wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

Taxman now pursuing athletes...
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 8:45:32 AM

According to Isiah Kiplagat, KRA is demanding 12.8m and 50m from two top athletes..the taxes have been assessed on the proceeds of their races abroad...
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 8:53:30 AM

vinii wrote:
According to Isiah Kiplagat, KRA is demanding 12.8m and 50m from two top athletes..the taxes have been assessed on the proceeds of their races abroad...

the taxman cometh!
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:23:25 AM

...they will only be 30% poorer.Sad Sad
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:25:24 AM

vinii wrote:

Placing the tax at 30%, these so called top athletes earned 41.6M and 166.6M respectively for the said period.
Wowest!

#5 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:29:33 AM

vinii wrote:

Can you be taxed for income earned for income earned outside the country that is not tied to export? What if the athletes decide to open accounts abroad and lave the money there?

#6 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:31:48 AM

vinii wrote:

Can you be taxed for income earned for income earned outside the country that is not tied to export? What if the athletes decide to open accounts abroad and lave the money there?

You must pay tax, unless you can proove that you paid the tax where you earned the money!!!!
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:33:33 AM

...Might Trizza Njeri Wanjiru, the wife of late world marathon champion be in trouble...the late athlete had made something close to kshs 1 billion by the time he was bidding the world bye bye and i believe all records are still intact.

Tax to the tune of kshs 300m will surely make her bleed if not sweating that thin sweat...
kangi
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:38:34 AM

I think the athletes satisfy the requirements of resident status as per section 5 (1)(a) of the Income tax act, and besides the constitution provides that no one is exempt from paying tax. Remember the MPs debate on paying taxes?

I do sympathise with them as they really work hard to win those accolades and prize money, so do the rest of us. Lazima waalimu walipwe, ama pesa zitatoka wapi?
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
sitaki.kujulikana
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:45:42 AM

Kaigangio wrote:
...Might Trizza Njeri Wanjiru, the wife of late world marathon champion be in trouble...the late athlete had made something close to kshs 1 billion by the time he was bidding the world bye bye and i believe all records are still intact.

Tax to the tune of kshs 300m will surely make her bleed if not sweating that thin sweat...

The individual who earned the money is dead - how can they tax the wife for an income she never made.
kangi
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:54:27 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

The individual who earned the money is dead - how can they tax the wife for an income she never made.

As the administrator of the estate she is supposed to file on his behalf as well as file the income she has been receiving on his estate. There is also inheritance tax to contend with if she passes the property to the kids as their guardian, though I stand to be corrected.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:57:58 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

because they co-owned the income...looks more like a company operating profitably and paying taxes as required and all of sudden it changes its name...that does not deter the taxman from collecting his dues..
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 10:07:48 AM

Regardless whether the individual is dead, if he owed any taxes in arrears which come with penalties and interest, the administrator of the estate is resposible and MUST pay the taxes. Gova is an a*** when it comes to tax laws
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 10:18:49 AM

vinii wrote:

You must pay tax, unless you can proove that you paid the tax where you earned the money!!!!

What is wrong with leaving the money in a Jersey island account and use VISA to tap into the pool bit by bit while in Kenya?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#14 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 10:20:53 AM

vinii wrote:

What is wrong with leaving the money in a Jersey island account and use VISA to tap into the pool bit by bit while in Kenya?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Huwesi makeit that way. As long as you are a resident of Kenya, you are still liable to pay taxes.
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 10:43:57 AM

Clearly I should have taken cross country alot more seriously in school! Mpigs got off easy?

livie
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 10:51:32 AM

vinii wrote:

they do pay taxes on their earnings in the countries they compete in....always!!!
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 11:24:55 AM

livie wrote:
vinii wrote:

they do pay taxes on their earnings in the countries they compete in....always!!!

In the case of football players this is true. Example in the case of Ronaldo he pays tax to Spain. What of games where the athlete moves all over the world like track and field. I guess you pay the tax in the country you live in. Hamilton the f1 driver is a Briton but for tax purposes he moved to Switzerland I think.
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 2:33:27 PM

#19 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 2:39:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

Only in Kenya, it's possible.
iKenya
#20 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2012 3:15:52 AM

Coolio wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

Only in Kenya, it's possible.

Actually it is said that tax is one of two legal requirements that doesn't stop with death!

For the athletes, or people abroad, its not paying taxes that is compulsory, but filing of tax returns....and you can actually get reimbursed if you pay more tax abroad than you pay in Kenya, but only in countries that have a such agreements, lakini sijui Kenya niaje....
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...