wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

Kismayo Fallilng
Jump-steady
#21 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 10:40:12 AM

Um Sayala wrote:
Chiizi wrote:
Newstimeafrica is reporting hundreds of Al Shabab fighters dead in a 25 hours battle. KDF earning their pay for once

http://www.newstimeafrica.com/archives/28178

What exactly do you mean by that? you need to do a study on the roles of a Country's military before posting such statements.

Ditto!
jamplu
#22 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 10:46:48 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
It's been "falling" since 6th June - 3 months ago. Kwani inaanguka pole pole aje?

a stone at a time a fighter at a time.
first starving them as much as possible next wearing them down with anxiety
#23 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 10:59:58 AM

jamplu wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
It's been "falling" since 6th June - 3 months ago. Kwani inaanguka pole pole aje?

The killing of the two was not on the frontline, but an ambush when they were on reconnaissance duty. Very proud of them indeed. At long last this menace will be annihilated once and for all. The next 24 hours will be critical. Very critical.

Fallen
Chiizi
#24 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 1:14:50 PM

Jump-steady wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:
Chiizi wrote:
Newstimeafrica is reporting hundreds of Al Shabab fighters dead in a 25 hours battle. KDF earning their pay for once

What exactly do you mean by that? you need to do a study on the roles of a Country's military before posting such statements.

Ditto!

1. I have never called KDF professional soldiers, Museveni did.
2.I have never said the army should be building roads and roads and not staying in the barracks - a local politician did!

Many examples to give. It is a perception issue. I know different
#25 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 4:12:56 PM

jamplu wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:

Wars are not won overnight...
#26 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 4:40:06 PM

The display of Kshs and what seems like personal effects (ATM cards) is not proof of captured Kenya Army soldiers. Infact soldiers are not supposed to carry personal effects to the battlefront. Al Shabab should think harder.

Recognised one of the soldiers in yesterdays newspaper picture of the troops cheering from the chopper. All the best to him, and he gets a bottle of single malt whisky on his return.
#27 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 4:45:17 PM

jamplu wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:

Wars are not won overnight...

Ditto!!!!
#28 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 4:57:07 PM

My pal in Kahawa barracks tells me the US is not exactly silent on this - they have been furnishing the forces with satellite intelligence
#29 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2012 5:29:09 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
The display of Kshs and what seems like personal effects (ATM cards) is not proof of captured Kenya Army soldiers. Infact soldiers are not supposed to carry personal effects to the battlefront. Al Shabab should think harder.

Recognised one of the soldiers in yesterdays newspaper picture of the troops cheering from the chopper. All the best to him, and he gets a bottle of single malt whisky on his return.

@Obi, I totally agree with you. I'm sure Shabab would not have missed the opportunity to splash the names and ID number of there soldiers. However, Major Chirchir has sort of confirmed the two KIA.
#30 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 7:42:16 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

TrueApplause

And alshabz are now surrendering kwa wingi

Ama KDF wamepata bait?smile

#31 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 8:18:33 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

thuks
#32 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 8:33:45 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

TrueApplause

And alshabz are now surrendering kwa wingi

Ama KDF wamepata bait?smile

One of the 72 coming real life?
I care!
#33 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2012 8:40:11 PM

Yep - why have an Equity ATM card deep in Somaliya na huko hamna ATM network ya wa-meemba? Al kefafus are trying some propaganda stunt here but we aint taking the bait.
But wananchi watukufu (na wale watukutu pia), we must expect some body bags - its war after all & Kismayo is not easy walk in the park even after starving and harassing these al kefafu with naval bombardment, choppers and special forces. It will be urban warfare kabisa on al kefafu turf and they must have had ample time to pick nice sniper spots, plant spies n even chimba tunnels (kama zile za Egypt/Palestine) n road/car bombs by M.E veterans. However,kdf wako imara and know these tricks, have good lessons on these tactics. But the al kefafu days are numbered - theatre should close anytime this month I postulate...
If we are getting satellite intel, meaning it is downlinked to our fighter jets real-time, and they can instantly dash and drop a hot package on some al kefafu with minimun civilian 'collateral damage', kinda gives you a very good hint of the advanced avionics suites our Tigers have,and their training eh....? :d/
Career soldier, ulikuwa umesema? An armed force with seamlessly integrated and well coordinated intel, and operations between the air force, army and navy? And capable of amphibious Ops - day and night? And you call them career soldiers? Uko na shida!
Interestingly, not many folks know kdf is also fighting al kefafu in cyber space...Shhh
#34 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 8:08:37 AM

