wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

Safcom dividends
tusker8
#1 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 2:39:00 PM

Imagine if you were a shareholder at Barclays and,they insisted that for them to pay you dividends,you must open an account with them.
Well,isn't that what Safaricom is doing to their 'small' shareholders? what if i don't own a Safcom line?

You know you are old when you wake up with a hangover and you didnt touch no drink the previous nite.
mtaalam
#2 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 3:25:00 PM

I see it as an option they're offering you that favours both sides. You could choose to take it or reject it and get your dividend the kawaida way.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
chris79
#3 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 3:29:00 PM

And also you don't have to be a registered Mpesa user to recieve money from Mpesa...

Be the change you want to see in the world...
kishindo
#4 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 7:53:00 PM

it doesn't matter,bottom line is i'll be charged to withdraw any amount so until then...spend 30 bob and send my cheque through Rtd Gen Ali's network....my bank wont charge me a dime to clear it.at this rate a good chunk of the dividends will go back into buying airtime...

less is more for Architects only!!
Less is more....for Architects only!!
chris79
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 17, 2009 6:56:00 AM

Exactly,that's why you have a choice between recieving the dividends via Mpesa or via the traditional methods. Of course it doesn't make much sense going to cash a 40 bob cheque does it?

Be the change you want to see in the world...
#6 Posted : Saturday, October 17, 2009 8:24:00 AM

Waiting for my cheque of ksh 195....
Kamaa
#7 Posted : Saturday, October 17, 2009 3:39:00 PM

i beg to hijack the thread...

what is the minimum amount of dividend an investor can be taxed at source (w/tax)?

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Pierce
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 9:35:00 AM

Have the cheques been posted? Anyone has received?
Layman
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:13:00 AM

@kamaa,tax except dividend is kshs 50/= but kenyan companies tax it all out of ignorance.

There's no hurry in Kenya!
jmm
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 3:30:00 PM

the safcom divided via mpesa,cheque and eft will all be paid on 17th Nov

success or failure is like a seed plant any and put enough effort and you will definately harvest
mtaalam
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 7:21:00 AM

@jmm
what's your source? According to Stocks Kenya (this site) payment is today,12th November.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas. Those of average intelligence talk about things. Stupid people talk about other people.
mtaalam
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 1:11:00 PM

Just received an sms that 'your M-PESA opt-in request was unsuccessful. Dividend payment by cheque or EFT will be dispatched by 17th Nov 2009'

Anyone else with received this or was successful?

...ili iwe funzo!
jawz1
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 2:03:00 PM

Just got sms saying the MPESA Opt-in request was succesful and will receive dividend via MPESA by 17th November 2009.

He who will not economize will have to agonize (Confucius)
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
mburuke
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 2:14:00 PM

Also received an sms saying the MPESA Opt-in request was succesful and will receive dividend via MPESA

One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
novestor
#15 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 2:21:00 PM

Got mine...@mtaalam did you apply and are you expecting less than 35k? why was it unsuccessful?

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
#16 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 2:35:00 PM

yangu bia,igo
mtaalam
#17 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 3:28:00 PM

It's just 25k. Sasa ni kuanza chasing the damn cheque! Hate this!

...ili iwe funzo!
ddsimiyu
#18 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 7:45:00 PM

What is the registar qualification date for the dividents.

Desiderious
motta
#19 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2009 4:49:00 AM

Mimi bado ona sms!!!!!.

Good business leaders create a vision,articulate the vision,passionately own the vision & relentlessly drive it to completion-J Likavo
"La historia me absolvera"Fidel Castro
#20 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2009 8:51:00 AM

>> @ mtaalam,you've got company. I received that message too...don't know what i filled wrong on that form.

>> eat,drink and find satisfaction in your work...setsaiselccE