Culture
"I Will Not Apologize" -- Caroline Mutoko Responds to Plagiarism Claims
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
YesuWangu wrote:http://www.the-star.co.ke/public-ed/94861-mutoko-on-monday-when-borrowing-goes-over-the-line
I think I am mellowing about this now.
look at who is writing - a 'KAREN ROTHMYER', coz it makes sense to her. It does not make sense to us - and we know it. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
aemathenge wrote:Fine.
She stole. Glory Halluiah. So be it.
My position is that I shall not engage in mob justice.
That I believe is her position also.
Not cower before the mob, vitual citizens from various spheres, Wazua included.
This is between her, the Source, the Intellectual Police, her God and the Devil.
My concern is, did she improve on the stolen material?
Did His Majesty the King of Popular Music (RIP) improve the lyrics he stole from the African he stole from to make "You Wanna Be Starting Something"?
Did Witney Houston improve on the song "I will always love you" she "stole" from Dolly Parton?
I love Caroline Mutoko for what she is. The best in talk show in East Africa. Every body else is just Noise. After using the chant "ma-mako, ma-ma-sa, mako-mako ssa", Wacko-Jacko initially denied lifting it from Dibango, but later they settled... I think Dibango was paid some money... Secondly, Jacko only used a small part of "Funky Soul Makosa" in his entire "Wanna be starting something". 90% of Mutoko's article was from other people's work! In the case of "I will always love you", you will notice that the CD cover clearly acknowledges that the song was written by Dolly. That is not theft... it is "use with permission" Clearly, Mutoko isn't willing to acknowledge that she copied the material from somewhere and that is why she is being accused of theft.
Lolest! wrote:MKWASI wrote:aemathenge wrote:
I love Caroline Mutoko for what she is. The best in talk show in East Africa. Every body else is just Noise.
@AE Mathenge..This is a wild allegation. You used which opinion poll!!! Her show to me,it's too hogwash..compared to a number of stations, just my opinion. @mkwasi, everyone has their own taste. Carol & Jalang'o ati Musee Jalang'o mwenyewe. I get so pissed listening to it but I acknowledge that they have fans who think they're good. But everyone has their niche. Carol has identified hers(akina mahegoat) and insulted them but they still love her! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
A write never copies anything without acknowledging the source... and checking for copyright restrictions before using a large part of it... A serious writer, doesn't even copy himself/herself without acknowledging that he/she had published the same words at a different time or publications. This is the reason why you will see the likes of Sunny Bindra writing something like: "In 1997, I wrote in the East African that 'A man like Mwai Kibaki can change the way Kenyans view the concept of developmental...'" He is quoting himself and he tells the reader that this is not the first time he is using those words. So the question really is: is Mutoko serious about her writing? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@all Mutoko fans, take it easy... While Mutoko is receiving bile for being the most arrogant 'celeb' in Kenya, such scrutiny is not rare. In the music field, reggae artists have been known to lift lyrics and tunes of very old songs and then claim to have written them. They have suffered a backlash as a result.
Is this the same lady who was excited at the death of some dignitaries?Majority of kenyans survive without her.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Thank you @chiaroscuro. Michael Jackson's version of Dibango's stolen few words is the climax of a beautiful, fantastic piece of dance hall music that simply rocked my world. Michael improved on Dibango's work. It was worth it. Settlement came later. Dolly and Whitney had their own arrangement hence the disk cover acknowledgment. However, Whitney created a magical piece from Dolly's work. Each benefited from the other. Did Caroline Mutoko create a better piece of work from her stolen material? Michael and Whitney did not became lesser artists for using someone's material, did they? What I am seeing on this thread is Citizens stoning Ms. Mutoko. Not a critical analysis of the stolen product. In the end, the media owner(s) are enjoying every moment of it because of the free marketing. I took a matatu on an out of town eland this morning and was shocked to hear Kiss FM on air whereas usually this matatu plays one of those Royal Media Stations. I would not be surprised that Citizens are listening so that they can gather material to come and runt about here and other media. I mean where else would you get the words ati Musee Jalang'o mwenyewe if you are not listening? Michael Jackson burnt his hair, Janet had a wardrobe malfaction, need I go on? Dwell on it before you click Post.
