wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

17 Pages«<1112131415>»
EPL Summer Transfers
#241 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 2:40:55 PM

kangi wrote:
This is the best deal Wenger has had in decades. He has conned Man U outright. Was SAF in his right senses 24m surely. Anyway time will tell.

I think his best deal was the sale of Anelka to Real Madrid. The deal has been sweetened by to whom the pain has been passed to (when SAF is the victim). But my worry is when Rooney and RVP click and decide to synchronize their playing style.

In Wenger we trust.

I doubt it. Both like playing in the same space - the false number 9.
#242 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 3:32:58 PM

qooler wrote:
Marty wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
With 2 weeks to go till the end of the window, Gunners everywhere will be casting nervous glances at The Emirates hoping that we are not bullied into selling Alex Song by Barcelona and that Walcott signs a new deal

If Song, moves I think a replacement signing will be made. I don't think RVP will be replaced with a same-level-quality signing (If at all a new striker will be signed). Giroud and Podolski were the replacements. A new striker will be a backup. Of course we still have Chamakh and Park who are surplus to requirements

Reports are that Song has of late got serious attitude problems and Wenger is fed up, so he's been told he can leave.

BBC also reported that RVP was quite impressed by the new signings and was contemplating staying but Wenger told him on Sunday that he is no longer part of his plans. I guess Wenger got fed up upon RVP releasing a damning statement regarding the club. That Man Wenger seems unforgiving when u cross his path.

After his medical, expected to make his return after 12months. Someone has been conned 24m

Kwani medical does not involve knee check-up?
Edyj
#243 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 5:27:27 PM

I have never understood Arsenal Trasnfer policy especially in the last 7 years. Why groom player to their peek and sell them and start looking for raw talent. I think Arsenal is the club which has the least respect for its fans. I also understand that they have the highest ticket prices in EPL.

Why sell your best player to your biggest rival? the directors and Wenger are more concerned about profits than whether the fans ( Who make the club what it is) get value for money..... My take
"The trouble with not having a goal is that you can spend your life running up and down the field and never score". - Bill Copeland

#244 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 5:35:47 PM

Nowadays SAF must be high on those gums he has been chewing. How now buy Van pussy @ 24m at 29/30 yaers Sad
#245 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 5:41:18 PM

Nowadays SAF must be high on those gums he has been chewing. How now buy Van pussy @ 24m at 29/30 yaers Sad

No club has spoken about the price. Where did the press get this value from? Or they want to repeat it till one of the club confirms the actual price?
#246 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 6:32:14 PM

No club has spoken about the price. Where did the press get this value from? Or they want to repeat it till one of the club confirms the actual price?

Arsenal never disclose the price in any of their transfers but the figure always comes out from a different source which turns out to be true....i don't think Man Utd would be to eager to disclose the figure as well. This whole story on Man Utd interest in RVP first come from the press then the clubs confirmed it. I believe most of these stories are released by the agents and friends or family members.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19179833

Btw its also interesting to note that Arsenal never really offered RVP an improved contract, maybe Wenger wanted him gone!

"It is understood Van Persie was encouraged by the arrivals of Germany forward Lukas Podolski, France striker Olivier Giroud and Spain midfielder Cazorla - to the point where he was open to the idea of staying with or without a new contract.

But Wenger pulled him aside shortly before Sunday's friendly victory over Cologne, told him he would be sold if a deal could be reached and informed the Dutchman he was no longer part of his plans."
#247 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 8:14:34 PM

Rooney and RVP clicks and opponents will be in big trouble!!!
#248 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 8:42:34 PM

Tell dem @McDoba! Dis-a-babylon people dem waiting for de man to fail but dem gonna be suprised when Ras Van helps de great team win de treble and scores de goal dat sends dem [asenani?] to de fifth position when de season comes to da end!
#249 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 9:21:50 PM

Kind of like Drogba and Torres right!
#250 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2012 10:40:02 PM

Kind of like Drogba and Torres right!

Muogope sana:
Only Wayne Rooney (82) has more goals + assists in the last 3 Premier League seasons than Robin van Persie (80)

We know what RVP can do in an ordinary team, we can only imagine what he can achieve surrounded by champions!!!!!
#251 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 6:47:23 AM

@Mc Doba

Henry, Adebayor, Nasri were all top scorers at Arsenal but couldn't repeat the same elsewhere......its the Wenger curse! Le Prof gears his teams around certain players. Don't forget RVP played second fiddle to Adebayor just a few seasons ago.
ralp_mutu
#252 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 9:54:50 AM

NUMBERS DON'T LIE.

In 2011/2012 season Arsenal scored 74
PL goals RvP(30). Assists were 56 RvP (9)

Now lets do the maths (keep in mind we benefited from 1og).

(a)No. of goals assisted by other Players other than RvP.
56-9=47

(b)No. of unassisted goals.
74-56=18
18-1(Og)=17

Now subtract (a)-(b)=30

30=to the no. of assist provided by Arsenal players -RvP.

30 is the no. of goals scored by RvP.

We can see clearly someone was spoon feed.

CONCLUSION
Wenger Knows Best.. Its about team work
My folks told me that my very first word was 'billionaire'
#253 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 10:58:41 AM

Since 2005, Arsenal have lost four captains. To lose one leader is unfortunate, to lose four seems like carelessness and perhaps it’s no coincidence that in those seven years the Gunners have remained trophyless.

Clubs are weakened by departures all the time but to sell on your skipper is to lose your very direction and worse yet from Patrick Vieira to Thierry Henry to Cesc Fabregas all that have donned the armband at the Emirates have gone on to win trophies elsewhere.

This perhaps proves they were correct to leave Arsenal and bodes well for their latest ship-jumper Van Persie.

When Vieira left the Gunners for Juventus in 2005, he won the Scudetto with the old lady at the first time of asking before he was given to Inter where he won another 4 titles with them. Their next captain, Thierry Henry, was sold to Barcelona in 2007 where he won two La Liga titles in a row. Later when young captain Cesc Fabregas was also sold for Barcelona, he won the Copa Del Rey in the same season. And now, Arsenal have reluctantly sold their top scorer, best player and captain Robin Van Persie to rivals Manchester United. Perhaps Van Persie sought encouragement from this because there is certainly a pattern emerging where departing captains always seem to have the last laugh.
#254 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 11:42:51 AM

@ King G.......I really don't get your point both Viera and Henry won several trophies at Arsenal, their time was up at the club. Hata Ronaldo and Beckham have won trophies elsewhere.

I believe Wenger handed Cesc and RVP the captain's armband to convince them to stay obviously didn't work out in both cases. That is why i'm so pleased we finally have a captain who deserves the armband and has a long term contract.
#255 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 11:48:24 AM

McReggae,

Spot on. You can say that agaiana and again. I love this team in Red.
#256 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 12:07:56 PM

Well it seems i was wrong, Song is on his way out after all, just hope we get both Sahin and M'Villa

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19293825
#257 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 5:21:55 PM

Thomas Vermaelen has been confirmed as Arsenal captain. Applause Applause Applause
#258 Posted : Friday, August 17, 2012 6:58:30 PM

tomas deserves it, kabisa
#259 Posted : Saturday, August 18, 2012 11:08:00 AM

Next to leave will either be Chamberlain or TV5.
#260 Posted : Saturday, August 18, 2012 1:05:39 PM

It was said downpayment is 15m pounds rising to 24m pounds based on performances, etc.