9 Pages<1234>»
CITIZEN GETS IT ALL WRONG!!!
#21 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 12:52:30 PM

mwenza wrote:
kenmac wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Cant see any other answer. BODMAS OR NO BODMAS, SEVENTEEN it is!! People should not apply bodmas blindly.

Liar Liar demonstrate through a calculation.

21-3x2+4/2

=(21)-(3x2)+(4/2)

=21-(6)+(2)

=15+2

=17

@kenmac, does this make sense?

@faa, thats how some adults were taught after skipping lower primary. It looks like lower primary was unnecessary afterall. Why bother with primo if you are sure of doing Laplace Transform at some point?

On the highlighted, why start with substraction i.e. 21-6, instead of addition 6+2? umeaibisha mwalimu wako, viboko
#22 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 12:54:00 PM

We're in agreement up to here 21-6+2=? right?

Order of Operations are:

* Parentheses (Brackets) first
* Exponents (Orders, Powers, Square Roots)
* Multiplication and Division (left-to-right) next
* Addition and Subtraction (left-to-right) last.

Subtraction and Addition rank equally, so we do the Subtraction next and then the Addition
Therefore;
21-6+2=15+2=17

Key in 21-3x2+4/2 here and see what you get Scientific Calculator
#23 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 12:55:59 PM

If your answer is anything other than 13 then you qualify to work at counter no. 2 AT Kenya Power. But don't mis-educate your kids. Don't take impunity right upto your home.
#24 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:00:13 PM

kenmac wrote:
mwenza wrote:
kenmac wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Cant see any other answer. BODMAS OR NO BODMAS, SEVENTEEN it is!! People should not apply bodmas blindly.

21-3x2+4/2

=(21)-(3x2)+(4/2)

=21-(6)+(2)

=15+2

=17

@faa, thats how some adults were taught after skipping lower primary. It looks like lower primary was unnecessary afterall. Why bother with primo if you are sure of doing Laplace Transform at some point?

On the highlighted, why start with substraction i.e. 21-6, instead of addition 6+2? umeaibisha mwalimu wako, viboko

My teacher taught me that there is a huge difference between:

21-6+2 and 21-(6+2)

Kwani wako alikufunzaje?
#25 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:02:04 PM

21-6+2= 21-(6+2)= 21-6-2= 21-8= 13.
Dalkymz
#26 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:04:52 PM

bkismat wrote:
Answer is 17

Those saying 17 n 21 need Pray Pray Pray

Use BODMAS please...n the answer is 13
Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.
Dalkymz
#27 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:10:39 PM

mwenza wrote:
kenmac wrote:
mwenza wrote:
kenmac wrote:
mwenza wrote:

21-3x2+4/2

=(21)-(3x2)+(4/2)

=21-(6)+(2)

=15+2

=17

My teacher taught me that there is a big difference between

21-6+2 and 21-(6+2)

Kwani wako alikufunzaje?

The bone of contention here is whether the 3 is +ve or -ve. That is what makes the answers differ. But to me the 3 is +ve thus - n + gives a - which is that after 21...
Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.
#28 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:16:15 PM

I rest my case... PEMDAS
#29 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:21:39 PM

Mastermind wrote:
I rest my case... PEMDAS

Ditto.

Didn't know that people could argue over whats rather obvious.
#30 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:39:38 PM

lol! I got 14.
#31 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:49:32 PM

This thread should read:

CITIZEN GOT IT WRONG but WAZUANS ARE GETTING IT MORE WRONG

This is the sort of thread that separates Men from Boys.....literally. It gets even more comical when the boys start their posts by calling the men names!
#32 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 1:56:42 PM

@mwenza, why did you introduce brackets? They totally change the problem!
#33 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 2:00:47 PM

mwenza wrote:
This thread should read:

This is the sort of thread that separates Men from Boys.....literally. It gets even more comical when the boys start their posts by calling the men names!

With your answer at 17, I can't put it any better. Drool Sad
#34 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 2:02:58 PM

@mwenza, why did you introduce brackets? They totally change the problem!

...you have to introduce them http://blog.sqlauthority...mdas-order-of-operation/
#35 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 2:10:52 PM

bkismat wrote:
Answer is 17

Nditto.

#36 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 2:20:45 PM

bkismat wrote:
Answer is 17

Nditto.

We all agree upto this stage;

21-6+2

Sticking with Bodmas ; you start with addition before doing subtraction. Hence you get
21-8

Which gives 13.
#37 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 2:48:29 PM

Tebes wrote:
bkismat wrote:
Answer is 17

Nditto.

21-6+2

Sticking with Bodmas ; you start with addition before doing subtraction. Hence you get
21-8

Which gives 13.

@Tebes..........Care to click the link provided by @Mastermind above? Just click it and you will be embarassed by your petulance.

As I stated in my first post, BODMAS ought to be interpreted with some intelligence not blindly.
#38 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 2:55:12 PM

Tebes wrote:
mwenza wrote:
This thread should read:

With your answer at 17, I can't put it any better. Drool Sad

Watch out, you might soon discover that you fall under one of the above categories that you least expect.
mgeman
#39 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 3:00:29 PM

As we are all agreed up to the 21-6+2 point; Let's look at it this way, you have twenty one shares you sell six and buy two (or buy two and sell six), whichever way you want to look at it.
Haya wazua class let's have the answer!
Hii ikiwashinde just take out you calculators and punch the numbers!
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#40 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 3:03:44 PM

mwenza wrote:
Tebes wrote:
bkismat wrote:
Answer is 17

Nditto.

21-6+2

21-8

Which gives 13.

@Tebes..........Care to click the link provided by @Mastermind above? Just click it and you will be embarassed by your petulance.

As I stated in my first post, BODMAS ought to be interpreted with some intelligence not blindly.

Checked the link and still under PEMDAS addition comes before subtraction. Answer remains the same. I rest my case.