wazua Sat, Mar 1, 2025

9 Pages<12345>»
CITIZEN GETS IT ALL WRONG!!!
For Sport
#41 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 3:20:10 PM

Illiterate nation.
Not so sure I can help junior with homework now.
#42 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 3:21:05 PM

Tebes wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Tebes wrote:
bkismat wrote:
Answer is 17

Nditto.

We all agree upto this stage;

21-6+2

Sticking with Bodmas ; you start with addition before doing subtraction. Hence you get
21-8

Which gives 13.

@Tebes..........Care to click the link provided by @Mastermind above? Just click it and you will be embarassed by your petulance.

As I stated in my first post, BODMAS ought to be interpreted with some intelligence not blindly.

Checked the link and still under PEMDAS addition comes before subtraction. Answer remains the same. I rest my case.

I doubt you have read the entire article.

Under that article, particularly under Remember/Caution item 2, there is an explanation that Additions and Subtractions are at par including the following worked out example:

10 - 3 + 2 = ????

The conclusion is that since both addition and subtraction are the same, then the prevailing condition is that you start from the left to the right and NOT blind application of BODMAS.

Read the entire article again and report back.
#43 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 3:49:12 PM

faa wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Cant see any other answer. BODMAS OR NO BODMAS, SEVENTEEN it is!! People should not apply bodmas blindly.

hehehe, Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

The correct answer is 13.Kwani some adults skipped lower primary..

It is better to skip Lower Primary than to spend your entire learning life,including your adult life, in Lower Primary.
#44 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 4:17:20 PM

17 is the answer! People should not apply bodmas blindly.
#45 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 4:20:31 PM

lol! I got 14.

...ach ach ach wewe Silenced Silenced
Money Whisperer
#46 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 4:39:03 PM

Yaani wazazi wameng'eng'ana na githafu hivi na bado no compromise. no wonder students are burning down schoolsLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
"Money never sleeps"
BGL
#47 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 5:00:41 PM

Problem of 8-4-4 schooling system.......... A system that creates regurgitators and a mix of daily doses of comedy on TV and you have a nation of confused young men and women.

Where is the parenthesis (brackets)???

History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#48 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 5:37:58 PM

BGL wrote:

Where is the parenthesis (brackets)???

Laughing out loudly Sorry man,guys are seeing Blankets and brassiers not brackets.

#49 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 5:48:16 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
Yaani wazazi wameng'eng'ana na githafu hivi na bado no compromise. no wonder students are burning down schoolsLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

this is comical. tumelemewo na hii mamboLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Blame it on econometricsLaughing out loudly
faa
#50 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 5:51:50 PM

The answer is 13. Confirmed and certified by a KNEC examiner

If you think its 17, just know you are an Idiot
#51 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 5:57:41 PM

woi Lord have mercy.
Those who applied BODMAS got it right.
Got a feeling that citizen told students not to use brackets if they don't appear in an equation.
But it's the order.
#52 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 5:58:38 PM

faa wrote:

washana nayo,

hata calculator says 17 but it's chinese.
annsal
#53 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 6:49:48 PM

its 13
God loves a Trier!
#54 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 6:50:20 PM

kenmac wrote:
faa wrote:

washana nayo,

So what is truth? Mathematics is a language like any other. Who owns it? The calculator? The Man God?

Imagine how much confusion this thread is causing? But I love it. What a lesson!
#55 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 7:56:37 PM

kenmac wrote:
faa wrote:

washana nayo,

So what is truth? Mathematics is a language like any other. Who owns it? The calculator? The Man God?

Imagine how much confusion this thread is causing? But I love it. What a lesson!

well this thread is fun.

lakini kwa wale wanasaidia watoto na homework, answer ni 17.

Try with a standard 3 pupil who doesn't bodmas.

Tuendelee na hesabuLaughing out loudly
#56 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 8:56:52 PM

#57 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 10:05:10 PM

radio wrote:

what is the difference between ;

21 - 6 + 2
and
21 + 2 - 6 ???

#58 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 10:25:02 PM

Tebes wrote:
The Know Zone program, Mathematics section, gets it all wrong and the presenters need to go to school first before they mislead children.

sample this,

21-3×2+4÷2=

These idiots are giving the answer as 20.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

If I recall my mathematics tisha said that numbers go with the sign before them so in this case

{+21}{-3}*{+4}/{+2}
then apply BODMAS/BEDMAS/PEDMAS:
from the left division comes first
4/2 = 2
so
{+21}{-3}*{+2}
then multiplication

{-3}*+{2}={-6}

so +21-6

=13

if you opt to multiply before dividing(in the rules of mathematics, they can be interchanged)

the solutions is
{+21}{-3}*{+4}/{+2}

{+21}-12/{+2} then divide
={+21-6}

=13

#59 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 10:39:52 PM

Tebes wrote:
The Know Zone program, Mathematics section, gets it all wrong and the presenters need to go to school first before they mislead children.

sample this,

21-3×2+4÷2=

These idiots are giving the answer as 20.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

If I recall my mathematics tisha said that numbers go with the sign before them so in this case

{+21}{-3}*{+4}/{+2}
then apply BODMAS/BEDMAS/PEDMAS:
from the left division comes first
4/2 = 2
so
{+21}{-3}*{+2}
then multiplication

{-3}*+{2}={-6}

so +21-6

=13

if you opt to multiply before dividing(in the rules of mathematics, they can be interchanged)

the solutions is
{+21}{-3}*{+4}/{+2}

{+21}-12/{+2} then divide
={+21-6}

=13

This one wins the gold medal for creativity. 21-6 = 13!
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#60 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 10:58:33 PM

Im soo with @mwenza on this.
Pls lets use our akili!
17 it is!
Evn Bodmas is used with akili!
@SufficientlyP