Sports
EPL 2012 - 2013
King G wrote:cant believe it but it is true, Arsenal has the most mean defence! Keep it up gooners Two words.STEVE BOULD.You must have seen the tall heavily built man exercising with the team before the start of yesterday's game.Despite his age, (50 years old),he takes to the pitch to exercise with the ease of a 15 year old. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
mwenza wrote:willin2learn wrote:Comparing our Game to Chealsea, i don't think blaming Carrick will do here. Chealses were walloped with their 2 signing of the season playing! City too had a difficult hosting of Southampton with the same scoreline at Etihad. Blame Carrick? No. I'm among United fans who don't like Carrick, more so for his sideways and back-ward passes but the whole team was just below par yesterday including Kagawa. Our players just need to step up their game. Our CD also needs some consistency and pace.
This is very true. The whole team was down, hata yule aliyefunga mabao matatu pia yeye alikuwa chini. There is a mistaken belief that if you score a goal then you are on form. I watched the curtain raiser to our match and you dont have to be an asenane fan to realise that Diaby, though he didnt score, was easily their best player on the pitch. Having said that, it must be emphasised that players require a minimum of FIVE competitive matches to regain fitness at the start of the season. I totally agree @Mwenza but my beef with Carrick has been long standing and well documented - if I was Fergie I would save some of these guys for that Capital cup (former Carling cup) instead of wasting space on the field. I also agree that Diaby was a player transformed on Sunday - if he plays like that and remains healthy Arsenal can be very hopeful. Anyway, ni mapema sana but I'm very critical of the team I support, we cannot afford slip ups this early. We have already lost one game, losing another just leaves us with a margin of losing only 3 or at most 4 other games if we are expecting to reclaim the title from City. That's a hard ask in 35 games! BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
smano wrote:mwenza wrote:willin2learn wrote:Comparing our Game to Chealsea, i don't think blaming Carrick will do here. Chealses were walloped with their 2 signing of the season playing! City too had a difficult hosting of Southampton with the same scoreline at Etihad. Blame Carrick? No. I'm among United fans who don't like Carrick, more so for his sideways and back-ward passes but the whole team was just below par yesterday including Kagawa. Our players just need to step up their game. Our CD also needs some consistency and pace.
This is very true. The whole team was down, hata yule aliyefunga mabao matatu pia yeye alikuwa chini. There is a mistaken belief that if you score a goal then you are on form. I watched the curtain raiser to our match and you dont have to be an asenane fan to realise that Diaby, though he didnt score, was easily their best player on the pitch. Having said that, it must be emphasised that players require a minimum of FIVE competitive matches to regain fitness at the start of the season. I totally agree @Mwenza but my beef with Carrick has been long standing and well documented - if I was Fergie I would save some of these guys for that Capital cup (former Carling cup) instead of wasting space on the field. I also agree that Diaby was a player transformed on Sunday - if he plays like that and remains healthy Arsenal can be very hopeful. Anyway, ni mapema sana but I'm very critical of the team I support, we cannot afford slip ups this early. We have already lost one game, losing another just leaves us with a margin of losing only 3 or at most 4 other games if we are expecting to reclaim the title from City. That's a hard ask in 35 games! There was a time we hit AS Roma 7-0 at OT in a CL match and guess what? Carrick was the most outstanding player on the night. This Carrick man was also the man of the match in a game against Chelsea last season. His biggest asset is his commitment on the pitch despite his limited technical awareness.That probably explains why SAF prefers to give him the role of breaking-up play. On sunday Scholes appeared to be quite influential when he came on. However when you are brought on on the 70th minute, you are likely to be very visible compared to the other fatigued players. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
