9 Pages«<23456>»
Spanish La Liga
#61 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 5:40:18 PM

C&P
One of the criticisms most often swung in Ronaldo’s direction is his perceived lack of humility. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for affecting a certain measure of restrain, but, unless I missed something, I cannot for the life of me recall of a single moment in the entire history of sport when humility was perceived as the be-all and end-all of virtues, as now seems to be the case. It’s as if a gigantic paradigm shift took place while none of us were looking, and suddenly, out of nowhere, the method we had always employed since time immemorial in order to gauge an athlete’s career -- personal achievement -- was replaced by an arcane moral compass, some sort of bizarre contraption running on obtuse, work-man like values more befitting of peasantry at the turn of the 10th century than to our modern, infinitely more expansive society.

Pele, whose status as G.O.A.T. had been virtually impregnable up until the advent of the Messi Hype machine, possesses an ego of a magnitude to rival his legendary sporting achievements, going as far as addressing himself in the third person in the style of the most decadent of Caesars (“Pele is bored, bring on the amusements”); likewise, Maradona too was (and to some extent, still is) notorious for acting like a primadonna; George Best’s appreciation of his own skills as a footballer lived up to his last name; and finally, even though he is almost a caricature of an egoist, people have always taken Romario’s ever-growing list of self-aggrandizing, often bordering on delusional, remarks with a grain of salt, finding them more amusing than grating.

So far I’ve only been drawing parallels with luminaries of the sport, legends of old, but the truth is that even in a more modern context comparisons of personal character favorable to Ronaldo abound, too: Balottelli, Ibrahimovic, Pique, David Villa and many others all preen, pose, and generally affect postures exuding degree of self-importance so pronounced that even Ronaldo’s own peacocking pales in comparison. None of which matters as far as the media’s concerned, of course. They’re only interested in painting Ronaldo as someone with a monopoly, an exclusive hold, over every single negative personality trait found in today’s game, highlighting every potentially disagreeable gesture, facial contortion or turn-of-phrase he produces at the expense of that which they should be focusing on in the first place -- his sublime skills as a footballer.

I think so too...

mkeiyd
#62 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 11:32:19 AM

Kratos wrote:
C&P
One of the criticisms most often swung in Ronaldo’s direction is his perceived lack of humility. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for affecting a certain measure of restrain, but, unless I missed something, I cannot for the life of me recall of a single moment in the entire history of sport when humility was perceived as the be-all and end-all of virtues, as now seems to be the case. It’s as if a gigantic paradigm shift took place while none of us were looking, and suddenly, out of nowhere, the method we had always employed since time immemorial in order to gauge an athlete’s career -- personal achievement -- was replaced by an arcane moral compass, some sort of bizarre contraption running on obtuse, work-man like values more befitting of peasantry at the turn of the 10th century than to our modern, infinitely more expansive society.

Pele, whose status as G.O.A.T. had been virtually impregnable up until the advent of the Messi Hype machine, possesses an ego of a magnitude to rival his legendary sporting achievements, going as far as addressing himself in the third person in the style of the most decadent of Caesars (“Pele is bored, bring on the amusements”); likewise, Maradona too was (and to some extent, still is) notorious for acting like a primadonna; George Best’s appreciation of his own skills as a footballer lived up to his last name; and finally, even though he is almost a caricature of an egoist, people have always taken Romario’s ever-growing list of self-aggrandizing, often bordering on delusional, remarks with a grain of salt, finding them more amusing than grating.

So far I’ve only been drawing parallels with luminaries of the sport, legends of old, but the truth is that even in a more modern context comparisons of personal character favorable to Ronaldo abound, too: Balottelli, Ibrahimovic, Pique, David Villa and many others all preen, pose, and generally affect postures exuding degree of self-importance so pronounced that even Ronaldo’s own peacocking pales in comparison. None of which matters as far as the media’s concerned, of course. They’re only interested in painting Ronaldo as someone with a monopoly, an exclusive hold, over every single negative personality trait found in today’s game, highlighting every potentially disagreeable gesture, facial contortion or turn-of-phrase he produces at the expense of that which they should be focusing on in the first place -- his sublime skills as a footballer.

I think so too...

The writer of that long post is forgetting one thing,when we all watch Ronaldo play, we see him for ourselves. Those who like him do so and those who don't do their thing. Blaming media or a paradigm shift of some sort is an exercise in futility.
Ronaldo is great player,the greatest in modern days,if we don't mention Messi.
#63 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:00:20 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
CR7, this year he should be the world's best player!!!

Why?

The boy has been phenomenal!!!
.....8 goals in 3 consecutive matches, wow!!!

