wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

5 Pages123>»
DINING ETIQUETTE
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 5:36:06 PM

Hi, wazuans.I need help in dining.having grown up in the village and after some struggles i man aged to acquire education and later a job before moving into business.at times i attend dinners in five star hotels where a variety of bland food is served with cutlery,napkins and towels is served.how do you go about it wazuans coz i am used to kosewe where you buy your tasty food wash your hands and enjoy your meal.I also noted some people avoid handshakes,others like a firm handshake and others salute while on their knees.i know wazua is multicultural please advice.
#2 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 5:37:53 PM

BRB.

#3 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 5:45:21 PM

Now this is where education dint help you. Just google about cultures and etiquette and you will be alright
kamundu
#4 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 5:50:27 PM

Id rather be myself. What is wrong if I feed with my hands? Hii ubabi haisaidii
Peace in our Homeland.
#5 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 6:02:57 PM

kamundu wrote:
Id rather be myself. What is wrong if I feed with my hands? Hii ubabi haisaidii

quite true but was at crowne plaza and asked to wash my hands and was given a piece of cloth to wipe my hands.I however have gone to Al Yusra restaurant opposite ICEA and everyone was feeding with the hands without the use of cutlery including one Ahmednassir and Kerrow.
#6 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 6:08:28 PM

Hi, wazuans.I need help in dining.having grown up in the village and after some struggles i man aged to acquire education and later a job before moving into business.at times i attend dinners in five star hotels where a variety of bland food is served with cutlery,napkins and towels is served.how do you go about it wazuans coz i am used to kosewe where you buy your tasty food wash your hands and enjoy your meal.I also noted some people avoid handshakes,others like a firm handshake and others salute while on their knees.i know wazua is multicultural please advice.

While at it find out what folk is used for what meal, what glass takes what wine, how to place knives and folks on your plate and lastly the sequence to consume what's available
#7 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 6:15:42 PM

shortcut

google table etiquette.utaget everything
Here they just eat stocks and use other forms of cutlery.
ralp_mutu
#8 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 6:28:15 PM

While at it find out what folk is used for what meal, what glass takes what wine, how to place knives and folks on your plate and lastly the sequence to consume what's available

Eating classes here
My folks told me that my very first word was 'billionaire'
chiaroscuro
#9 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 6:37:38 PM

It appears you have low self esteem. Deal with that fist and you will never worry about forks and knives again!
slickyoz
#10 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 6:40:36 PM

watch and learn..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Thank God for Google it comes in handy
Those who follow the crowd usually get lost in it
jamplu
#11 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 7:08:42 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

It appears you have low self esteem. Deal with that fist and you will never worry about forks and knives again!

its not about low self esteem. you can have self esteem from here to Timbuktu but its nothing without etiquette.
@mawinder ... the first lesson i got was let whatever is on the left remain on the left and whatever is on the right remain on the right now google the rest or try to get yourself a friend who works in the hotel business to help you out.
#12 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 7:15:34 PM

Now am tempted.
Use cutlery in this order.From outside in.
Cutlery depends on the no.of courses.
The ones that are away,from the plate, are the ones that we have to use first. And then continue with the rest following the same order.
Know what is used to wash hands.
Know the function and what is served.
Understand the crowd.Is it the shaking hands type or?
Napkins sio bibs.Laps.
Be bold and ask ask ask.
etc etc
#13 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 7:46:29 PM

...mawinder being taught how to eat using whatever...Ngai baba!!!
...first things first..you dont go to the dining table to greet people...
...secondly familiarise yourself with the spoon, the knife and the folk which you already know...
...if you cant use the 3 above go it the traditional kosewe way...you will not be the first one believe me...
rock
#14 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 8:10:49 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
...secondly familiarise yourself with the spoon, the knife and the folk which you already know...
...if you cant use the 3 above go it the traditional kosewe way...you will not be the first one believe me...

Ditto.You can also mirror what guys on the table/around you are doing.
ralp_mutu
#15 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 8:30:59 PM

rock wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

Ofcourse with a spoon right?
My folks told me that my very first word was 'billionaire'
#16 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 10:46:04 PM

you know ...kuuliza sio ujinga. In my experience, at one time I wasnt getting why the waiter wasnt taking the plate and other things away. Happens that you are supposed to put the cutlery on the edge facing down ..something like that. Such fussery.
On another occasion, some two dudes at an opposite table were brought two bowls, with water and lemons ...usually used to dip the hands into or something. They looked at the bowls puzzled, perhaps wondering the mode of water delivery. One took the lead, touched the bowl to his lips and drank. The other promptly followed. They even fished out the lemon slices and ate them. I had a hard time trying not to laugh out very loudly.
#17 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2012 11:04:53 PM

The most important thing is know who you are meeting before hand. European etiquette differs with Asian. So if you are to meet some Japanese then learn how to use the chopsticks b4 hand. Others dont shake hands. Others will give u gifts of which you might assume its a bribe yet its their modus operandi. Incase you are in a room, who seats first, how do u start a conversation...etc
Coolbull
#18 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 8:03:18 AM

rock
#19 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 8:18:15 AM

ralp_mutu wrote:
rock wrote:

Ofcourse with a spoon right?

Correct.The big round spoon thats usually right in front of you is there for that purpose but some people prefer to use it to drink the starter soup.
rock
#20 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2012 8:22:00 AM

Oh,and there's no ugali saucer there so if you ask for more you will be charged extra.