I remember those matches and those performances - but we need him to do that often if not consistently...not twice a season. Imagine if you had a striker who scored 3 hattricks a season but never scored again...Cleverley had a superior game when we played against Fulham. Yesterday he was rightly subbed. Nani has the most potential in the team but blows hot and cold every season, he is by far the most irritating player next to Carrick (in my eyes). Ashley Young seems to be following in his footsteps.Valencia's reliability is unquestionable, he only has few off days, which is expected in football. That's my biggest concern with some of these players BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
SAF need to start getting his midfiled and strikers pairing correct otherwise he will continue fielding clueless teams like yesterday. Another area of concern is arial balls. Man u struggled last season on this and its is already evident that they have issues especially in dead ball scenarios mostly corners. Thieves
@King G fair play- we were poor on the night ( we started really sloppily) and made to pay heavily, however I doubt Man U would have performed any better. Mikel and Lampard just did not turn up on the night and Falcao did the finishing however the damage was done by their midfielders. Anyway we can live with that still 2 points ahead of everybody!! Well done Robin V perfect, however Man U will not win this league, that you can take to they bank. I have never ranked Cleverly/ Carrick any where and this is the guys you expect to dictate play against Carzola/Diaby, Hazard/Mata, Dembele/Dempsey,Toure/Silva, Ben Arfa/Cabaye you now begin to see the task Ahead of Man U and I reiterate games will be won my midfielders something Man U lacks for now. I am very Interested to see how Ferguson will play Rooney when He gets back? And once again this will not be the new York-Cole partnerships football has evolved one striker is preferred nowadays. The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
C&P (Source: BBC Sports/football) This is SAF FOR YOU; Dimitar Berbatov criticises Man Utd's Sir Alex Ferguson Dimitar Berbatov has criticised Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson for the way he was treated during his final season at the club. The striker, 31, made only 12 Premier League appearances for United in 2011-12 and moved to Fulham last week. "I said goodbye to the people who deserve it, I couldn't say goodbye to Ferguson," said the Bulgarian. "I know he's the boss but he has lost, to some extent, my respect because of the way he treated me." Thieves
King G wrote:C&P (Source: BBC Sports/football)
This is SAF FOR YOU;
Dimitar Berbatov criticises Man Utd's Sir Alex Ferguson
Dimitar Berbatov has criticised Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson for the way he was treated during his final season at the club.
The striker, 31, made only 12 Premier League appearances for United in 2011-12 and moved to Fulham last week.
"I said goodbye to the people who deserve it, I couldn't say goodbye to Ferguson," said the Bulgarian.
"I know he's the boss but he has lost, to some extent, my respect because of the way he treated me." Why is he whinning yet he was useless in the field? I wonder whether he will even shine at Fulham. If Fulham's game on sat is anything to go by then he looks like an average player. He has lost the magic touch that made him the play maker at Spurs. I can bet if he was the sole stricker in United game against Saints last Sunday United would have lost!!
Ric dees wrote: Well done Robin V perfect, however Man U will not win this league, that you can take to they bank. I have never ranked Cleverly/ Carrick any where and this is the guys you expect to dictate play against Carzola/Diaby, Hazard/Mata, Dembele/Dempsey,Toure/Silva, Ben Arfa/Cabaye you now begin to see the task Ahead of Man U and I reiterate games will be won my midfielders something Man U lacks for now. Yawn! Have we been down this road before? Um, let's see. City won the league last season on goal difference but equal on points with Man United. The previous season, who were the champions? Who were the midfielders? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Member Joined: 2/8/2007 Posts: 625 Location: Nairobi
