wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

3 Pages<123
South Africa police massacre!!!
#41 Posted : Sunday, August 19, 2012 4:55:48 PM

this happened in a remote area, the armed crowed posed no danger to the public, there was nothing to destroy in the vicinity.

in such a case why send police to such an area when you know the hostilities that exist, considering some cops had been killed in the area. having police pointing guns at such a crowd is an invitation to violence.

??? Ati posed no danger? Did I not see those baboons CHARGING at policemen?? That is no danger to YOU?? That act alone rendered them dangerous. And they got what they deserved. You dont charge at me when I'm armed or otherwise..
#42 Posted : Sunday, August 19, 2012 5:27:38 PM

Nakujua belongs to the haki yetu club that says that you can run riot simply because they have a right to demonstrate.

I belong to the group that you have a right to demonstrate but peacefully without being verbose please.

If you are carrying a machete on your person in a public place, you should be shot. If you are more than 1 person walking with a panga you should be shot.

Now if you are a group of people numbering more than 10 shouting haki yetu and carrying pangas, sticks, rungus and breathing, you need to be cut down to pieces.

#43 Posted : Sunday, August 19, 2012 6:45:52 PM

Consensus is building in wazua that it was OK for SA police to shoot the armed protesters. We should apply the same rule to Kenyan protests in 2007/08 chaos. Unlike what some fellows want us to believe, not all those who were felled by police bullets were innocent. Same story, different countries. See how easy it is to arrive at a consensus when there is no ODM, PNU, RAO or UK involved!
#44 Posted : Sunday, August 19, 2012 7:30:10 PM

I still hold in a civil society that sort of violence is uncalled for - the police knew very well the environment they were getting in, 2 of their colleagues had been killed somewhere in the area before, instead they came well armed for that specific scenario.

I don't have all the facts, but from the video the area seems remote with no danger whatsoever to the public or any property - in fact the demonstration had been going on for some time, and the impression I get is that the police came with the sole aim to revenge the killing of their comrades.

its ridiculous that an advanced police force like the south african one can not handle a group of around 50 men armed with pangas who have been demonstrating for more than a week in a certain area - and they resort to sending a firing squad to get rid the problem.
#45 Posted : Sunday, August 19, 2012 8:04:18 PM

@nakujua this is what I read.
There were two police lines.The first line were armed with rubber bullets but retreated when the miners kept advancing.
The second second line were caught unawares.
Vulnerable and exposed, they had to act fast to protect themselves.
The only way was to shoot live bullets. Scary but if I were a miner I would not be on the front line.Shout and make noise from behind.

South Africa's firebrand youth leader, Julius Malema, has called for President Jacob Zuma to resign over the of "massacre" of 34 striking workers near a British-owned platinum mine last week

Ululating women welcomed Mr Malema with traditional ANC songs and a few were holding placards. One read: "R500 for killing police from Musina to Cape Town" A woman explained that her placard meant that anyone who could kill police officers from South Africa's northern boundary to its southern tip would receive a reward of about £50.

haiya.see how things can escalate into unimaginable proportions?
#46 Posted : Sunday, August 19, 2012 8:30:39 PM

magigi get serious. did u see where those miners live? i don't even think they know what BBA is.

...On a light note bro...

sawa Laughing out loudly
#47 Posted : Sunday, August 19, 2012 10:03:31 PM

From ConstitutionallySpeaking:

One might view the events through the eyes of a fearful, middle class, law and order, union basher and conclude that this was all the fault of the miners, who were armed with pangas and knives and threatened the lives of the Police Officers. On my Twitter timeline some people even suggested outrageously that the miners deserved to die and that they were taught a good lesson.

In my opinion this view is entirely without merit. First, it prejudges the issue. At this point we simply do not know for certain if the miners were indeed threatening the lives of the Police Officers when they were killed and if so, how serious this threat was. The eNCA report below suggests that the miners who were killed might have been fleeing from tear gas when they were gunned down.