"He's a phenomenon, what else can I say? It's a pleasure to play with him. He makes everything easier for his team-mates. He's always available to receive a pass and he can do marvels with the ball," Di Maria commenting on Messi

“I’m a forward and I have the chance to play with Messi. It’s a privilege to play alongside him,” Higuain

“Every time he gets the ball you need to be on your toes because you know that at any moment he can give you a great ball or pull your marker away from you." Higuain

I don't think CR7 will be pleased with this. I believe his club teammates (who rarely praise him) appear to be indirectly taking a swipe at him.....

Er...why should he be bothered? Those are two Argentines talking about their compatriot. Nothing wrong with that.
#64 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:10:13 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
Its Ronaldo (11) vs Falcao(10)

Let me assume this is for second spot because Messi is on 13 goals

13 goals even after being quiet for spells against Rayo and getting to bag a brace.
The lil' guy is two goals shy of smashing Pele's calendar haul,12 behind Gerd's with two months to go and he just passed the 300 goals mark.
If Real don't catch up with us while our defensive woes last,come may next year and the chance of La Liga heading to Catalunya shall be very real.
If the lil' guy gets to smash Gerd's record and by end of Dec Barca be at the summit, i don't see why he can't bag another Ballon d'Or.

Messi is on 301 career goals, Ronaldo is on 324 career goals.
#65 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:22:15 PM

Messi Vs R7, there is no compe in terms of contribution to the team and teamwork. If you watch ball and appreciate teamwork, the answer is obvious Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#66 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:28:40 PM

Messi Vs R7, there is no compe in terms of contribution to the team and teamwork. If you watch ball and appreciate teamwork, the answer is obvious Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

...kwani falcao is doing what?playing hanball ama ball watching?he,s also contributing bg tym to his teams good spell,gv credit where due...
#67 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:38:40 PM

@ Jus Blazin.....Di Maria went on to praise Mourinho as the best coach he's ever had so clearly it was not just about Argentina.

This is what Higuain had to say about CR7 when he declared he was "unhappy"

"I see him as being fine. He scored two goals so I believe that he is happy. My team-mates and I all see him well."

The biggest problem with CR7 is that he plays for himself, its all about him.....he hogs the ball too much. Messi always seems to be at his best when he's setting other players up, he brings them into the game. I think that's what Higuain & Di Maria appreciate about him. When Barca score you can almost feel the excitement amongst the players because in most cases its a team goal. Most of us used to play football when we were young and one of the things that used to piss everyone is a selfish player, hata akifunga ngapi you just don't feel the excitement.

"Don't write about him, don't try to describe him, watch him." Guardiola on Messi
#68 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 1:52:44 PM

@ Jus Blazin.....Di Maria went on to praise Mourinho as the best coach he's ever had so clearly it was not just about Argentina.

This is what Higuain had to say about CR7 when he declared he was "unhappy"

"I see him as being fine. He scored two goals so I believe that he is happy. My team-mates and I all see him well."

The biggest problem with CR7 is that he plays for himself, its all about him.....he hogs the ball too much. Messi always seems to be at his best when he's setting other players up, he brings them into the game. I think that's what Higuain & Di Maria appreciate about him. When Barca score you can almost feel the excitement amongst the players because in most cases its a team goal. Most of us used to play football when we were young and one of the things that used to piss everyone is a selfish player, hata akifunga ngapi you just don't feel the excitement.

"Don't write about him, don't try to describe him, watch him." Guardiola on Messi

Boss, you think when Madrid won La Liga, courtesy of CR7's goals, his teamates hawakucelebrate? Stop reading too much into other people's opinions. Hata huyo Messi has an ego, he used to sulk when he wasn't being played by Pep. CR7 is the most complete player at the moment. He is to Portugal and Madrid what Maradona was to Napoli and Argentina. He lifts his team and secures the goals. You may love him, you may hate him, but you can't deny him respect. If Ronaldo pisses teamates when he's playing, he wouldn't be in the team. He is there because he gives the team the result they want. Hakuna mambo ya "oh he scored, but it wasn't a team goal so we don't appreciate it, etc." Do you think if he played for himself, his teamates would pass the ball to him? They give it to him because he's the best in execution. Kuwa mpole mblo.
#69 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 3:28:03 PM

@ Jus Blazin.....I think we've had so many debates on who's better between CR7 and Messi with the Argentine coming out on top every time. Football legends such as Pele, Maradona, The Ronaldo hata former teammate Rooney have all endorsed the Argentine. Like they've said CR7's game is all about finishing otherwise he doesn't do much at the centre of the pitch to dictate play.

As for CR7's issue at Real, well yes sometimes they don't even celebrate his goals. Btw the least number of league games Messi played under Pep in a season was 31 games, can't remember him making a big deal out it.
#70 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 4:16:04 PM

We all know that CR7's attitude to be the best sunk Portugal big time during penalties. Great players stand up to be the first among equals.

