wazua Sat, Mar 1, 2025

9 Pages«<45678>»
CITIZEN GETS IT ALL WRONG!!!
popat
#101 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 11:25:43 AM

So where are we on this one.Me this 13 is the collect answer.Whichever way u look at it.
FancyFace
#102 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:00:04 PM

kenmac wrote:
radio wrote:

what is the difference between ;

21 - 6 + 2
and
21 + 2 - 6 ???

the difference is the same Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

seriously now that we are stuck at AS (BODMAS):

21-6+2=

Add first

-6+2= -4

Then subtract

so then 21-4= 17

Thank me latersmile

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#103 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:00:45 PM

popat wrote:
So where are we on this one.Me this 13 is the collect answer.Whichever way u look at it.

Type 21-3×2+4÷2 exactly as is into the Google search box, hit Enter ...
Alternatively type =21-3*2+4/2 into the Excel expression bar (with the equals sign)
Both evaluate to 17.
Not convinced? Enter the expression in WolframAlpha
http://www.wolframalpha.com
the site ran by Wolfram Research, the guy who invented Mathematica.
To those who insist 13, the people who programmed Excel and Google are brighter than you, and Wolfram is a certified Mathematical genius, I am not saying I am at par with them, far from it but at least I can evaluate this equation correctly ...
17 is the answer ..end of story.
#104 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:43:19 PM

wa wa wa how did I miss these thread?!
1O3 posts, including what looks like the beginning of a discussion paper....

17 is the answer.
#105 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:47:49 PM

I got an A in mathematics’. Answer is 17
samsa
#106 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 12:54:10 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Im soo with @mwenza on this.
Pls lets use our akili!
17 it is!
Evn Bodmas is used with akili!

HAHA....
use a spreadsheet as follows (21-6+2)

A1 21
A2 -6
A3 2

Sum(A1:A3) = 17

BODMAS is applicable with intelligence!
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#107 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 1:02:24 PM

popat wrote:

You must be very difficult!
@SufficientlyP
#108 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 1:26:56 PM

quicksand wrote:
popat wrote:

Alternatively type =21-3*2+4/2 into the Excel expression bar (with the equals sign)
Both evaluate to 17.
To those who insist 13, the people who programmed Excel and Google are brighter than you, and Wolfram is a certified Mathematical genius, I am not saying I am at par with them, far from it but at least I can evaluate this equation correctly ...

If a certified mathematical genius makes a statement, then that statement is true.

Wolfram states that 21-6+2= 17. And Wolfram is a mathematical genius.

Therefore the statement 21-6+2= 17 is true.

Clearly this proof is not relying on mathematics. It relies on social postulates, that is on our judgment on a person as a mathematical genius or that he scored an A in his exams.

This argument still holds for any program made by humans.

But in essence it cannot be a proof. I say the answer is 17 because it is the consequence of a simple and 'natural' ordering procedure and as beings with limited rationality we 'should' always seek to simplify. That is conform as much as possible, with 'nature'.
sky5
#109 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 1:37:12 PM

The answer is 17.

sanity
#110 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 1:55:39 PM

Tebes wrote:
The Know Zone program, Mathematics section, gets it all wrong and the presenters need to go to school first before they mislead children.

sample this,

21-3×2+4÷2=

These idiots are giving the answer as 20.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

The answer is 20...Nobody said use BODMAS!
Hope is not a strategy
#111 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 2:06:49 PM

sanity wrote:
Tebes wrote:
The Know Zone program, Mathematics section, gets it all wrong and the presenters need to go to school first before they mislead children.

sample this,

21-3×2+4÷2=

These idiots are giving the answer as 20.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

The answer is 20...Nobody said use BODMAS!

Perhaps a more 'natural' ordering system! BODMAS is a social institution that is being taken for granted. It is a dictator. But we may as well create a new dictator or say that all answers are valid and true!

How this question is liberating my mind is beyond words! Nice one @Sanity!
#112 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 2:09:19 PM

21-6+2= 21-(6+2)= 21-6-2= 21-8= 13.

Wrong!

21-6+2= 21-(6-2)=21-4= 17

@McReggae and I got the answer to this sum loooong time ago (ingawa he scored a strong D-plane in the final KCSE exam smile )

negative6 positive2 ndio watu wamechidwo kuerewa.

Plane? Which one is that, kizungu nayo?

D-steady.

#113 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 2:34:07 PM

quicksand wrote:
popat wrote:

Both evaluate to 17.

If a certified mathematical genius makes a statement, then that statement is true.

Wolfram states that 21-6+2= 17. And Wolfram is a mathematical genius.

Therefore the statement 21-6+2= 17 is true.

Clearly this proof is not relying on mathematics. It relies on social postulates, that is on our judgment on a person as a mathematical genius or that he scored an A in his exams.

This argument still holds for any program made by humans.

But in essence it cannot be a proof. I say the answer is 17 because it is the consequence of a simple and 'natural' ordering procedure and as beings with limited rationality we 'should' always seek to simplify. That is conform as much as possible, with 'nature'.

I don't know where you get this social postulates stuff from,..and Wolfram didn't directly state that 21-6+2= 17 ... he made an inference engine in which the left to right rule is clearly apparent. As is also the case with Excel and Google. What I have done is similar to an author of a paper referencing a more detailed, expert focused paper. I am saying, look at these guys, and their expertise and work, and they do it this way, and their claim is probably more correct as opposed to your BODMAS theory from lower primary school. It is in essence proof. It is normal to defer to people who know more than you, esp in a scientific issues because there is a systematic way of establishing theories and proofs,...invoking tired predicates becomes unnecessary, the credentials speak loud enough.
In any case, if I was a total moron in maths and you placed a maths professor and some guy who works as a lawyer or real state agent to puzzle a maths equation, I would probably believe the professor.
Gadaffi
#114 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 3:13:47 PM

Hehehe...i placed this ques to colleagues in th office n surprisingly all th ladies said th ans is 17 while all th men thot the ans is 13..thats wierd
banyamulenge
#115 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 3:17:07 PM

mwenza wrote:
kenmac wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Cant see any other answer. BODMAS OR NO BODMAS, SEVENTEEN it is!! People should not apply bodmas blindly.

Liar Liar demonstrate through a calculation.

21-3x2+4/2

=(21)-(3x2)+(4/2)

=21-(6)+(2)

=15+2

=17

QED

@kenmac, does this make sense?

@faa, thats how some adults were taught after skipping lower primary. It looks like lower primary was unnecessary afterall. Why bother with primo if you are sure of doing Laplace Transform at some point?

Sasa nani naambia wewe kuongesa brackets yako? You must be using BADMAS (Brackets, ADD, Multi...) instead of BODMAS. My teacher 'pharaoh' would tell you in class; "Mwanza you are very thick. Infact you are as thick as magma"Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
#116 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 3:20:18 PM

15 people
#117 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 4:18:49 PM

SMH!! 48 hrs later.
#118 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 4:37:19 PM

Citizen did not want such kind of debate that is why they chose a neutral answer; 20. I will go with that
#119 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 4:50:42 PM

Citizen did not want such kind of debate that is why they chose a neutral answer; 20. I will go with that

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#120 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 4:53:47 PM

Is there anybody else still insisting on 13..? or we have now created a contest within our own heads...?

Every body seems to be in agreement its 17..
120 posts and still rolling