6 Pages«<23456>
Aga Khan Hospital Maternity Services
#61 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 10:47:15 AM

MKWASI wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
hi middle class iko na pesa kweli, 200k plus for child birth, not counting the immunizations and the hospital visits due to homa - that,s money government employees get as a retirement lump-sum after like 30 years working.

Why not consider mission hospitals? Kijabe, St. Mary's, Kikuyu Mission, Nazareth etc? A caeserian there costs 25k. Normal birth costs 10k. As a father, i'd say many people want to complicate the child birth issue. Why pay through the nose for a 1 day affair?

@jaggernaut...Cheap can also be expensive, you have no idea what women go through after the CS after they go to some of these hospitals. if it is CS I better go for an expensive hospital which I'm sure..just to be sure, I cannot gamble the life of someone. After all, how many thousands have you burnt in those so called investments. My advise is: if you can afford take your wife to the best hospital.

In health care that is not necessarily true, and cheaper is not equal to poor quality. I believe for hospitals, it is the competency and experience of the doctors and the availability of medical equipment that should come first. And mission hospitals rank very well in that aspect and are cheaper because they are not driven by profit but aim at providing a service to society. And because doctors at mission hospitals attend to high numbers of patients everyday, you can rest assured that they must have handled any kind of medical problem you might be having. They have the experience.

Some private hospitals charge more not because of better medical personnel/equipment than the mission hospitals but due to the 5 star hotel like accommodation facilities that they provide, and also because their main target is a certain class of people. By the way Mission hospitals also have their private wings for 'better accommodation' and also have express cards for those who don't want to queue. etc.
msonia
#62 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 10:51:57 AM

Its rather curious that now where as in the west mothers are turning back to home water births as opposed to hospital normal and cs births(probably due to superbugs scare in hospitals where theres likelihood of contracting other serious ailments in hospital setting for both mother and child and long labours in the inhospitable environment as opposed to familiar warm and conducive environ at home for labour)here Elective cs is the trend for the middle and upper
#63 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 11:08:44 AM

Why would you go to a mission or public hospital and pay that 25k if your Insurance can foot the 200k bill in Aga khan or Nairobi Hospital? Ati attending public facilities will improve their conditions, how now? Kenyans make all sorts of sacrifices to make sure their kids get the best that life has to offer, i believe our parents did the same thing.....People have different priorities!

If the insurance is paying, there's no problem. But do not run into debt when affordable and 'equally medically good' options are available.
#64 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 11:34:21 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
hi middle class iko na pesa kweli, 200k plus for child birth, not counting the immunizations and the hospital visits due to homa - that,s money government employees get as a retirement lump-sum after like 30 years working.

Why not consider mission hospitals? Kijabe, St. Mary's, Nazareth etc? A caeserian there costs 25k. Normal birth costs 10k. As a father, i'd say many people want to complicate the child birth issue. Why pay through the nose for a 1 day affair?

Applause Applause
CS comes with its own mega challenges.
Modern day women fear natural childbirth cz of stories they have heard from fellow women.
Nasty stories to say the least.

Natural birth is the best nowadays. If you get a good Gynec, he/she will do a very perfect work that you will appreciate and even fancy the intimacy life thereafter!!! Ask the elders (of yesteryears) in the house.smile smile smile
msonia
#65 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 11:55:21 AM

Whats ur take on this http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/fwi2sn/-/index.html
sorry dont how to shorten the link .
The traditional midwife knowlegde is immense indeed
#66 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 12:00:15 PM

Tebes wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Why not consider mission hospitals? Kijabe, St. Mary's, Nazareth etc? A caeserian there costs 25k. Normal birth costs 10k. As a father, i'd say many people want to complicate the child birth issue. Why pay through the nose for a 1 day affair?

Applause Applause
CS comes with its own mega challenges.
Modern day women fear natural childbirth cz of stories they have heard from fellow women.
Nasty stories to say the least.