I dont hate CR7, i just love Messi more!
#71 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 5:48:47 PM

Btw the least number of league games Messi played under Pep in a season was 31 games, can't remember him making a big deal out it.

Err, sorry to burst your Messi bubble. Messi has sulked before.

Look at this quote: "Humble, harmless and homely he may appear to the naked eye, but behind the nervous smile is a shrewd and single-minded individual who will go to great lengths in order to get his way." It's surely impossible to be the best in the world and not have an ego. Messi has it big time. In case you didn't know, Messi has a fierce temperament too. Hii mambo ya humility in overrated. He wants to be the one scoring goals, he wanted to play in the centre forward position, wonder no more why Ibrahimovich had to leave after one season.

Check this out too Messi outburst and Messy Messi and also check Pedro Pinto's thoughts

And as for San Iker not celebrating CR7's goal against Man City, you just have to look at the other players and the Santiago Bernabeu fans. Ama Iker wanted to be the one to score the goal?
#72 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 2:20:38 PM

What is happening to Real. We are not even half way and it is like Barca are running away with La Liga.

Malaga are the WBA of this league
#73 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 6:11:40 PM

Iniesta deserves all the honors..creativity and team work at its best.

Next loss for Real as they host Atletico on saturday...Why is The special Idiot still at Madrid?

Dec 16th..Barca vs Atlético Madrid..a must watch.

#74 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 12:26:19 PM

With the Madrid derby in the offying this weekend, either way Barca will be smiling come monday morning.
#75 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 5:23:54 PM

@mkeiyd ................
mkeiyd
#76 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 5:35:22 PM

@mkeiyd ................

@King G, May the good Lord bless you.
I've been trying to get this up since Saturday but i always get logged out in the attempt.

I watched the Real v A.Madrid game and today i read Modric saying they are the favorites to win UCL if they play as they did on Saturday night. That game was more of a rugby [aerial ball] game than a good game worthy of winning UCL.
Real might have taken the 3 points but the way they play was not far off from the UCL winning Chelsea.

It is two goals to lay Muller's record to bed. I'm hoping some jinx doesn't spoil for Messi.
#77 Posted : Friday, December 07, 2012 9:34:42 AM

The Madrid derby never lived up to its billing...Athletico and Falcao just never showed up, it was frankly an anticlimax to all the build up hype!Real could have scored 4 more goals and CR7 could have definitely gotten a deserved hattrick. Apparently he had only gone for 3 games without scoring but that by itself is a headline....tell that to Torres.

ION, Messi is alive and well may even play on Sunday against Betis...it was just a bruised knee scare against Benfica but it's like the whole world was awaiting in bated breath to see if he would still be able to break Gerd Muller's record of 85 goals in a calendar year. With 3 games to go before the Christmas break in La Liga, I doubt anyone would bet against him beating it. And he deserves it too. We're all privileged to have a player like him in this generation. CR7 is very good. For me Messi is the best!
#78 Posted : Friday, December 07, 2012 9:48:31 AM

@ Smano.....Actually there are 4 games left for him to break Muller's record, 3 league games and 1 Copa del Rey match. He just needs two more goals.
mkeiyd
#79 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 9:48:17 AM

Btw the least number of league games Messi played under Pep in a season was 31 games, can't remember him making a big deal out it.

Err, sorry to burst your Messi bubble. Messi has sulked before.

Look at this quote: "Humble, harmless and homely he may appear to the naked eye, but behind the nervous smile is a shrewd and single-minded individual who will go to great lengths in order to get his way." It's surely impossible to be the best in the world and not have an ego. Messi has it big time. In case you didn't know, Messi has a fierce temperament too. Hii mambo ya humility in overrated. He wants to be the one scoring goals, he wanted to play in the centre forward position, wonder no more why Ibrahimovich had to leave after one season.

Check this out too Messi outburst and Messy Messi and also check Pedro Pinto's thoughts

And as for San Iker not celebrating CR7's goal against Man City, you just have to look at the other players and the Santiago Bernabeu fans. Ama Iker wanted to be the one to score the goal?

Let me wonder, when does those two show? The ego and the temperament? Of all the current day forwards , how many play with a smile even when being hacked and whacked down?

Ama hiyo ego na temperament uonyesha akiwa bathroom akioga,lets say like sabuni ikianguka or something? hohohoho

The guy is THE ONE for me. A forty year old record gone to the winds and a subdued celebration. No chest thumping like one CR7 would do.
I celebrated more than did the lil' guy.
You just got to give it to him.
Hakuna mwingine kwa sasa. We better enjoy while he lasts.
#80 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 10:31:17 AM

Falcao responds to criticism of his Madrid derby performance by scoring 5 goals against Depo!!! Barca - Athletico next week should be one to watch