wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

Obama's speech
rock
#1 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 8:33:31 AM

I've never been so underwhelmed by obama..it was long,tangent and nonspecific.Bill Clinton set the bar too high yesterday.
#2 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 9:27:01 AM

I found the speech very ok and inspiring, remember the guys is seeking re-election, he is the incumbent.....it aint the season of 'yes we can'

Obama's speech in text.
rock
#3 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 11:14:14 AM

It didnt really move me much.All i heard was i did this and am going to do that bla bla bla..whereas i fought back tears several times while listening to michelle and almost gave bill a standing ovation! It could also have been their strategy so that all obama needed was a little effort to convince americans and bring the dnc to a thunderous climax!!
#4 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 11:39:32 AM

rock wrote:
I've never been so underwhelmed by obama..it was long,tangent and nonspecific.Bill Clinton set the bar too high yesterday.

What do you mean? His speech was spot on. As an incumbent you cannot go over-promising stuff like Romney, Ruto, UK and the likes. You stay true to the cause you've set.

#5 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 11:53:21 AM

rock wrote:

What do you mean? His speech was spot on. As an incombent you cannot go over-promising stuff like Romney, Ruto, UK and the likes. You stay true to the cause you've set.

Hii ni nini sasa combatant??but IO agree with you it did its part...
accelriskconsult
#6 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 12:35:53 PM

rock wrote:
It didnt really move me much.All i heard was i did this and am going to do that bla bla bla..whereas i fought back tears several times while listening to michelle and almost gave bill a standing ovation! It could also have been their strategy so that all obama needed was a little effort to convince americans and bring the dnc to a thunderous climax!!

Rock,

That was exactly the outcome Obama wanted. He can no longer use the soaring rhetoric that he used in 2008 because he is the incumbent.

A challenger is supposed to inspire and words help, but an incumbent is supposed to defend his turf. A challenger can speak theoretically about what he will do but an incumbent speaking theoretically will look out of touch. So the incumbent has to lay out what they have achieved and what they want to achieve in realistic and less bombastic fashion.
rock
#7 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 3:04:05 PM

I get the logic but still...mabe clinton should have spoke last while endorsing him.