Natural birth is the best nowadays. If you get a good Gynec, he/she will do a very perfect work that you will appreciate and even fancy the intimacy life thereafter!!! Ask the elders (of yesteryears) in the house.smile smile smile

Our women will always blackmail you to take them to those expensive hosis in the name of stories from friend's experiences and do you love me/care about me talk/look. That is our generation for you and you cannot do jak about it provided there is money stashed somewhere whether borrowed or not!
njokishk
#67 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 12:52:42 PM

Thanks guys for your contribution, i think we will settle on Agakhan, they charge Ksh.150,000/ for Cesarean not inclusive of doctor charges, and with the average of Ksh.80,000/- for the private doctor, it total's to Ksh.230,000/-. sometimes you don't compare your life and that of the unborn with money. Pesa itaisha na utatafuta ingine.
#68 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 1:14:31 PM

Over to you @Wendz say something to these young mothers to be???
MKWASI
#69 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 2:07:46 PM

[/quote]

[/quote]

smile smile smile I'm not an elder however I'm told the two are just not comparable..unless one is not interested in the quality.Perhaps this could explain the roaming behaviour...
Pablo
#70 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 3:55:47 PM

@njokishk

By the wy you dont even need a private doc. Unless its ur first kid and u have that essyk syndrome. In that case ull also need a private pediatrician, anesthetist in addition to the main doc.

True story, my first kid 250k plus (in 2005) 3nd toi 160k (2007) both CS same Aga Khan second one hospital docs.
#71 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:00:26 PM

Pablo wrote:
@njokishk

By the wy you dont even need a private doc. Unless its ur first kid and u have that essyk syndrome. In that case ull also need a private pediatrician, anesthetist in addition to the main doc.

True story, my first kid 250k plus (in 2005) 3nd toi 160k (2007) both CS same Aga Khan second one hospital docs.

Diminishing costs. at that rate your 9th one in 2020 will be like 53k.
#72 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:02:26 PM

Tebes wrote:

What became of the natural method we were born through back in the days?
With natural method you wont even pay more than a K!
Wanawake wakule vizuri na wafanye kaazi za kinyumbani kama kufua nguo,kupiga dasta, kukata mboga, kutandika watoi, kufua curtain etc ili wawe strong and well prepared for natural birth.
Shame on you

#73 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:08:22 PM

Tebes wrote:

My thoughts, if you cant afford expensive hospital, you cant. Look for the "best" amongst what you can afford. If you can afford, by all means, go for what you believe is the best for you and your family. I would do the same.

Guys just have no idea what the experience with the natural childbirth is..... The bloody pain is crazy! I'd do whatever it takes to avoid it, unless it is absolutely necessary.... I'll pat with whatever it is...... and this is from someone who would run away from hospital to avoid a jab! hehehehehe.. might not be very objective!

#74 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:08:49 PM

These anesthetists are the most expensive.

#75 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:21:18 PM

pariah wrote:

some of us were born in mission hospitals and went to public shcool upto university, why do we hate it so much now? Middo crass and keeping up with the Jones.

@McReggae are you reading this please?
Shame on you

#76 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:27:45 PM

Aga khan is fine but no need to go with your Doc. unless there is foreseen complications. Wife was admitted there 2 weeks ago with a private doc. One night she was in pain and the nurses tried to call her Doc. from 2.a.m in vain. The call finally went through at 7.a.m in the morning while the doc. himself showed up at 11. Thank God all went well.

From that experience and a previous one in the same hospital, use their doctors.
#77 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:44:36 PM

willin2learn wrote:
Aga khan is fine but no need to go with your Doc. unless there is foreseen complications. Wife was admitted there 2 weeks ago with a private doc. One night she was in pain and the nurses tried to call her Doc. from 2.a.m in vain. The call finally went through at 7.a.m in the morning while the doc. himself showed up at 11. Thank God all went well.

From that experience and a previous one in the same hospital, use their doctors.

Very true... i was told that when you have your own doctor, and get complication and your doctor is not available, you might get into trouble because the hospital doctor is reluctant to attend to you just in case there is further complication and you sue the hospital. I think it's a catch twendi fae!
#78 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 4:51:12 PM

pariah wrote:

some of us were born in mission hospitals and went to public shcool upto university, why do we hate it so much now? Middo crass and keeping up with the Jones.

@McReggae are you reading this please?
Shame on you

Once a nut case always a nut case!!!!!
#79 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 9:18:04 PM

willin2learn wrote:

True kabisa They always ask 'Huyu ni wetu?' when one goes into labour.
Alert your private doc hours before check in, because he will leave/give instructions to the nurses should anything go wrong while he's on duty elsewhere.
Nurses have this 'we can't touch her,ako na na doc wake'ATT.

MKWASI
#80 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 8:46:32 AM

Pablo wrote:
@njokishk

Diminishing costs. at that rate your 9th one in 2020 will be like 53k.

The law of diminishing returns,..if extrapolate further to the 14 child..it could be like 5k. In between I'm told in shags some of the women don't visit the hospital...Hii maneno inamalizikia tu nyumbani (of course with a very high risk to boot).