US electoral process is 'primitive & undemocratic'
So basically the wananchi in the US will today elect persons (members of the electoral college) who will then vote on their behalf for the president. How come the leading democracy doesn't practice the system of one-man-one-vote kwa debe directly voting for his/her president? The US system is more or less like what was happening in Kenya's local authorities whereby wananchi would elect kanjoras who would in turn elect the mayor. The system Kenyans rejected and ammended in the new Katiba. http://en.m.wikipedia.or...es_presidential_election
Hahahaha, there is nothing like members of the electoral college voting dude, you win them based on the states that you win, read more!!!!!......google tasaidia!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Hahahaha, there is nothing like members of the electoral college voting dude, you win them based on the states that you win, read more!!!!!......google tasaidia!!!!! Did I miss something on the link I gave? This is what it says: Quote:The election of the President and the Vice President of the United States is an indirect vote in which citizens cast ballots for a slate of members of the U.S. Electoral College; these electors in turn directly elect the President and Vice President.
This electoral college is like a parliament, the public votes for US House of Representatives and Senators in each state. The party that gets more than 270 delegates wins the Presidential election. @ Mc Reggae, they do vote around Dec after the results have been announced.. If you were elected on a republican or democratic ticket then its expected you'll vote for your Presidential nominee in the Dec elections, hakuna kubadilisha chama kama hapa.
@TAZ, Basically the presidency does not depend on how these fellows will vote but pn the performance of the candidates in the state by state vote in November!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
TAZ wrote:This electoral college is like a parliament, the public votes for US House of Representatives and Senators in each state. The party that gets more than 270 delegates wins the Presidential election. @ Mc Reggae, they do vote around Dec after the results have been announced.. If you were elected on a republican or democratic ticket then its expected you'll vote for your Presidential nominee in elections, hakuna the kubadilisha chama kama hapa. There have been instances where the electors have defied the popular vote in their states.
@Jaggernaut is right, only as it regards how the US electoral system works. I am not persuaded that it is a primitive nor undemocratic system. BTW States like Maine and Nebraska award their collegiate votes proportionately -depending on the number of popular votes cast for each Candidate Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
This is a parliamentary system. Only that the head of govt's title is President not PM. The other interesting one is South Africa. They vote for the party, not the candidate. That's why ANC was able to recall Mbeki without necessitating a presidential election.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
In 2000 Albert Gore beat Bush in popular votes but Bush won the electoral village politechnic votes and hence the presidency!! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@ cnn....There is no law requiring Electors to vote in accordance with the popular vote in their States but political parties may extract pledges from electors to vote for the nominees before the elections. Anyway most of these Electors generally hold a leadership position in their party. Its stated also that more than 99 percent of Electors have voted as pledged, huko hakuna Vigeugeu.
@ Mc Reggae.....It all depends on them only that they vote against their Presidential Nominees
TAZ wrote:@ cnn....There is no law requiring Electors to vote in accordance with the popular vote in their States but political parties may extract pledges from electors to vote for the nominees before the elections. Anyway most of these Electors generally hold a leadership position in their party. Its stated also that more than 99 percent of Electors have voted as pledged, huko hakuna Vigeugeu.
@ Mc Reggae.....It all depends on them only that they vote against their Presidential Nominees If at the end of the main vote a candidate has more than 270 electoral votes he is the top dawg, these will not be waited upon to vote unless there is a dispute in a particular state!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:TAZ wrote:@ cnn....There is no law requiring Electors to vote in accordance with the popular vote in their States but political parties may extract pledges from electors to vote for the nominees before the elections. Anyway most of these Electors generally hold a leadership position in their party. Its stated also that more than 99 percent of Electors have voted as pledged, huko hakuna Vigeugeu.
@ Mc Reggae.....It all depends on them only that they vote against their Presidential Nominees If at the end of the main vote a candidate has more than 270 electoral votes he is the top dawg, these will not be waited upon to vote unless there is a dispute in a particular state!!!! He's the President but the process has to be formalised by the Electoral college in Dec, that's why the Inaguration is usually two months afterwards. After the presidential election each governor prepares a Certificate of Ascertainment that shows the winning presidential candidate in the state and that electors have been elected to represent them at the meeting of the electors in the Dec elections.....thats what they use to call the results before the electoral college takes it vote. They don't have to wait for it to declare the Pres-elect but it has to happen.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Impunity wrote:In 2000 Albert Gore beat Bush in popular votes but Bush won the electoral village politechnic votes and hence the presidency!! And I personally thought like the starter of this thread that that was a mistake. The electoral votes have to represent the same percentage of the general population votes otherwise this system is not sawa. Imagine if total 500 people turned up and voted Republican in Texas (38 electoral votes) while 1million turn up in Utah and vote Democrat (6 e-votes)..... BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:Impunity wrote:In 2000 Albert Gore beat Bush in popular votes but Bush won the electoral village politechnic votes and hence the presidency!! And I personally thought like the starter of this thread that that was a mistake. The electoral votes have to represent the same percentage of the general population votes otherwise this system is not sawa. Imagine if total 500 people turned up and voted Republican in Texas (38 electoral votes) while 1million turn up in Utah and vote Democrat (6 e-votes)..... Hapo iko chida and that is what caused problems in Kenya in 2007/8 whereby ODM got more representatives in bunge but their presidential candidate lost the popular vote, or to put it in another way kibaki won but didn't have majority mpigs due to the mismatch btw population and no of electees/mpigs in different areas. The ratio should be constant.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
inaitwa devolution I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
jaggernaut wrote:2012 wrote:Impunity wrote:In 2000 Albert Gore beat Bush in popular votes but Bush won the electoral village politechnic votes and hence the presidency!! And I personally thought like the starter of this thread that that was a mistake. The electoral votes have to represent the same percentage of the general population votes otherwise this system is not sawa. Imagine if total 500 people turned up and voted Republican in Texas (38 electoral votes) while 1million turn up in Utah and vote Democrat (6 e-votes)..... Hapo iko chida and that is what caused problems in Kenya in 2007/8 whereby ODM got more representatives in bunge but their presidential candidate lost the popular vote, or to put it in another way kibaki won but didn't have majority mpigs due to the mismatch btw population and no of electees/mpigs in different areas. The ratio should be constant. Ati Ubako won popular vote in 2007 (laughable),coz 70% of them must have voted from graves or Mars. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
digitek1 wrote:inaitwa devolution Did I hear devil in devolution...devo ako ndani ya devolution??....atsii!!!wolololo mama kayai! Ras Kienyeji Man
We complain about their electoral system while it works for them. They agreed on the number of electoral votes democratically. That's all that matters. At the same time, it is important to consider that the pure one man one vote system or majority rules system will have forever ensured that women would never have voted and blacks would still be in slavery. Tafakari hayo. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
The electoral college votes allocated to each state are reviewed regularly based on population growth. I think this system works best and should be implemented in Kenya as well as programs like TPF. i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
Kenya is the only country I know where leader of government is elected directly.
Name another....
US electoral process is 'primitive & undemocratic'