Money Whisperer wrote:masukuma wrote: Can tell me how Africa benefits from the current intellectual property regime?
Consider the following, 1. Find out how much money 50 Cent offered Chinua Achebe for the use of the phrase "Things Fall Apart" as the title of the movie (FYI, Chinua turned down the offer). The last time I checked, Chinua was as African as the first gal I kissed 2. How much money was Fadhili William offered by Boney M's producers for doing a remix of the song Malaika? Fadhili William si ni Mdavida wa kwetu Kenya 3.If Africans did not benefit from IP regime then I would have taken Ngugi wa Thiong'o's Weep Not Child and titled it Shut up Child and made millions out of it, but I can't because Henry Chakava will sue me to the last Y-front I own. IP regime has ensured Ngugi and other writers make their millions. 4. Poxy Pressure revamped the Music Copyright Society and now musicians earn royalty from their work and can sue you if you dare perform their songs fwaaa 5. Thanks to the hard work by Prof. Peter Wasamba of the Litt dept. at UoN now even oral literature performances are covered by IP Act so our ohangla musicians on the streets will soon start earning from their performances 6. Oxford University Press took Longhorn Publishers to court claiming they had plagiarized their Kamusi. Pray, how does one plagiarize a kamusi? hehe I told you IP laws are known clearly even in Africa, so don't say "WE don't understand" say "I and afew others don't understand IP regime", but just know this it is there and it supports a whole industry @[Money Whisperer]. quite a story for Chinua Achebe vs 50.."It is listed as the most-read book in modern African literature, and won't be sold for even £1bn." http://news2.onlineniger...e-things-fall-apart.htmlYou kill bird...bird dead snake come.
mawinder wrote:Is this the same lady who was excited at the death of some dignitaries?Majority of kenyans survive without her. Jamani you have attacked her enough. I thought what she said during that time was grossly misundertood by readers. If I hear of death by fire I cant help but cringe at the thought of what they may have gone through in process.It's quite horrifying and I thought her wish was that they did not have to bear it hence her preference for instant death. It's always good to read between lines when ladies esp speak because they get misunderstood a lot. Ladies convey emotions in their words.You guys do not. Am not defending her wrongs.I just feel like people are crucifying her a lot, yet she is human and prone to mistakes. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
she is an arrogant egoistic lazy woman LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Kyt,you are spot on.That is why she despises men who take ladies to Njuguna's.Where a man takes his girlfriend for lunch is none of her business.By the way,what does she think of men like us who hang out in Uhuru park?She should know that in this world circumstances change but the most important thing is happiness.
@kyt & mawinder,you are both correct so lets peel some more n you'll get a better understanding of who ur dealing with.The best words to describe her are egotist/vain/conceited.Someone once asked about her circle of pals and me thinks there is none.She's been an attention ho ever since and to quote her ex classmate in lcvr when she joined kiss:"caroline has landed the ideal job since she now gets paid for people to listen to her." Goes without saying that she always thinks she is right so you cant win this one esp if she considers those making noise to be of a lower class than her.It raises the question-are her philanthropic acts egoistic or altruistic ama it doesnt matter since the end justifies the means?
