CITIZEN GETS IT ALL WRONG!!!
#61 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 11:13:38 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Im soo with @mwenza on this.
Pls lets use our akili!
17 it is!
Evn Bodmas is used with akili!

I also see this is the answer. I stand corrected.
Wakanyugi
#62 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 11:28:00 PM

No wonder teachers take to drink.

Kwani mlisomea kwa dirisha?

The answer is 17
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#63 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 11:49:11 PM

Hahahaha...Let me try:

21-3×2+4÷2=
BODMAS Applies...so we start with Division=4/2=2
That gives us 21-3*2+2
Again BODMAS comes in---3*2=6
That gives us 21-6+2
Again BODMAS----leads to 21-8
Finally answer comes to 13.

So how answer is 13.....

Negative 6 positive 2 cannot be and infact has never been equal to negative 8.
NEVER EVER.

But negative 4 is njess!

The answer is one7.

#64 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 11:57:49 PM

Ok its 15. closed
#65 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:05:18 AM

Even multiplication and division are on the same level...consider this... 6 / 2 is the same as 6*1/2...in a plain expression, the default order of operations is left to right when oerations are on the same level...and since maths is a precise science, if you want another part of the equation to supercede the left to right order, you draw some brackets enclosing that part ...which will then give it preference. Its an explicit thing, the fine print counts, like a law contract. With this one I am going to go with 17 (the original citizen equation). smile
For those who feel strongly that it conflicts with math instructed in primary school, I will remind you of physics in seco ...you were told light is a wave ...then in university for those who took courses with physics units...you were then told light is particles (quanta). Like someone said, bodmas is evaluated in context, it is too complicated for children. Another example ...if you did an equation where the divisor was zero you got zero for a the final result ...that was OK up until form 4 ....but to split hairs the final result is not zero ...it is indeterminate/undefined. I had a professor who would fail you if you wrote zero at the end of such an operation.
#66 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:08:28 AM

quicksand wrote:
Even multiplication and division are on the same level...consider this... 6 / 2 is the same as 6*1/2...in a plain expression, the default order of operations is left to right when oerations are on the same level...and since maths is a precise science, if you want another part of the equation to supercede the left to right order, you draw some brackets enclosing that part ...which will then give it preference. Its an explicit thing, the fine print counts, like a law contract. With this one I am going to go with 17 (the original citizen equation). smile
For those who feel strongly that it conflicts with math instructed in primary school, I will remind you of physics in seco ...you were told light is a wave ...then in university for those who took courses with physics units...you were then told light is particles (quanta). Like someone said, bodmas is evaluated in context, it is too complicated for children. Another example ...if you did an equation where the divisor was zero you got zero for a the final result ...that was OK up until form 4 ....but to split hairs the final result is not zero ...it is indeterminate/undefined. I had a professor who would fail you if you wrote zero at the end of such an operation.

work it out
richdad
#67 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:16:01 AM

A number takes the sign before it (If no sign then its positive smile). (Class 3 Maths.) When presented with different arithmetic signs, use the acronym BODMAS....I don't know how some fellows make it in life if they can not get this.
Keep it simple
#68 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 4:16:29 AM

I must have been sent home for fees when they taught BODMASSad , don't remember it. But if you apply it, answer is 13

#69 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 6:59:43 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...

Parents parents parents......It's never too late to go back to school.smile

Addition and subtraction are at the same level just as division and multiplication is.Here,the left to right rule takes over,hence,

21-6+2 i as simple as that....17.If you got anything other than that,wewe ni ndongomothiLaughing out loudly .

Let's try another one,parents.

11-5+8=???smile

And did someone post here that the O in BODMAS stands for OFF/OF???Pray Pray Pray Laughing out loudly
#70 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 7:38:06 AM

11-5+8=14
#71 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 11:14:48 AM

I must have been sent home for fees when they taught BODMASSad , don't remember it. But if you apply it, answer is 13

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#72 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 11:34:48 AM

My teacher told us what BODMAS meant.
Brackets Off Division Multiplication Addition Subtraction.

Several years later naona where shida is>>OF/OFF.
This english!!
While to some it meant 'working out what was in the brackets first,to others it meant OF Multiplication.
I blame the teacher.smh
chevapravatdumrong
#73 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:08:53 PM

In the spirit of the new constitution, I propose a compromise. Let's take the average of 13 and 17 ....... (13+17)/2 = 15
You find me offensive? I find you offensive for finding me offensive
#74 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:13:46 PM

21-6+2= 21-(6+2)= 21-6-2= 21-8= 13.

Wrong!

21-6+2= 21-(6-2)=21-4= 17
#75 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:19:07 PM

chevapravatdumrong wrote:
In the spirit of the new constitution, I propose a compromise. Let's take the average of 13 and 17 ....... (13+17)/2 = 15

that name looks soo qw.
#76 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:58:33 PM

21-6+2= 21-(6+2)= 21-6-2= 21-8= 13.

Wrong!

21-6+2= 21-(6-2)=21-4= 17

@McReggae and I got the answer to this sum loooong time ago (ingawa he scored a strong D-plane in the final KCSE exam smile )

negative6 positive2 ndio watu wamechidwo kuerewa.

chevapravatdumrong
#77 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 1:13:10 PM

No wonder Kenya is still a third world country....... people can't comprehend that 21-6+2 ≠ 21-(6+2)
You find me offensive? I find you offensive for finding me offensive
#78 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 1:20:49 PM

chevapravatdumrong wrote:
No wonder Kenya is still a third world country....... people can't comprehend that 21-6+2 ≠ 21-(6+2)

21-6+2
= 21+(-6)+(+2)
= 21-6+2
= 21+2-6
= 23-6
= 17

#79 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 1:23:22 PM

This english!!
While to some it meant 'working out what was in the brackets first,to others it meant OF Multiplication.
I blame the teacher.smh

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Mama rudi ngumbaru.....O is for order."Order" refers to exponents (or indices), which means that a term is expressed as something to the power of something else ("52" is the same as saying "five to the power of two") or as the root of something ("√5" is the same as saying "the square root of five").......aaaaarg! i can't get to post five to the power of twoSad
#80 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 2:01:26 PM

This english!!
I blame the teacher.smh

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Mama rudi ngumbaru.....O is for order."Order" refers to exponents (or indices), which means that a term is expressed as something to the power of something else ("52" is the same as saying "five to the power of two") or as the root of something ("√5" is the same as saying "the square root of five").......aaaaarg! i can't get to post five to the power of twoSad

Sad Sad Sad eti order? I should sue our primo maths teacher.Do a random thing on the streets and ask how many people know that.
They would tell you it's off or of.
I am going back to where it all began! Primary
And how the heck did we pass?

Somebody give this to Wahu wa Nameless.