Jus Blazin wrote:Ric dees wrote: Well done Robin V perfect, however Man U will not win this league, that you can take to they bank. I have never ranked Cleverly/ Carrick any where and this is the guys you expect to dictate play against Carzola/Diaby, Hazard/Mata, Dembele/Dempsey,Toure/Silva, Ben Arfa/Cabaye you now begin to see the task Ahead of Man U and I reiterate games will be won my midfielders something Man U lacks for now. Yawn! Have we been down this road before? Um, let's see. City won the league last season on goal difference but equal on points with Man United. The previous season, who were the champions? Who were the midfielders? My friend things have changed, SAF made one of the best transfers he has made in a while... just pray that RVP and Kagawa don't get injured coz if they are... Man U is sunk! The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
Nobby wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Ric dees wrote: Well done Robin V perfect, however Man U will not win this league, that you can take to they bank. I have never ranked Cleverly/ Carrick any where and this is the guys you expect to dictate play against Carzola/Diaby, Hazard/Mata, Dembele/Dempsey,Toure/Silva, Ben Arfa/Cabaye you now begin to see the task Ahead of Man U and I reiterate games will be won my midfielders something Man U lacks for now. Yawn! Have we been down this road before? Um, let's see. City won the league last season on goal difference but equal on points with Man United. The previous season, who were the champions? Who were the midfielders? My friend things have changed, SAF made one of the best transfers he has made in a while... just pray that RVP and Kagawa don't get injured coz if they are... Man U is sunk! I tend to agree that the current Man U midfiled is no match for other teams and it clearly showed during UCL/EUROPA games last season. Wait and see Thieves
Jus Blazin wrote:Ric dees wrote: Well done Robin V perfect, however Man U will not win this league, that you can take to they bank. I have never ranked Cleverly/ Carrick any where and this is the guys you expect to dictate play against Carzola/Diaby, Hazard/Mata, Dembele/Dempsey,Toure/Silva, Ben Arfa/Cabaye you now begin to see the task Ahead of Man U and I reiterate games will be won my midfielders something Man U lacks for now. Yawn! Have we been down this road before? Um, let's see. City won the league last season on goal difference but equal on points with Man United. The previous season, who were the champions? Who were the midfielders? @jus blazing, exactment!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
ManU ManU ManU ManU ManU ManU ManU ManU ManU ManU ManU in every other post on this thread..... change this topic to reflect that, then start another on the league itself. When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
@ Jitahidi.....I think what Berbatov has said about SAF is understandable given the way he has treated him in the last 2 seasons. Here's a player who in 2010-2011 season scored several hatricks (including 5 goals in one game), was the top scorer in the league and was voted best forward alongside tevez by PFA yet SAF didn't think he deserved a place in the 2011 CL against Barca....he didn't even make the bench. I know the guy was a bit slow on the pitch but he definitely had so many high moments at OT. Anyway i think his main problem with SAF is that he didn't want him to leave but at the same time was not willing to play him.
"I don't think I deserved such treatment at United - not playing in the last year. I went more than 10, probably 15, times to ask the coach if they need me. And every time I was told that I'm an important player and should not leave, but then again I was not in the team. Maybe I should've gone when he [Ferguson] left me out of the squad for the Champions League final."
Berbatov downfall was due to his pride. SAF talked to him to change his game but he wanted to stick to his "style". His style was not suited to Man United new way of playing. The fellow didn't want to change so he had to warm the bench. SAF changed Man United's way of playing because most team had studied Man United's way of play and were organizing themselves very fast against us. The only solution was a direct approach at a very fast speed. And Berbatov wanted that reversed because of his "style"? As in seriously??? Quote: Berbatov believes he fell out of favour because Ferguson wanted to play with a different style.
"He tried to explain to me that the team will be using a more direct style, with more speed," said the striker. "But I've never been among the fastest players. I like to hold the ball, this is my style.
"I found it hard to accept his decision, I still have my dignity. I scored many goals, I won the league two times and I was the league top scorer, so it's not bad. My Style!!!I liked [and still like] Berbatov and I believe he's got talent but a player can never be bigger than the team. Rooney used to be played out of position during Ronaldo's days and he did it without complaining. He even sacrificed his goal scoring instincts at times to make goals for Ronaldo. Actually most of the goals Ronaldo scored for united were courtesy of Rooney! At one point SAF went on record teling him that as a striker, he needs to be more selfish! SAF was not 100% fair to Berbatov but Berbatov also didn't make things any better! When Carrick is asked to play center back, he does it without complaining. When Valencia is asked to play as a right-back, he does it without a complain yet is one of the best wingers in Europe. You have to take one for the team if need be! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
McReggae wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Ric dees wrote: Well done Robin V perfect, however Man U will not win this league, that you can take to they bank. I have never ranked Cleverly/ Carrick any where and this is the guys you expect to dictate play against Carzola/Diaby, Hazard/Mata, Dembele/Dempsey,Toure/Silva, Ben Arfa/Cabaye you now begin to see the task Ahead of Man U and I reiterate games will be won my midfielders something Man U lacks for now. Yawn! Have we been down this road before? Um, let's see. City won the league last season on goal difference but equal on points with Man United. The previous season, who were the champions? Who were the midfielders? @jus blazing, exactment!!! My exact words too......More precisely a midfield marshalled by the same Michael Carrick!! IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 761 Location: Nairobi
MaichBlack wrote:Berbatov downfall was due to his pride. SAF talked to him to change his game but he wanted to stick to his "style". His style was not suited to Man United new way of playing. The fellow didn't want to change so he had to warm the bench. SAF changed Man United's way of playing because most team had studied Man United's way of play and were organizing themselves very fast against us. The only solution was a direct approach at a very fast speed. And Berbatov wanted that reversed because of his "style"? As in seriously??? Quote: Berbatov believes he fell out of favour because Ferguson wanted to play with a different style.
"He tried to explain to me that the team will be using a more direct style, with more speed," said the striker. "But I've never been among the fastest players. I like to hold the ball, this is my style.
"I found it hard to accept his decision, I still have my dignity. I scored many goals, I won the league two times and I was the league top scorer, so it's not bad. My Style!!!I liked [and still like] Berbatov and I believe he's got talent but a player can never be bigger than the team. Rooney used to be played out of position during Ronaldo's days and he did it without complaining. He even sacrificed his goal scoring instincts at times to make goals for Ronaldo. Actually most of the goals Ronaldo scored for united were courtesy of Rooney! At one point SAF went on record teling him that as a striker, he needs to be more selfish! SAF was not 100% fair to Berbatov but Berbatov also didn't make things any better! When Carrick is asked to play center back, he does it without complaining. When Valencia is asked to play as a right-back, he does it without a complain yet is one of the best wingers in Europe. You have to take one for the team if need be! Agreed. No player is bigger than a club. Man U is more than 100yrs old. Some of us have witnessed akina Cantona, Beckham, Keane, Nistelrooy and lately ronaldo leaving Man u, but the club survives. Players should never be allowed to have powers above the manager. Even Neville acknowledged that players are like grains of sand on a beach. Me thinks Fergie was right in ignoring Berbatov if he refused to follow instructions. I also found it laughable to hear RVP saying ati he does not agree with the direction Arsenal were taking. So, a player should dictate how a club is run?? When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
smano wrote:.....I totally agree @Mwenza but my beef with Carrick has been long standing and well documented......... ...Am aware of that. I also know that you have been wondering whether one of our versatile and long serving midfielders is suffering from MUKINGO (which I find very harsh coming from a Man U fan) IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
@ Marty & Maichblack.....I totally agree with both of you but kusema ukweli SAF should have allowed him to leave If he didn't fit Man Utd's style of play ,how many matches did he even play last season. Unlike Carrick, Rooney or Valencia, Berbatov was not given a chance to play any other position its like SAF forgot all about him. Anyway hope his reunion with Martin Jol will work out for him.
TAZ wrote:@ Marty & Maichblack.....I totally agree with both of you but kusema ukweli SAF should have allowed him to leave If he didn't fit Man Utd's style of play ,how many matches did he even play last season. Unlike Carrick, Rooney or Valencia, Berbatov was not given a chance to play any other position its like SAF forgot all about him. Anyway hope his reunion with Martin Jol will work out for him. Kama kumweka defence???? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Sports
EPL 2012 - 2013