Rank: Member Joined: 11/18/2010 Posts: 503 Location: Kenya
According to the Huffington Post, over the next seven years, job growth in the arts in the US will exceed job growth as a whole. In fact, according to the report, artistic careers for painters, architects and photographers are expected to increase by 11 percent by 2018, compared to the projected 10 per cent total increase in the American labour force. http://www.the-star.co.k...5371-art-its-a-real-job
Ahahahahahaaaaa!!! She has learnt to acknowledge. But should g back to school and learn how to quote!
masukuma wrote:YesuWangu wrote:http://www.the-star.co.ke/public-ed/94861-mutoko-on-monday-when-borrowing-goes-over-the-line
I think I am mellowing about this now.
look at who is writing - a 'KAREN ROTHMYER', coz it makes sense to her. It does not make sense to us - and we know it. Sasa wewe maveggies unapenda tu siasa mob.....
mukiha wrote:A write never copies anything without acknowledging the source... and checking for copyright restrictions before using a large part of it...
A serious writer, doesn't even copy himself/herself without acknowledging that he/she had published the same words at a different time or publications.
This is the reason why you will see the likes of Sunny Bindra writing something like: "In 1997, I wrote in the East African that 'A man like Mwai Kibaki can change the way Kenyans view the concept of developmental...'" He is quoting himself and he tells the reader that this is not the first time he is using those words.
So the question really is: is Mutoko serious about her writing? @Mukiha...Writing is a different art altogether. Portraying your ignorance in writing, is just irreversable. I think She should just stick to radio (you can say something today and deny tomorrow borrowing a leaf from our Mpigs). she ain't doing well either on that radio front but it will save her albeit for the time being!
@motomoto even without acknowledment to the huffington post, she has yet to do it the right way and the star could still be in trouble. I know the star guys are reading this post going by the pretence of attacking Mutoko. So let me help them out here a bit. There is something called a rink and another thing called a quote. They must be included when writing other people's stuff. Now they are courting more problems by quoting the Huffington Post. I promise them, they might shut down that online paper at this rate. The process is simple "Qoute the exact words like this" Leave a Rink to where you quoted it from. Then she's free to copy as much as she likes and the authors of the pieces will be very excited about the whole issue. Personally I would love it if she was to quote me. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:@motomoto even without acknowledment to the huffington post, she has yet to do it the right way and the star could still be in trouble. I know the star guys are reading this post going by the pretence of attacking Mutoko. So let me help them out here a bit. There is something called a rink and another thing called a quote. They must be included when writing other people's stuff. Now they are courting more problems by quoting the Huffington Post. I promise them, they might shut down that online paper at this rate. The process is simple "Qoute the exact words like this" Leave a Rink to where you quoted it from. Then she's free to copy as much as she likes and the authors of the pieces will be very excited about the whole issue. Personally I would love it if she was to quote me. Why? If its coz of what i think can u handle her bloated ego..or ur just being sarcastic?!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
alma wrote:@motomoto even without acknowledment to the huffington post, she has yet to do it the right way and the star could still be in trouble. I know the star guys are reading this post going by the pretence of attacking Mutoko. So let me help them out here a bit. There is something called a rink and another thing called a quote. They must be included when writing other people's stuff. Now they are courting more problems by quoting the Huffington Post. I promise them, they might shut down that online paper at this rate.The process is simple "Qoute the exact words like this"
Leave a Rink to where you quoted it from.Then she's free to copy as much as she likes and the authors of the pieces will be very excited about the whole issue.
Personally I would love it if she was to quote me. @Alma you could not be more wrong. You are either completely misunderstanding copyright law or thinking SEO practice is copyright law. The law does not require quoting exact words or providing a link. Read about fair use in copyright law before you start 'helping' out people. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
@Elder, what I have said is exactly what is done. Go look at all the big and small media houses around the world. In fact the best in this business can quote the whole story and even the headings as long as they leave the link. Quote, then provide a link. Lawyers can always come back later to argue as they usually do. Leaving you cease and desist orders. Doesn't mean that they ever stick infact, I've never seen one that stuck. If you have please do tell. Back at you Elder, go read about curation. There is no website on this earth that doesn't do it. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
School girl spanked for letting her friend to copy her work. http://news.yahoo.com/bl...s-topstories.html?_esi=1It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Culture
"I Will Not Apologize" -- Caroline Mutoko Responds to Plagiarism Claims