wazua Sun, Apr 26, 2026

21 Pages«<23456>»
Syokimau Railway Line
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:22:32 PM

Wont some of this target need to use matatu/bodaboda/motorbikes to and from the railway station to thier abode therby increasing the cost of transport used in a day?
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:24:19 PM

rock wrote:
Caveat passenger: 70 seated + 120 standing in each coach must be a pickpockets wet dream!

Like button iko wapi, hapo sasa, kwanza wadosi!

mfadhili
#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:31:46 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:
What is the cost of using a mat since the expected train ride prices are unrealistic, or who are expected to use these trains at that price?

@eboomerang the trains are meant for motorists.. The prices are cheaper than fuel + parking fees in town combined!

Have you factored in the cost from Nairobi Railway station to my office(Westlands)Sad

Kenyans are pecular indeed!

one way or the other u will still have to go to westlands. in your case its a matter of how cheap will it be etting to town
mkeiyd
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:43:25 PM

the only drawback on this is the 100bob fare. otherwise it makes a lot of sense time wise. how long does it take to find park after 10 in the morning in town?how long does it on the road?
About having different classes of fares,that would be beating the whole logic of MASS urban transport.
Whether its a tube or a subway, the brits/americans stand or has our middle class gotten richer than those two?
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:57:16 PM

mfadhili wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:
What is the cost of using a mat since the expected train ride prices are unrealistic, or who are expected to use these trains at that price?

@eboomerang the trains are meant for motorists.. The prices are cheaper than fuel + parking fees in town combined!

Have you factored in the cost from Nairobi Railway station to my office(Westlands)Sad

one way or the other u will still have to go to westlands. in your case its a matter of how cheap will it be etting to town

There is no matatu that plies msard westlands route
DtheK
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 5:06:57 PM

I thought I saw that guy of matatu welfare during the launch,he would not be doing his job if he did not try to influence the price(upwards).
Where else is rail transport targeted at the middle class?
And the thing is govt owned aren't cheaper fares to their advantage,inflation and all.
Just doesn't make sense.
#37 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 12:59:59 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
the only drawback on this is the 100bob fare. otherwise it makes a lot of sense time wise. how long does it take to find park after 10 in the morning in town?how long does it on the road?
About having different classes of fares,that would be beating the whole logic of MASS urban transport.
Whether its a tube or a subway, the brits/americans stand or has our middle class gotten richer than those two?

...We need to do a practical study on the viability of ths thing hakuna mtu anaishi mahali huko awe case study for a week we make a comparison of how much they save if they use the train instead of a car to and fro...and the car shouldnt be a vitz.
#38 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 6:15:15 AM

mkeiyd wrote:

...We need to do a practical study on the viability of ths thing hakuna mtu anaishi mahali huko awe case study for a week we make a comparison of how much they save if they use the train instead of a car to and fro...and the car shouldnt be a vitz.

Fuel from Syokimau to and fro = 300 + parking fees 150. (note this is not a rainy day) and if u have a guzzler ur likely to be spending more, so what is 200/- for a hustle free ride?
chiaroscuro
#39 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 7:58:24 AM

mfadhili wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:

There is no matatu that plies msard westlands route

Yeah!

I remember one time when I worked near Airtel centre and had to go to Westlands... First matatu took me to Central Bus Station, then had to walk all the way to Fire Station Roundabout to the the Westy mat.

It will be the same for those using the new rail. So G-G's point doesn't hold water!
Muheani
#40 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 8:06:39 AM

mkeiyd wrote:

Fuel from Syokimau to and fro = 300 + parking fees 150. (note this is not a rainy day) and if u have a guzzler ur likely to be spending more, so what is 200/- for a hustle free ride?

I use this road frequently every day. What you have described is a scenario not very common on MSA rd? unless U are a mid day or weekend person

but i agree.... 100/120 bob is a little on the higher side
21 Pages«<23456>»