But, second, even if this is not correct, the members of Police would seldom be legally entitled by either the common law or by section 49 of the Criminal Procedure Act to shoot indiscriminately into a crowd with their automatic weapons. As the Constitutional Court reminded us in the case of Ex Parte Minister of Safety and Security and Others v Walters: “[g]reater restriction on the use of lethal force may be one of the consequences of the establishment of a constitutional State which respects every person’s right to life”.

Police Officers are entitled to defend themselves and even to shoot and kill criminal suspects if they directly threaten the lives of anyone. However, a Police Officer may not shoot at anyone unless he or she believes and have reasonable grounds for believing that the suspects poses an immediate threat of serious bodily harm to anyone. Even then, as the Court stated in Walters, where force is necessary, only the least degree of force reasonably necessary to carry out the arrest or protect the lives of others may be used. The force used must be proportional to the threat posed.

In this case two questions will arise, namely: (i) was it reasonable for the Police to believe that their lives were in imminent danger and that they would be killed or seriously injured if they did not open fire; and (ii) did they use the minimum degree of force necessary to ward of the perceived threat. I would be surprised if a court were to find that the seemingly indiscriminate firing of automatic weapons into a crowd (who apparently was not armed with heavy weapons) by supposedly well trained Police Officers would ever constitute the minimum force necessary to ward of a perceived threat.

The situation would be different if the Police Officers had come under consistent fire from semi-automatic or automatic weapons from the crowd in which case they would have been entitled to use all reasonable force to defend themselves. Given that the crowd was not armed with heavy weapons, and given that 36 people were left dead by Police fire, I cannot see how one could say that the force used was reasonable or how it was proportionate to any danger posed by the miners.

#48 Posted : Monday, August 20, 2012 4:24:53 AM

It remains unclear what sparked the miners’ fatal charge at police. Mnisi, the police ministry spokesman, claimed the miners shot at police as well, using one of the weapons they stole from two policemen whom they beat to death on Monday.
“We had a situation where people who were armed to the teeth, attack and killed others—even police officers,” the spokesman said in a statement Thursday night. “What should police do in such situations when clearly what they are face with are armed and hardcore criminalswho murder police?”
#49 Posted : Monday, August 20, 2012 4:26:38 AM

“They can beat us, kill us and kick and trample on us with their feet, do whatever they want to do, we aren’t going to go back to work,” he told The Associated Press. “If they employ other people they won’t be able to work either, we will stay here and kill them.”
Anyone still defending these apes?? Die baby die. If they are ready to kill, then I suppose they are also ready to die. Laughing out loudly
#50 Posted : Monday, August 20, 2012 9:04:04 AM

...Die baby die...Laughing out loudly

sasa hii ni nini jameni??
#51 Posted : Monday, August 20, 2012 10:39:27 AM

A murderer deserves to die @ gizzard.
alikujia
#52 Posted : Monday, August 20, 2012 6:18:03 PM

are those the same police who were laughing last time some xenophobic victim were being set ablaze? methink both sides have big issues to soul-search.
#53 Posted : Monday, August 20, 2012 6:22:19 PM

they better have dialogue and resolve these matters. At the end of the day there will be no winners.
Tokyo
#54 Posted : Tuesday, August 21, 2012 4:38:47 AM

they better have dialogue and resolve these matters. At the end of the day there will be no winners.

That will be very hard bearing in mind the 2 union squabbles as the main cause of fatal confrontation . Karibu Africa.
work to prosper
Sigiriri
#55 Posted : Tuesday, August 21, 2012 10:31:49 AM

maligumu wrote:
Im currently in Pretoria SA and get it from me this Country is not as we think from outside. Police here are tough and firm .

Tough and firm indeed! this doesn't justify shooting to kill. Would the masses have approached if they had fired in the air? It's pure idiocy on the part of the 'tough and firm' police.

Let's wait to see if the urezo will lift his head from his usual 'licking salt....' activity and take action!