5 Pages123>»
Love vs Money
#1 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 3:09:48 PM

I want to understand us Kenyans.

Is money a MUST for Love to flourish?
Does Money SUSTAIN love?

Without refering to personal experiences, do you believe that a relationship is likely to crumble if the pockets are empty?

#2 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 4:00:03 PM

Is money a MUST for Love to flourish?
Does Money SUSTAIN love?

Without refering to personal experiences, do you believe that a relationship is likely to crumble if the pockets are empty?

...To be brutally honest in the age we are living in,if you do not have money your relationship is likely to crumble...or you even wont have 1...
#3 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 4:02:57 PM

You want to do W H A T?

Woman, as Nguka would say: Wacha mbangi siste.
#4 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 4:09:44 PM

do you believe that a relationship is likely to crumble if the pockets are empty?

Sorry Honey, I had not seen seen the rest of the post. I was too shocked with the first line.

Let me put it this way, if you do not have money, you are not fit to have a relationship.

Is that clear enough for you.

Ati understand Kenians.
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 4:34:25 PM

aemathenge wrote:
do you believe that a relationship is likely to crumble if the pockets are empty?

Sorry Honey, I had not seen seen the rest of the post. I was too shocked with the first line.

Let me put it this way, if you do not have money, you are not fit to have a relationship.

No.Some would argue against that.I am 50/50.

Um Sayala
#6 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 4:49:02 PM

While money is NOT everything, It tends towords that everything.
Love deals with our emotions, and is very psychological. Certain conditions enhance it, lack of money will affect u baibe.
Imagine u have to pay bills, u r in your house then the landlord knocks, and he needs the rent NOW. Eish Taabu. Mushkila
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#7 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 4:51:27 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
Love deals with our emotions, and is very psychological. Certain conditions enhance it, lack of money will affect u baibe.
Imagine u have to pay bills, u r in your house then the landlord knocks, and he needs the rent NOW. Eish Taabu. Mushkila

Now this is the kind of argument am seeking for.

If money goes, so does love out of the window??
#8 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 5:02:35 PM

I'll tell you what an old mzee and friend of mine used to say, "Wendo ndùrìyagùo".
Um Sayala
#9 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 5:04:29 PM

Um Sayala wrote:

Not necessarily, but there is away the r/ship will be strained. Iko kuvumiliana kidogo.
Imagine if u were used to going to galleria, ama Movies together, then u have to cut all that, Kwani hauoni hiyo nostalgia?
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
rock
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 5:14:40 PM

You lose your job one day.When you get home your wife says:"Don't worry darling we"ll just get rid of some of the useless s**t we don't need around the house" and you're left very happy thinking what a lovely and understanding wife you've got.Two months later is when you realize that she was talking about YOU!!!
#11 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 5:15:05 PM

Um Sayala wrote:

Not necessarily, but there is away the r/ship will be strained. Iko kuvumiliana kidogo.
Imagine if u were used to going to galleria, ama Movies together, then u have to cut all that, Kwani hauoni hiyo nostalgia?

Is going to galleria a sign of love?
See,If you show me that love is going to galleria during the first days of our encounter, I get used to that and associate it with love.
And so the day you stop doing it is the day love starts dying slowly.
Is it impossible for a woman to love a man without 'accessories?'

#12 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 5:19:03 PM

rock wrote:
You lose your job one day.When you get home your wife says:"Don't worry darling we"ll just get rid of some of the useless s**t we don't need around the house" and you're left very happy thinking what a lovely and understanding wife you've got.Two months later is when you realize that she was talking about YOU!!!

lol.I hear you.

#13 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 5:24:29 PM

rock wrote:

lol.I hear you.

Jamani
#14 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 5:58:40 PM

I read somewhere..... No money no honey..
Jamani
#15 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 6:01:39 PM

radio wrote:
rock wrote:

lol.I hear you.

Shows how slow men are 2 months later!!!
#16 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 7:38:04 PM

aemathenge wrote:

No.Some would argue against that.I am 50/50.

...its on a case by case study.People are different there are those who believe that money is everything,rather a lot of money is everythn and there are those who are content with what they have,they wouldnt mind riding in a volkswagen beetle,living in a 1 roomed hse and eating malenge ama sukuma wiki over n over again.Depends on who you meet and fall in love with...
Iganamagana
#17 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 8:13:07 PM

rock wrote:

Yesu wa Maria. Uka na ndugatumane. No wonder men are always in trouble.
#18 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 8:22:23 PM

...its on a case by case study.People are different there are those who believe that money is everything,rather a lot of money is everythn and there are those who are content with what they have,they wouldnt mind riding in a volkswagen beetle,living in a 1 roomed hse and eating malenge ama sukuma wiki over n over again.Depends on who you meet and fall in love with...

Is there anything like a 'region's system of love? eg does a society's system/culture influence the way we approach this?
For instance.People like saying that EA girls are not 'money focused' unlike their W.A counterparts.
But being on the ground I know that is not the case.

They would also argue that people of a certain race,out of their culture,environment,upbringing love for loves' sake and not money.

Tell me about 'our society' and how money influences relationships.
#19 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 8:44:46 PM

Is there anything like a 'region's system of love? eg does a society's system/culture influence the way we approach this?
For instance.People like saying that EA girls are not 'money focused' unlike their W.A counterparts.
But being on the ground I know that is not the case.

They would also argue that people of a certain race,out of their culture,environment,upbringing love for loves' sake and not money.

Tell me about 'our society' and how money influences relationships.

...this is a very wide and difficult topic,i dont think its a societal thing rather the way you were brought up,so to me its more of an individual thing,personally i dont stereotype certain people just coz they come from certain communities,it may be the norm for the majority of the people of that community to act in a particular way but as i said before we are judged on a case by case basis the values i hold might have been instilled in me by my parents,i might have picked a few thingz from different sources e.g church etc that in the end make me the kind of person I am...do you know relationships where the wife earns way more than the hubby and she,z ok and they are happy?what makes such relationships tick or where the couple starts from nothing and you literally see growth happening...from living in a bed sitter to owning a house at karen after a couple of years...i guess the biggest problem we have now is trying to keep up with the Jones's(i hope thats correct) we have made life seem like a competition,its a cut throat world where people claw and mutilate each other and it starts from when kids are small,its what i have vs what you have,it trickles down to later in life my boyfriend got me an ipad,expensive shoes etc for my birthday,what did yours get you?this progresses till courting becomes corrupted and clouded by the availability of material things instead of being more about the individual...then when the material things vanish,there,s no way the relationship will stand a chance.
#20 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 9:15:47 PM

Nice Maka.
Where did all these generalisations come from? stats perhaps?

Now a small question
What influences the way you approach relationships?
Is it your individual principles or a society's expectations?
It's difficult to ignore a society's way of life.
By that I mean the environment under which everything operates.
On the other hand a relationship we know is ones' own business.
But see,at the end of the day,one's relationship is often measured against the society's expected standards.

For instance,it's vain for me to stick to my principles in a society that disregards them, especially if I know it will not work in my favour.
The only way is to lay them aside and adopt the current one where I am at.
Now suppose one is a world traveller.It would mean changing to fit everywhere one goes?

So can you do that? Lay aside your principles and adopt a society's just to get things moving?
Rem. that a society has more influence than your individual thinking and at times our high principles appear as a drop in the ocean.They get drowned in a noisy and wild society.