wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Enough is Enough
Ric dees
#21 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 1:45:00 PM

@Litoro

Goodstuff,it's amazing the kind of drinking that is in this town!!!,Jana had gone for Jazz at K1 and guys just dint seem to have enough,and it was a freeking Tuesday.!!! everyone kept on asking me why am taking Fanta,some even who don't know me...(what the F***)..sounds good,all this drinking i just can't keep up..whatever you come up with count me in,

Success is not measured by what you accomplish,but by the opposition you have encountered and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against the overwhelming odds'

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Mali
#22 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 2:58:00 PM

Brother or sister,this is my 4 month now... two things; plan and have another baby! and make sure your wife is busy in the evenings!

2ndly,saved or not; christian or muslim; join a bible study group or a Koran study (not sure if there is any)....

Wish you luck! its hard,but the strong survives!

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
And1589
#23 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 4:38:00 PM

Hi guyz,av been sober my whole life and it feels GOOD!

Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
Feish
#24 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 4:46:00 PM

Man Toro....(litoro) i believe you stopped booze so that you can save that money to buy your first jalopy..keep up and to boost you i will also stop from after end of this month coz am too thirsty this month

life is an endless adventure
#25 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 5:57:00 PM

Had a bad accident coz had taken one too many,took 3 months break and now back a beta more responsible drinker!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
emem
#26 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 7:18:00 PM

@And1589

when you wake in the morning,that is as good as you'll ever feel,you're missing out..,

advise ya kupotosha

True nobility lies in being superior to your former self.
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 3:57:00 AM

I drink bt neva crave 4alcohol at any time wen sober. Cnt stop though.

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#28 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 5:34:00 AM

@ Litoro. A great decision you have made! Am always surprised by those who love the bottle coz they have this annoying habit of encouraging others to drink. If I am with you in a pub and I ask for fanta or uji,I know exactly what I am saying.

Then I have never come across somebody who says they were better off when they used to drink. Show me one and I will consider hitting the bottle.
Braza
#29 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 6:09:00 AM

I remember a colleague who would insist on joining us even after quiting beer,he would go ahead and order a fanta...he couldn't let go off the company...well,as soon as his cold Fanta landed on the table,we would equally order a loaf of bread for the poor chap,well a cold Fanta would go down well with a loaf and not Nyama choma....he couldn't take....the rest is history.

Litoro....What you are going through is what many wanywaji fear admiting....a) The fear of loosing peers.. b) The fear of seeming a looser... c) The fear of the brand '' compromised'' by the wife...You still want to live among them,though not of them.....there are great great sober people outside the drinking circles..see beyond the bar counter...gym,art. Music..church...Many more......

10% of road accidents are due to drunken driving . This makes it a logical statement that 90% of accidents are due to driving without drinking!

Consistency requires you to be as ignorant today as you were a year ago.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
The Real Shaft
#30 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 6:53:00 AM

et al.....

Did you know........

that the human body produces its own supply of alcohol.......

naturally on a continuous basis......

24 hours a day,seven days a week......???

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
#31 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 8:47:00 AM

@Braza

i think if you are strong willed as Litoro sounds,you can overcome the peer pressure even when you keep the company. there is this friend who was a heavy heavy drinker. he added quite a bit of weight. then he decided he needed to cut for health reasons (not that he became sick,he was just concerned he would be later at the rate he was adding). the guy to this day,can go out with his friends,buys them all the drinks they want and he would drink Dasani all night... and leaves the club with the rest at 3am sounding 'higher' than everyone else who was drinking... and all his 'drinking' fellas love his company even when he is sober! His friends will call him for a drink and they know he will drink water all through and no one ridicules him....

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
LovelifeGuru
#32 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 10:48:00 AM

@ Wendz

I agree.If you're strong willed you can still hang out with your drinking buddies and not be tempted. It requires a mind shift plus a slight change of habit and you're good to go. Guys haven't REALLY made up their minds bout quitting a particular 'bad' habit,be it drinking or any other.

I recall when I first tried to wacha pombe some time back,I would go to the pub and then a few hours and like 5 fantas later i would 'reward' myself for the effort by drinking a few beers. Bure kabisa mimi!

'Even if you're on the right track,you'll get run over if you just sit there'.