to go through the hassle just kills me. Ati i go to Korogocho(or what is that Chief's place across nairobi river called?) if not,i go to kibera - no even idea of where to start....

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
eli
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2008 11:25:00 AM

Thou shall not bribe! God is against this vice!

www.thedoxa.net
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 11:40:00 AM

@G-Boots,

Did you get help with your ID? I urgently need to get one? How did you go about it?

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
bebeto
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 12:31:00 PM

@WENDZ

pliz,dont bribe,u can get it with some patience with the legal process.

SECONDLY n most important,pliz go for one.why?

a pal of mine lost her ID around feb this year and since she doesnt require it for her day to day activities,she opted not to hustle for it.

about two weeks ago,the police tracked her to her place of business armed with all her details-3 names,id number,serial no. clearly positive identification.

then the why they were there-wanted for numerous thefts and carjackings n to help with some investigations,........need i say more?

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Cammarada
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 12:55:00 PM

@bebeto

LOL!!

So where is your friend?

Guess helping with investigation.

Experience is the name we give our past mistakes
bebeto
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 1:01:00 PM

@camaranda

u right,only that out on bail.

chuma bado motoni.

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
wairegi
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 1:32:00 PM

Wendz Just walk to the National Registration Bureau in NSSF and they will sort out. I cant remember the which wing but the askaris will direct you.

Your Moment-by-Moment Choices Create the Big Picture
kazee
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 1:52:00 PM

Legalizing corruption is the way to go. The Govt should just have a counter for express service where a Kenyan pays the 1,000 you could have used to bribe and gets the ID in a day instead of fighting a losing battle. Those who can wait for 3 months go through the normal way. More revenue to the Govt,better service for those in a hurry. Au vipi?
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 2:10:00 PM

!Kazee,

They will double the bribe to say 2K and a ready I/D will pop up.No need for 'express' service.....
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 2:26:00 PM

I wont bribe.

I just wanted to know whether he/she just went to the chief and left it at that and how long it is going to take.

#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 3:27:00 PM

@wendz.....you don't go to the chif's office but the DOs...go to Kariokor,westlands or any other DOs office with a police abstract,queue for about 20mins and you have your application..... Wait for 14-21days and you have ur ID.....pliz dont bribe. If anybody really wants a bribe from you get that money from the anti-corruption.....they will ambush him and you meanwhile get your Id even faster!!!
cindano
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 5:16:00 PM

We thought we would deal a death blow to corruption in the judiciary by raising their salaries and allowances...

Now they do not want to be scrutinized

Kila kitu kiasi...kula,kunywa,kucheza na hata ujinga...
cindano
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 5:18:00 PM

We thought we would deal a death blow to corruption in the judiciary by raising their salaries and allowances...

Now they do not want to be scrutinized

Kila kitu kiasi...kula,kunywa,kucheza na hata ujinga...
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 9:06:00 PM

you talked of legalizing! it would never end because once this is done there will still be corruption as some guys will try to loot the 'legal' bribe. man will never be satisfied with what he/she has and therefore this vice will never be completely solved.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
jaheim
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 2:12:00 PM

I remember in 2001 was in kenya and thought i could apply for an ID and i was faced with the same predicament! Was asked silly questions that i had no time to answer. I had my passport with me,that ought to have made things easier for all of us but the guy was just being an ass h**e so that he can be given chai,told him on the face i'm not going to give you a coin and walked out.

So if you've got integrity my friend dont give them a thing,thats how you keep fueling corruption! so dont be part of it

Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
Feish
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 2:52:00 PM

I needed a renewal for my passport and this kubafu asks me for renewal fee that is around 8k. I really wanted it fast so that i could get a visa. He told me if i give a total of 15k all together i will get the passport in the evening. I thought the deal was sweet and obliged. I got the passport the same day............But guys do you know one thing there is a office inside nyayo house that deals with the same situation officially. You go explain your case give correct docs and you get the passport the same day without giving out a single cent so this mavi ya kuku just got my 7k for nothing....i wish i can remember his face and i will pull his balls out. Guys are out there trying to eat from a system that is corrupt free and since we are used to corruption we go there with kitu kidogo on our other pocket.

life is an endless adventure
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 2:58:00 PM

Apply then if delayed go to see DO. BTW,I was hassled for 3 years by a specific jamaa. I refused to bribe lakini I got it just before elections in 2007. LOL... and I didnt vote for kibz!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
jaheim
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 3:29:00 PM

@feish
Sorry for that,the guy just swindled you,as for me i refused i had my passport and some parents docs,only to be asked birth certificate even for my grand mum! He was a big joker i'm telling you and when he saw i'm getting hot under the collar that's when he pulled the grand ma and grand dad birth certi people who were born in 1930's where were birth certifcates in kenya then?? He wanted me to pass him something under the table and i refused told him where to go! and told him i can do without the ID anyway. How i wish they could have specimen notes which you can give them if they demand bribe then police ambush the dude and tell them the notes are specimen hence its evidence of them taking bribes at work and they get taken to court charged and also sacked!

Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg