SME
Legal
LETTER TO THE CHIEF JUSTICE
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
Mmmhhhhh...The man of numbers and figures!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 2/11/2011 Posts: 240 Location: jamuhuri ya kenya
i was arrested for not wearing the safety belt early on a Monday exactly 3weeks ago, around 6:4am, i took the car to the cop station as ordered. I knew the process of appearing in court would be too long so i opted to 'pay'the officer in charge of traffic 1k instead of spending the whole day in court cells just to lead guilty and pay 500/.Until spot fines are introduced, just 'pay' the cops if you have the cash, it save s a lot of time and energy
Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:chemos wrote:Gordon Gekko wrote:Who saw @mukiha's liner in the Cutting Edge on Saturday on this matter? Saw it... Cutting edge have a soft spot for this Wazua Elder.. I did not, exact words used? Yeah, exacts word used but summarized to fit into the cutting age, the message was clear. I saw too and though it could not have been a coincidence.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
jimmy1 wrote:i was arrested for not wearing the safety belt early on a Monday exactly 3weeks ago, around 6:4am, i took the car to the cop station as ordered. I knew the process of appearing in court would be too long so i opted to 'pay'the officer in charge of traffic 1k instead of spending the whole day in court cells just to lead guilty and pay 500/.Until spot fines are introduced, just 'pay' the cops if you have the cash, it save s a lot of time and energy @jimmy1; No. Please, NO! The road to heaven is narrow and has many hurdles. Paying off a cop.....no, let's say it like it is: BRIBING a cop is not the solution! We must try to solve the problem by getting the system changed. Bringing it out in the open is one step; and as stated by @Gordon Gekko above, a wazuan managed to get the issue published in the "highest circulation newspaper in Eastern and Central Africa" - The Nation. I am quite sure that even if the CJ doesn't read wazua, he surely does the Nation... and if not, one of his friends, or officers must have seen it. FYI: I recently went to get a patient discharged from a hospital and found long queue. The cashier was serving an average of 2 customers per hour! So, I went to the admin office and asked to talk to the CFO. He wasn't in, but one of the senior officers in the finance office came to see me and I explained the problem. He offered to fast-track my case but I said no: that will not solve the problem. So he asked me to give him a few minutes. He went to the cashier's cubical top find out what was the matter. It turned out that "known" customers were jumping the queue through the back door -literary since the door to the cubical is behind the cashier! The senior officer ordered the cashier to stop processing bills coming from the back door and only deal with those from people on the queue. The back door was also closed and the cashier told not to allow anyone in. Result: the queue started moving pretty fast. I was about 10th in line by the time I made my complaint and was served withing 30min. Again I was: bribing the cop does NOT solve the problem.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
chiaroscuro wrote:jimmy1 wrote:i was arrested for ..... so i opted to 'pay'the officer in charge of traffic 1k instead of spending the whole day in court cells just to lead guilty and pay 500/.Until spot fines are ........, it save s a lot of time and energy @jimmy1; No. Please, NO! The road to..... ....... and was served withing 30min. Again I was: bribing the cop does NOT solve the problem. Suppose you were to attend to a very very very important thing in your life, e.g. exam, interview, clinic e.t.c, ain't being philanthropic like one man Jimmy acceptable. This character didn't just 'pay' the fine (500/-), he also 'paid' the cop(s) to for the service of staying 'near' the cells for him! Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
dunkang wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:jimmy1 wrote:i was arrested for ..... so i opted to 'pay'the officer in charge of traffic 1k instead of spending the whole day in court cells just to lead guilty and pay 500/.Until spot fines are ........, it save s a lot of time and energy @jimmy1; No. Please, NO! The road to..... ....... and was served withing 30min. Again I was: bribing the cop does NOT solve the problem. Suppose you were to attend to a very very very important thing in your life, e.g. exam, interview, clinic e.t.c, ain't being philanthropic like one man Jimmy acceptable. This character didn't just 'pay' the fine (500/-), he also 'paid' the cop(s) to for the service of staying 'near' the cells for him! I think circumstance at hand matter here. Imagine headed for mbuzi 6 and someones wats you detour to Kilimani courts and spend the better night in there, and possible allowed to plead the following monday at 3pm!! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
McReggae wrote:I just tweeted him the link to this post haven't seen your tweet to @WMutunga, ama huwa unaficha tweet zako?
jimmy1 wrote:McReggae wrote:I just tweeted him the link to this post haven't seen your tweet to @WMutunga, ama huwa unaficha tweet zako? Somebody wants to burst me huh!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Somebody wants to burst me huh!!! you can tweet using a different username e.g @macdoba
Guys, I happened to take my nephew to get a Certificate of Good Conduct at the CID HQs on Kiambu road. I wish the CJ and all his team could pay them a visit to understand that the best way of crowd control is to have none at all. I was there at 7.45 a.m courtesy of the Kibaki Super highway. My anticipated traffic mess did not materialize. The guys started working by 8 a.m pronto!!! They told the guys where to pay and the procedure. What I found amazing was the speed with which the cashier was receipting. When I saw my nephews receipt, I realized that everything else had been filled and he just needed your ID. He puts down your name and ID and PAP you have your receipt. All manual by the way Inside, there are two ladies waiting for you to give your ID and receipt for a photocopy and viola your are seated in less that 15 minutes after all you relevant docs have been attached. At the seats, you follow a strict system and within another 20 minutes the guys fingerprints had been taken and he was told to leave. I could not believe the efficiency. We were leaving the gate (having a definite collection date written on the receipt) by 8.30!!!! Bw. CJ, go and learn. I Think Therefore I Am
bwenyenye wrote:Guys, I happened to take my nephew to get a Certificate of Good Conduct at the CID HQs on Kiambu road. I wish the CJ and all his team could pay them a visit to understand that the best way of crowd control is to have none at all.
I was there at 7.45 a.m courtesy of the Kibaki Super highway. My anticipated traffic mess did not materialize. The guys started working by 8 a.m pronto!!! They told the guys where to pay and the procedure. What I found amazing was the speed with which the cashier was receipting. When I saw my nephews receipt, I realized that everything else had been filled and he just needed your ID. He puts down your name and ID and PAP you have your receipt. All manual by the way
Inside, there are two ladies waiting for you to give your ID and receipt for a photocopy and viola your are seated in less that 15 minutes after all you relevant docs have been attached. At the seats, you follow a strict system and within another 20 minutes the guys fingerprints had been taken and he was told to leave.
I could not believe the efficiency. We were leaving the gate (having a definite collection date written on the receipt) by 8.30!!!!
Bw. CJ, go and learn.
Or the Passport Office at Nyayo House
dunkang wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:jimmy1 wrote:i was arrested for ..... so i opted to 'pay'the officer in charge of traffic 1k instead of spending the whole day in court cells just to lead guilty and pay 500/.Until spot fines are ........, it save s a lot of time and energy @jimmy1; No. Please, NO! The road to..... ....... and was served withing 30min. Again I was: bribing the cop does NOT solve the problem. Suppose you were to attend to a very very very important thing in your life, e.g. exam, interview, clinic e.t.c, ain't being philanthropic like one man Jimmy acceptable. This character didn't just 'pay' the fine (500/-), he also 'paid' the cop(s) to for the service of staying 'near' the cells for him! that's why "the road to heaven is narrow and filled with many hurdles". You would have to miss the important thing in order to stay in "the road to heaven". All other explanations as to why you have to give a bribe are simply self-justifications
gfrsdg Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
C&P Quote:BAILING OUT SUSPECTS: Mungai Kihanya, who asked why there are posters all over the place at Milimani Law Courts in Nairobi stating that fines can only be paid on behalf of convicts by their relatives and friends, says he was pleasantly surprised to receive a response from Chief Justice Mutunga, who used his personal, free Web-based email account. “I was elated. He wrote to me directly, promising to sort out the problem. He said cashiers will now go to courts and those who have posted cash bail will be able to use that money. I wonder if that is already happening!” Mungai’s contact is mkihanya@yahoo.com. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Good People, I read somewhere that they have introduced some M-pesa payment thing. Has anyone experienced it? Does it work? Does it solve the issues raised in this thread? I Think Therefore I Am
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/10/2010 Posts: 1,001 Location: River Road
M-pesa payment is yet to work problem is when you are charged you don't have the case number so you have to wait till the session ends to start making payment. It's much easier to have the system where the cashier collects the fine and gives you a receipt in the court room
Bwenyenye the best solution is instant fines or no contest entered on the charge sheet then followed up by payment to a magistrates court. it doesnt matter where if the judiciary is fully connected. However, those changes need some changes to legislation and our poorly paid MPs have no time to think (they have to sell sukuma by the roadside in order to make ends meet).
bwenyenye wrote:Guys, I happened to take my nephew to get a Certificate of Good Conduct at the CID HQs on Kiambu road. I wish the CJ and all his team could pay them a visit to understand that the best way of crowd control is to have none at all.
I was there at 7.45 a.m courtesy of the Kibaki Super highway. My anticipated traffic mess did not materialize. The guys started working by 8 a.m pronto!!! They told the guys where to pay and the procedure. What I found amazing was the speed with which the cashier was receipting. When I saw my nephews receipt, I realized that everything else had been filled and he just needed your ID. He puts down your name and ID and PAP you have your receipt. All manual by the way
Inside, there are two ladies waiting for you to give your ID and receipt for a photocopy and viola your are seated in less that 15 minutes after all you relevant docs have been attached. At the seats, you follow a strict system and within another 20 minutes the guys fingerprints had been taken and he was told to leave.
I could not believe the efficiency. We were leaving the gate (having a definite collection date written on the receipt) by 8.30!!!!
Bw. CJ, go and learn.
I cosign. I went there in July, very early, expecting to be there till midday. I was out in less than 30 mins. KUDOs to the guys....
Rank: Member Joined: 4/20/2010 Posts: 412 Location: nairobi
who knows the procedure of getting KACC nap a cop who is sumbua-ring me. He picked two cars in like 100 cars that had formed a second lane which the trafic cops themselves allow(between city mortuary and golfcourse) then alimwachilia mwenzangu. He took me to kilimani police st and asked me to leave my car and go to court this morning if i didnot part with 5k amalize maneno. Kufika kotini this morning my name was missing from the charge sheet list. Am going to kilimani but wish to nap him incase he is looking for a a bribe. Mine is that narrow path. The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
accelriskconsult wrote:Bwenyenye the best solution is instant fines or no contest entered on the charge sheet then followed up by payment to a magistrates court. it doesnt matter where if the judiciary is fully connected. However, those changes need some changes to legislation and our poorly paid MPs have no time to think (they have to sell sukuma by the roadside in order to make ends meet). That is what I am talking about. I have been arrested overlapping. Nimekubali... so Why cant I not go to court at my time, fill in the no contest and pay at the cashier ( or even utilize my bond).... That would solve alot of corruption issues.. Why waste my day waiting to tell a magistrate 'Nimekubali' I Think Therefore I Am
SME
Legal
LETTER TO THE CHIEF JUSTICE