17 Pages«<1314151617>
The Tusker Premier League 2012
#281 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 10:35:34 AM

This TPL cup is for K'ogallo, even mahaters know that.

#282 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 12:32:09 PM

Its almost in the bag and just five more days to clinch that 10 million shilling trophy.
#283 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 12:56:01 PM

K'Ogalo already has one trophy in the cabinet, get the 2nd trophy on 10th November and then top it up with a treble!!!! Now that is history....and I have never seen any other team fight from relegation like the might green army...kudos!!
#284 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 3:07:03 PM

elba wrote:
@ elba.....The issue here is how the league clubs can build a fan base.

Besides Players in those lower level teams would all wish to play for the likes of Tusker because they are a proffessional club..

You've just contradicted yourself. First you say the issue is how clubs can build a fan base then you change the subject to whether players from lower divisions would like to play for Tusker which has nothing to do with the topic at hand.

I believe once you get into the Premier league everything changes, you have to run the club in a proffessional way which in most cases means shifting all you home matches away from your fans.

The bolded hardly makes sense at all. Why would a club move games away from their fans ?

You also have to hold on to your top players and at the same time sign good players who can keep you competitive in the league....thats the point where most clubs lose their fan base.

THis also does not make sense at all. Why would holding onto your top players make a team loose its fan base ?

Gor and AFC used to be community clubs but not anymore, they have fans all over the country.

Gor Mahia and AFC are still community teams as is Shabana. And yes even in the 1960s and 70s they had fans from all over the country. But then as now, their core fan base comes from those ethnic groups.
That is why AFC plays many of their home games in Mumias and Gor Mahia tours Nyanza province every year. They are reconnecting with their fans.

It was easier for them to get build their fan base because of their history.

Tusker has a long history since 1973. How come their history has not helped them build a fan base.

Like you said its all about marketing, these corporate clubs need to find away of popularising their brand.

Corporate teams have never been crowd pullers in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Nigeria or anywhere else. Being a football fan is about passion and nobody can be passionate about corporate teams. In African countries and even South America, coprorate teams are poor crowd pullers compared to community teams.

Do you know of any corporate teams that have a large fan base ?
I personally dont know of any.
In Nigeria there have been many corporate teams over the years but the most popular teams remain community teams like Enugu Rangers and IICC shootings stars.

We have several community clubs in the league who don't have a big fan base so clearly that's not the answer.....Mathare Utd is a good example.

You are right about Mathare not having a fan base. The same applies to Thika United. They have done a shoddy job at connecting with Thika residents.
But the fact of the matter is that throughout the history of Kenya the crowd pullers have always been community teams. An excellent example is Congo United who played in the league last year. They had only been in the league for one year yet they already had a core group of committed passionate fans. Something teams like Tusker can never achieve.
Shabana football club has been in the lower divisions for the past 10 years yet they still have a core group of committed passionate fans. Go look at their facebook page if you dont believe me. If they were ever to return to the top league, they too will be crowd pullers.

Point by point answers will not save you from kuchokeshwa akili. Kwani humjui huyu mjamaa?
kollabo
#285 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 4:35:23 PM

K'Ogalo already has one trophy in the cabinet, get the 2nd trophy on 10th November and then top it up with a treble!!!! Now that is history....and I have never seen any other team fight from relegation like the might green army...kudos!!

He he he...its not over till the fat lady sings.
elba
#286 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 3:49:57 AM

@ elba.....Lets face it the only two football teams in the country that can fill stadiums ni Gor and AFC. Other clubs have fans but not as paasionate as these two teams. When i talk about their "history" i mean the rivalry between them. They've also had the backing of political leaders which has helped in attracting more fans over the years. Like i said hii kazi yote ni ya FKF and KPL, they need to invest in better facilities and promote league clubs. We need to have good football stadiums in Eldoret, Nyeri, Machakos, Mombasa etc. It all starts by watching matches then soon enough you identify a team that has impressed and deserves your support. Most of us have never seen EPL teams live in action but we've become so passionate mpaka watu wanajiua. Tusker is one of the most successful clubs in Kenya so surely they are here to stay. Btw what do you mean Kibera has a million residents, hiyo ni porojo!

Community teams aside from Gor Mahia and AFC can fill stadia. See the example below from Congo Boys. Congo is a team which had they stayed in the league would have seen its fan base grow exponentially. Their matches were always well attended.
The fact that Congo United can pull some crowds after only a few years of existence while 40 year old Tusker cannot speaks to the power of community teams.

My final thought on this subject is : There aren't any corporate teams in Africa that are major crowd pullers. Europeans understood this a while back which is why you dont see corporate teams in the EPL. Even Japan abandoned corporate teams when they created the J league in 1989. Prior to that , Japanese football was dominated by corporate teams like Honda FC which toured Kenya in 1985.
Of course Tusker are here to stay but anybody who thinks they will build a fan base now after they have failed to do so for 40 years is joking.
#287 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 9:17:08 AM

kollabo wrote:

He he he...its not over till the fat lady sings.

The bird is in the cage!!!...just another 90 minutes...
#288 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:25:25 AM

What if the impossible happens and Leopards take it?

#289 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:27:47 AM

...why not Tusker?
#290 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:34:37 AM

Leopards are playing away in Chemelil...not an easy match!!
The Uhuru derby....Thika will be welcome to the fotress...
#291 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 10:03:00 AM

...am afraid to think wht myt happen if Gor either loose or draw.
#292 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 3:19:04 PM

Gor can't loose, care to bet KES 5k on that?
#293 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 3:56:13 PM

Elder wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly @Elder, English ilikuja na meli...forgive a brother!!

@Maka, we consult after 90 minutes!!!
Nobby
#294 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 9:22:23 AM

D" day tomorrow, who will win it???d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! smile smile smile
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#295 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 9:28:40 AM

K'Ogalo will rule!!!
#296 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 9:42:05 AM

...why not Tusker?

Because Tusker winning is not a story. I'm not a Gor fan but I'd rather Gor wins and not Tusker for the sake of football.

mapozi
#297 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 11:45:12 AM

Gor Mahia...we are still fighting relegation!!!! What a game against the youth...total class from Sserensomething...that 2nd goal is goal of the season...totally beats the one he scored against AFC recently.
AFC is unbelieavable, they had the 2012 league in the bag in the 1st half of the season, how they let it slip away is still beyond me...possibly the need to change their coach..I can only imagine if K'Ogalo had the same margin,leading the pack with this coach Drool
One Game At a Time (OGAT), they say...now only Thika United stands between the might Gor Mahia and the trophy...and they will most certainly be welcomed to Estadio de City, 10th Novmber 2012..where Gor'verment Siri Kali hasn't lost in the recent past....

Yes one game at a time we say. Don't be too sorry if you DRAW or better yet LOSE tomorrow.
#298 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 11:50:32 AM

Elder wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly @Elder, English ilikuja na meli...forgive a brother!!

@Maka, we consult after 90 minutes!!!

Yeah if Gor cant loose, then they can only make it tight for Nairobians tomorrow!

These words used to chenga me back in my form 1 days;

lose,loose,lost,loss and

had,has,have.

smile smile

#299 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 11:56:15 AM

...why not Tusker?

Because Tusker winning is not a story. I'm not a Gor fan but I'd rather Gor wins and not Tusker for the sake of football.

Let Gor win for the sake of peace!
#300 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 12:04:24 PM

...why not Tusker?

Let Gor win for the sake of peace!

Mayienga Gor yiengo piny