wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

May the Force be with you
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 11:41:00 AM

My people,

My blog name and character of 'Obi Wan Kanobi' will be extinguished very soon. I quit my job and will be returning to Kenya soon.

I am taking up a new job which I expect will be demanding. I will remain an occasional peeping Tom,but I am very sure I will not have an opportunity to chat,curse,laugh and rant with you guyz as I have gotten used to. Reason being I will need to put alot of effort in my role for atleast the first 6 months till I learn the ropes.

When I return to the blog,it will probably be as a different character,I don't know may be something like 'New improved Obi Wan Kanobi' he.. he..he....

I can't wait for the Nyamchom's,Tuskers (I have been advised to migrate to whitecap) no showers,blackouts,dust and everything kenyan.

Happy investing.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 11:58:00 AM

Welcome back...East West home is best. Depending on how long you've been away.,prepare for major culture shock,vitu zimebadilika bwana...

The General
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:05:00 PM

@ Obi,

Karibu nyumbani,you shall not regret it.

P.s. Kuja na maji

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:06:00 PM

na usisahau stima

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:07:00 PM

...karibu bwana; ...umeosha choo sana huko....
Jacy26
#6 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:10:00 PM

Welcome home. How about a welcome party by skerians??

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
#7 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:11:00 PM

Welkam back home broda ooohhh!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
The Real Shaft
#8 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:17:00 PM

my bet..

is that this welcoming committee..

is all female...!!!

ain't that peculiar....???

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Ja-Kom
#9 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:59:00 PM

Let the ladiesdo the welcoming,al do the goat eating...when and where is the homecoming bash Oga??

For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners,so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.
Romans 5:19
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Mainat
#10 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 1:06:00 PM

Obi-all the best in your new job na maisha ya Nai. Not sure why you need to stop posting on SK though...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#11 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 1:11:00 PM

Thanks all,

Was in Kenya in Dec 08 so I do not expect too much culture shock,if you guys want to do a mbuzi for me,great will not mind,I have missed mbuzi.

@Mainat,The reason I want to stop posting is that when I make a post,I tend to check it for replies all day and follow the conversation,eventually chews up lots of valuable time which I suspect I will not be having.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
#12 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 1:12:00 PM

@Obi wan,

Karibu nyumbani....

I doubt you will resist throwing a post once in a while.....BTW,why don't you retain your alias?.

Old man about town....
#13 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 2:39:00 PM

@Obi
Welcome back!! Life here is very tough this days...but you'll make it through,somehow..
And utuletee(us ladies) vitu mzuri mzuri kutoka huko..you know? ka-perfume hivi..tu-jeans tuzuri..hehee. Karibu sana!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#14 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 2:50:00 PM

Ha ha ha haaaaaaaa...chota maji kwa company loo!!!Try that kwa mhindi company and see the gate.

About perfume and ladies?Just pop at Eastleigh and get them the ones sold by warias;cheap,powerful and last loooooooooooooooooooong.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 4:25:00 PM

Welcome back Obi. But make sure you take some time off to rest before you start your new job. All those years washing dishes and the elderly those sides must be very tiring.

Remember,while driving in Nairobi,there are only five kinds of characters to be suspicious of - The one driving behind you,the one driving infront of you,the one driving besides you,the one who's car is not moving and the one on foot! JIENJOY!!!
Mainat
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 8:05:00 PM

Obi-from the description of your job,it sounds like you are taking over from Muthaura-the first man in Kenya's history to be taken sick from overwork. Lakini you don't shrub in the right places so I assume its another job. Who is it with out of curiosity? I am guessing its in the finance sector.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 4:58:00 AM

@ Obi - I forgot to mention one thing. If you ever get robbed in Nairobi and go to a police station to report only to realize the cops serving you are the same guys who robbed you,pretend you've never seen them! Otherwise you might just get shot for breathing suspiciously after a 'tip off from the members of public'.
Sasha
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 7:08:00 AM

Welcome back Obi wan! And like Mainat says, seem you will join the finance consulting sector! Karibu, dhings are dhick but utamek ukitry hard!

PS: The one who told you to migrate to WhiteCap is very bright! Heed his/her advice!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 7:24:00 AM

@Ob1 Karibu sana… but am not sure white cap is the right choice,I hear it makes you 'flat'…. My advise take GK Kubwa…

Forgive your enemies but never forget their names…
#20 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 6:15:00 AM

@ ZZE123 - Now if Obi or anyone else doesn't want GK Kubwa,where can he/she get GK Ndogo?