@Intelli,

KDF has been impressive.I think this has caught M7 off-guard and he should know by now that the mboys are no match for his rag-tag tin soldierssmile.a prayer for the mboys!!
sky5
#35 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 9:24:39 AM

@Intelli,

KDF has been impressive.I think this has caught M7 off-guard and he should know by now that the mboys are no match for his rag-tag tin soldierssmile.a prayer for the mboys!!

Indeed KDF performance not only caught M7 off guard, but also the major world powers. Already, Britain has some military personel on the ground in Somalia. scramble for oil???
#36 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 9:35:45 AM

I remain proud of KDF, the work they have done is very imprressive, M7 must now re-think he feeling of military superiority with his police-like soldiers!!!!
#37 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 11:27:55 AM

And by the way, the shooting war has only involved our special forces (The Rangers) with the main body of the army following to consolidate gains.

Our Rangers must now rank among the best fighting units in the world.

BTW.

The delay in entering any major centres of human population including Kismayo is a fantastic strategy, we cannot afford to enter kismayo without personnell to do the policing, otherwise you will have body bags from kismayo to Nairobi. We need to go in, smash the Kebabs, hand over the policing to TFG and withdraw to some base outside kismayo to provide tactical support to TFG whenever required.

The mboys can then sit in for another year or two to pad their wallets with UN dollars then return home to their wives and girlfriends.
jamplu
#38 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 11:56:41 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
And by the way, the shooting war has only involved our special forces (The Rangers) with the main body of the army following to consolidate gains.

Our Rangers must now rank among the best fighting units in the world.

BTW.

The delay in entering any major centres of human population including Kismayo is a fantastic strategy, we cannot afford to enter kismayo without personnell to do the policing, otherwise you will have body bags from kismayo to Nairobi. We need to go in, smash the Kebabs, hand over the policing to TFG and withdraw to some base outside kismayo to provide tactical support to TFG whenever required.

The mboys can then sit in for another year or two to pad their wallets with UN dollars then return home to their wives and girlfriends.

@Obi 1 Kanobi the 'D' Company 'green beret' know their stuff and have proven they rank high up with the 'big boys'.
#39 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 12:29:50 PM

The SF train alongside the best units in the world, so are also world-class.

KDF is very careful not to kill any civilians juu ya repercussions of internatl law (remember U.S. accusations on the Sabaot Militia?)and risk of a backlash from the wider Somali community if the body count is high.
In fact the number of kebabus malizwad is deliberately kept low coz at the end of the day Kebabus are young, poor, uneducated and indoctrinated Somalis joined by a few radicals from aghan and iraq war theatres. Yaani not very different from our Mungikis, but armed with weaponry and experience.
Its strictly not the kind of force to withstand a conventional army - which makes me wonder how come they defied Ug and Burundi for almost a decade in Mogadishu.

Um Sayala
#40 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2012 1:02:30 PM

Chiizi wrote:
Jump-steady wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:
Chiizi wrote:

Ditto!

1. I have never called KDF professional soldiers, Museveni did.
2.I have never said the army should be building roads and roads and not staying in the barracks - a local politician did!

Many examples to give. It is a perception issue. I know different

@ Chiizi,

1. M7 had hidden agenda in saying KDF are professional soldiers, he wanted the west, read US, to support his trps instead. you dont have to quote him.

2. The so called politicians also know very little about the military. Remember the Current C in C saying that he would sell the Airforce presidential jet, that it was a waste of tax payers money?. that was when he was in opposition. Did he ever sell it upon being prezzo?. NO.

Lesson: There are so many involvements of KDF in your daily life, aid to civil authority they call it, that you'll never know. they dont have to fight to EARN THEIR PAY for once, as u wrongly put it.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown