wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Of bestjobskenya.com and brightermonday.com
akowally
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 6:49:29 AM

Has anyone got a job from any of these or any other job search site....?
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Kamaa
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 7:08:44 AM

Sad ako i doubt if this sites advertise current jobs...

When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
gathinga
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 8:29:50 AM

i got a message from bestjobs kenya asking me to pay 1k to go to interview...obviously a farce. its just the same criminals who have move on to cyberspace...
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 8:35:09 AM

I thought i was alone in this......kumbe!
akowally
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 1:11:25 PM

I and a lot of guys I know have been applying through these things for a long time. I loved the fact that they send you jobs every three days, but the problem for most guys is that even after applying sijui for how long, still not even a call for an interview. Never gotten any job from it, I get them through other means. I was wondering how many people are with me on this and it seems there are a many...Over the last few months I have greatly reduced applying through this ...
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
nomdeplume
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 23, 2010 2:20:29 PM

Have you tried www.kenyajoblink.com?
#7 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 2:49:03 AM

in my experience i find http://kenyanjobs.blogspot.com the better collation of jobs. it is very current.
mwala
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2010 5:44:41 AM

i have applied for more than 500 jobs with brighter monday.Not a single interview,i will never bother any more.these people take us for a ride.
anasazi
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2010 7:29:26 AM

myjobseye used to be what I could trust most but it ended up employers did not use it in droves... so it died a slow death. last i checked they still do jobs, but also offline now.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2010 7:43:51 AM

I've been sitting on an idea for a jobs website for several years now...even registered the site but haven't done much on it.

I'd like it to be completely free for employers and jobseekers. Also want it completely versatile so that people don't get "pigeon-holed" into restrictive categories.

I engaged a web developer once, paid him a retainer but he missed my point and created one these annoying sites with too many fancy flashing icons...

I will get back on the project later this year...and you will know it when you see it
mozenrat
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 8:08:07 PM

Just a pointer... When you see a job advert on any of the Kenyan sites, just visit the relevant company's website for details. You will 1. get more and the right information 2. check whether the vacancy still exists..

I suspect that most of our job sites do not offer employment agency services and as such your applications may be gathering "dust" in their servers.

For instance, for the IBM jobs currently being advertised on brightermonday - visit ibm.com and check out their requirements and application procedures...

Most companies in Kenya do not like using employment agencies anyway for non-senior management positions and will prefer to recruit directly or via networking..

I got my very first job (and numerous interviews) in this very manner
janebm
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 2:18:19 AM

Hi @Akowally/@All,
I work with BrighterMonday Tanzania. I can assure you that thousands of individuals have gotten jobs through BrighterMonday. In addition everyday more individuals continue to be shortlisted or called in for interviews by employers who advertised on BrighterMonday. I can only speak for BrighterMonday as that's where I have work at present.

There're countless times I indeed meet individuals personally or through work who have gotten jobs through BrighterMonday.

In addition, employers/agencies would not continue to advertise positions with us if they were not successfully hiring.

BrighterMonday has several strict policies about jobs advertised on it, for example if the employer asks candidates for any money then the Job will NOT be posted. Furthermore, access by candidates is entirely 100% FREE for life, see www.BrighterMonday.com/notice.asp

@Mwala: In as much as many BrighterMonday members have gotten jobs, there are also many who have not and some who have not received an interview. 500 applications without an interview is a large number, remember your application goes directly to the employer so if you have not heard from them, my gut suspicion is that there may be something in how you're presenting yourself that may need addressing.

E.g. not using the same cover letter always... make sure every cover letter is specific to the position and highlight most importantly how you meet the criteria for the position and why you believe you're the best candidate for the position. That's just one example tip... could you let me know your BrighterMonday username and perhaps I can have someone in customer support advise you?

@mozenrat: All applications made on BrighterMonday are automatically and immediately routed to the employer by our servers. A copy confirming this is always sent to you. In regard to Job Ads placed on BrighterMonday, they're placed exactly as received by the employer and in some cases will not even be posted on the employers website but only on BrighterMonday or wherever the employer chooses to advertise.

For example in the case of the IBM campaign that was running when you posted your comment, the Job Ads had been advertised only on BrighterMonday and their agency's site. This is another thing to note, BrighterMonday is not an employment agency however several leading employment agencies use our service.

@All: Online advertising of jobs is inevitably the future of recruitment advertising and this is evident in most developed and even developing economies from USA to India. I would personally encourage anybody who may be sceptical to instead embrace this inevitable change and where recruitment websites (be it BrighterMonday, Nation, etc) appear to go wrong, email your feedback to them.

If you're job hunting, all the best and as we say here, a BrighterMonday!
Allank
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 11:28:04 AM

Mukiha, It will be too late when you wake up on your idea as kenyajob.blogspot is already doing what you have been sitting on and are making huge figures in terms of advertisement space judging from the number of adverts that keep popping on their website
Kama kuoga ni usafi taulo lachafukani?
simbaboy
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 6:21:23 AM

I found a job through, www.dvplaza.co.ke/jobs They have very current jobs and reliable resources.
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2012 10:36:35 AM

mukiha wrote:
I've been sitting on an idea for a jobs website for several years now...even registered the site but haven't done much on it.

I'd like it to be completely free for employers and jobseekers. Also want it completely versatile so that people don't get "pigeon-holed" into restrictive categories.

I engaged a web developer once, paid him a retainer but he missed my point and created one these annoying sites with too many fancy flashing icons...

I will get back on the project later this year...and you will know it when you see it

Mukiha, any progress?
richdad
#16 Posted : Friday, October 05, 2012 6:43:26 PM

I got my first job via bestjobskenya website. Just read the advert, look for the company website and apply as stated. I got my first employee through the same.
Keep it simple
Outvestor
#17 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2012 2:01:44 AM

Elder wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Mukiha, any progress?

http://www.humanbrainforsale.com
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
#18 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 6:01:15 PM

akowally wrote:
Has anyone got a job from any of these or any other job search site....?

I got my current job from mybestjobs in the year of this post.