wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Pay and ride motor insurance scheme.
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 1:15:34 PM

Pros and scones???
As in premium is based on mileage logged and not a flat rate as currently constituted.

#2 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 4:59:43 PM

Pros and scones???
As in premium is based on mileage logged and not a flat rate as currently constituted.

Majamaa watanyonga the speedometer kibao smile
hindi ni riu
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 5:58:49 PM

Pros and scones???

No cons. Many Pros. You can save upto 40% on your motor insurance. Gateway Insurance has introduced the Pay As You Drive scheme (PAYD).Depending on the value of your car, the savings could be massive.

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
hindi ni riu
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 6:02:12 PM

Robinhood wrote:
Pros and scones???

@Robinhood...The distance traveled is not based on your odometer. A device is fitted in your car that calculates the distance traveled. The device doesn't interfere with your car in any way.

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
alustaadh
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 6:26:14 PM

post some figures here. who is offering this product?
It is humiliating to be associated with thieves and murderers.
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 6:38:03 PM

hii hapana mbaya!!
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 7:28:57 PM

hindi ni riu wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
Pros and scones???

@Robinhood...The distance traveled is not based on your odometer. A device is fitted in your car that calculates the distance traveled. The device doesn't interfere with your car in any way.

@Hindi, thanks for the clarification. It may make sense then
hindi ni riu
#8 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2012 9:50:37 AM

alustaadh wrote:

@alustaadh If your car is worth say, 1.5M and you drive about 6000km per year, you get comprehensive insurance for as little as KES48000/- as opposed to paying KES112000/- (on 7.5%)representing some savings of KES64000/-!! ...and even more savings in the subsequent years! How about that!

tuvok
#9 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2012 10:32:00 AM

hindi ni riu wrote:
alustaadh wrote:

@alustaadh If your car is worth say, 1.5M and you drive about 6000km per year, you get comprehensive insurance for as little as KES48000/- as opposed to paying KES112000/- (on 7.5%)representing some savings of KES64000/-!! ...and even more savings in the subsequent years! How about that!

6000km a year - that's 500km monthly or 17km daily. If your commute is just 17km daily maybe it would work for you (and I dare say that 1.5m would be a waste of money...)
Weekend driving ... can find you 200km away, already > 6% of your annual mileage...
Of course 6000km might also mean having multiple cars....

Many people do much more than 6000km annually. At least double that actually.

So 12000km annually (or 1000km) - 93,950/- - for the '13000km plan'
Still reasonable if you are paying a 7.5% premium.

Now some don't pay 7.5%, closer to 4% (e.g I have not done any claims for >4 years)....

This would only make sense if your other alternative is 7.5%. But if you've been accident free a while.. the discounted percentages work better.

It is still good that insurance companies are getting creative in their offerings.

I would think now they need to start including other factors like age, gender in their calculation of insurance premiums. I'm sure their actuaries have some stats that would be useful.
hindi ni riu
#10 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2012 1:40:02 PM

tuvok wrote:
hindi ni riu wrote:
alustaadh wrote:

6000km a year - that's 500km monthly or 17km daily. If your commute is just 17km daily maybe it would work for you (and I dare say that 1.5m would be a waste of money...)
Weekend driving ... can find you 200km away, already > 6% of your annual mileage...
Of course 6000km might also mean having multiple cars....

Many people do much more than 6000km annually. At least double that actually.

So 12000km annually (or 1000km) - 93,950/- - for the '13000km plan'
Still reasonable if you are paying a 7.5% premium.

Now some don't pay 7.5%, closer to 4% (e.g I have not done any claims for >4 years)....

This would only make sense if your other alternative is 7.5%. But if you've been accident free a while.. the discounted percentages work better.

It is still good that insurance companies are getting creative in their offerings.

I would think now they need to start including other factors like age, gender in their calculation of insurance premiums. I'm sure their actuaries have some stats that would be useful.

@tuvok Certainly, the more you drive, the higher you will pay, but you will end up making savings in the short-term and in the long term as well. In your example, if you get it at 4%, you pay KES60000. If you do 12000KMs, under PAYD you would pay round about KES87000 for the first year, and much less in your second year.

Remember, you don't need to have 60000/- at the expiry of your cover. You can buy a minimum bundle of 5000KM and top up (via MPESA, Airtel Money, Yu Cash or Orange Money) as you drive. That's also the huge convenience that this product offers.

As you mentioned, the product is also extremely useful for people with more than one car and hence cover little distances on all or some of the cars. The savings here are major.

Layman
#11 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2012 2:09:21 PM

Gateway.....mhhhhh I would be reluctant to insure my vehicle there!
hindi ni riu
#12 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2012 4:34:45 PM

Layman wrote:
Gateway.....mhhhhh I would be reluctant to insure my vehicle there!

Why? Share your experience.

#13 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2012 5:05:14 PM

Pros and scones???

How do they factor in theft if the premium is mileage based?
#14 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2012 8:13:57 PM

Elder wrote:
Pros and scones???

Kuna tuswala tunyeti about this thing.
Like where will you get the sticker from if say you buy some bundle mileage in a remote place like londokwe?How police tell that your toyee is insured?

hindi ni riu
#15 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 2:22:54 PM

Elder wrote:
Pros and scones???

Kuna tuswala tunyeti about this thing.
Like where will you get the sticker from if say you buy some bundle mileage in a remote place like londokwe?How police tell that your toyee is insured?

@Impunity....the sticker is issued at the beginning of the year. Works pretty well and is convenient for you. If you would be interested in finding out how it works and how much you would be saving, you can holla me at infomail (at) qualityservice (dot) com

Some of the major highlights of the products are:
-You pay for only the kilometers you drive (convenient for people who do not drive much, and people who own more than one car (hence low mileages covered)
-You do not need to have a huge amount at the beginning of your insurance period to pay for comprehensive insurance. You can buy a bundle that is convenient for you and top up as you go.
-Since you are a good driver, you will enjoy extra mileage in the next period, meaning you spend even less on your premiums
-Institutions that have minimal mileage on their cars but are still required to pay huge amounts on insurance.
-Other benefits that come along with the cover.

chiaroscuro
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 12:17:57 PM

Good product; poor marketing.

The website www.payasyoudrive.co.ke is not working!

And this morning, these guys sent me an email telling to to visit the site for more information!

At this rate, they are going nowhere...just like Kencell/Celtell/Zain/Airtel
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2012 3:39:46 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Good product; poor marketing.

The website www.payasyoudrive.co.ke is not working!

And this morning, these guys sent me an email telling to to visit the site for more information!

At this rate, they are going nowhere...just like Kencell/Celtell/Zain/Airtel/Bharti

#18 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 10:13:00 AM

I have just requested a quote for an sh800k car doing 8,000km per year.

The premium came to sh39k plus sh10k for "Mileage Manager". Total is sh49k

Now I insured the same car with Jubilee last month as a new customer - the car is new. They charged me sh32k and there is no limit on mileage!

So the question remains: Is this pay-as-you-drive really worth it?
jimmy1
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 10:58:46 AM

mukiha wrote:
Now I insured the same car with Jubilee last month as a new customer - the car is new. They charged me sh32k and there is no limit on mileage!

what value did you insure the car at jubilee?
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 11:09:14 AM

jimmy1 wrote:
mukiha wrote:

what value did you insure the car at jubilee?

Same - 800k

They offer comprehensive cover at 4%