Hillary Clinton and the possible end of the road for Ruto, Uhuru
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Soooo ..., from newspaper reports Hillary Clinton has thrown down an ultimatum. Uhuru and Ruto cannot run for Presidency otherwise things like sanctions will be imposed on our beloved republic. Is it truly the end of the road for these two? Will they call bluff? Will Kibaki bow to the pressure and set in motion things to ensure they don't run? What are the possible scenarios? Discuss.
Flogging a dead horse! Dunia ni msongamano..
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Messi atashinda pambaa. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Wako na plan B. Mesiii vs Pambaaaa Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rubbish Hillary. I don't support either of them but can she keep her nose out of our domestic affairs? Don't they have their own elections to worry about. Is that what brought her here? cz Big Brother ended in SA. US is not even a member of ICC even though they fund it, yet they are guilty of crimes touching on humanity. This is how they begin to destabilise African Nations,before they come in to 'bring peace' and impose their own puppet leader whose main goal would be to kick out competition from the East. I just hate it when they use African countries as battlegrounds to prove their might and seek revenge. Watuachane. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:Rubbish Hillary. I don't support either of them but can she keep her nose out of our domestic affairs? Don't they have their own elections to worry about. Is that what brought her here? cz Big Brother ended in SA. US is not even a member of ICC even though they fund it, yet they are guilty of crimes touching on humanity. This is how they begin to destabilise African Nations,before they come in to 'bring peace' and impose their own puppet leader whose main goal would be to kick out competition from the East. I just hate it when they use African countries as battlegrounds to prove their might and seek revenge.
Watuachane.
Ditto Side dish: I thought you never comment on matters politiko? “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
^^^^^^@a4architect likes this.. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
essyk wrote:Rubbish Hillary. I don't support either of them but can she keep her nose out of our domestic affairs? Don't they have their own elections to worry about. Is that what brought her here? cz Big Brother ended in SA. US is not even a member of ICC even though they fund it, yet they are guilty of crimes touching on humanity. This is how they begin to destabilise African Nations,before they come in to 'bring peace' and impose their own puppet leader whose main goal would be to kick out competition from the East. I just hate it when they use African countries as battlegrounds to prove their might and seek revenge.
Watuachane.
There is no 'us' without 'them'. So far, I think this idea of us versus them has been the clutch straw of many, Uhuru and Ruto included, but we need to do more regarding this matter. So far, the game is much like @seppuku offering a prayer and later wondering whether it will work.
@kratos Kuna vile I get stirred when some people start nosing. Quote:There is no 'us' without 'them'. Africa will never learn.We must have suffered serious brain damage as a result of colonisation because inferiority kills us. There is a subtle re-colonisation taking place and a scramble for Africa's resources. The westerners fight economic wars but carry practicals on African soils. Stand to resist and NATO will be on ur doorstep.Next it will be ICC. My small cents is this.Americans yes them,will go to any extent to establish their authority even if it includes siding with rebels,equipping them and using them to get rid of an uncompromising leader.They will make it very difficult for you to govern but they will pretend to be peacemakers.Nkt! I am 100% convinced they have their chosen kenyan puppet already. that's just my opinion. Infact they will never leave us in peace,because we sold ourselves through grants and Aids. They have every right to mess with us. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
he who pays the piper calls the tune. as far as i know US has paid~in dollars, FYI!!! LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
It is crystal clear that Madam Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has specifically 'requested' that Neither Mr. Kenyatta nor Mr. Ruto should be on the ballot box in March. “The US Secretary of State has told the government that Mr Kenyatta and I are not supposed to run. She has also hinted that America will impose sanctions on us if we participate in the polls and win. This is dictatorship,” said Mr. Ruto.
“It is not for foreigners nor for the courts to decide who should vie for the presidency, it is up to the over 40 million Kenyans,” said Mr. Kenyatta.
The questions that an investor [both Local and International] need to ask;
1. Will either be on the ballot?
2. Do either have a chance of winning?
3. What will be the consequences and the blowback?
4. Is the national interest something higher than the candidacy of either?
The question of sovereignty is actually a red herring. If you are popping a lot of qualudes then maybe, you believe we are entirely sovereign. The world is all about the power equation and I am afraid we are a tiny little tadpole swimming with the sharks. The consequences of going toe to toe with the US, is to be seen in the end of Colonel Muammar Gaddafi. And that end flashed around the world on Twitter, YouTube and the mobile phone. Today, the US has pointed an enormous amount of hard power at its other nemesis Ayatollah Khamenei.
Iran is cut off from SWIFT, they can only trade by barter. Iran has over $100b in reserves. We have between 1%-2% of that. The US does not countenance peer competitors. Any student of Geopolitics can tell you that. Are we even a peer competitor? If you look back over the last century of American power, you will notice that its been all about access to hydrocarbons.
I have mentioned for a while that I believe the last energy prize in this c21st of ours, is right here on the Eastern seaboard of Africa. The resource runs from Maputo through Mogadishu and all points in between. Apache Corp announced Friday that they are going to start to drilling off shore; "Spudding is imminent," Barry Rushworth, CEO of Pancontinental Oil and Gas, one of Apache's partners with a stake in the block, said in an email to Reuters.
The United States is not going to walk away and China might have bucketloads of cash but they do not have the hard power to protect our backs. In fact, the US has begun to encircle China. The consequences of being sanctioned by the United States are simply unconcionable. The economy will crater. There are 100 JSOC soldiers looking for Joseph Kony but that mission can be amended with a stroke of a pen.
MONDAY, 13 AUGUST 2012 00:05 BY ALY KHAN SATCHU (The STAR)
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
essyk wrote:@kratos Kuna vile I get stirred when some people start nosing. Quote:There is no 'us' without 'them'. Africa will never learn.We must have suffered serious brain damage as a result of colonisation because inferiority kills us. There is a subtle re-colonisation taking place and a scramble for Africa's resources. The westerners fight economic wars but carry practicals on African soils. Stand to resist and NATO will be on ur doorstep.Next it will be ICC. My small cents is this.Americans yes them,will go to any extent to establish their authority even if it includes siding with rebels,equipping them and using them to get rid of an uncompromising leader.They will make it very difficult for you to govern but they will pretend to be peacemakers.Nkt! I am 100% convinced they have their chosen kenyan puppet already. that's just my opinion. Infact they will never leave us in peace,because we sold ourselves through grants and Aids. They have every right to mess with us. We are our own worst enemies; The wazungus are just exploiting the opportunity because we have our heads so deep up our own a**es. There are 2 types of people, who precede the other types of people; The haves and the have-nots. Rich dudes behave the same the world over; in dirt poor 3rd world countries as well as developed countries. They protect each other and throw each other deals. We are silly cause we can't see beyond tribe and eating and keep sending very bent individuals back to parliament. We are incapable of electing people based on policy, strategic thinking and integrity. That is our disease. Perhaps the threat of sanctions is the motivation we need to stop mucking around because who are we kidding, left to our own devices, they will run. However it turns out, I hope these 2 are not on the ballot paper.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Jamani wrote:
The questions that an investor [both Local and International] need to ask;
1. Will either be on the ballot?
2. Do either have a chance of winning?
3. What will be the consequences and the blowback?
4. Is the national interest something higher than the candidacy of either?
MONDAY, 13 AUGUST 2012 00:05 BY ALY KHAN SATCHU (The STAR)
I'd say that the all important questions are 'What is happening? And from what perspective am I looking at this matter? Is there such a thing like 'National interest' and who determines what this interest is? Would one say that there exists a special class of people known as 'investors'? What is their political role? Thinking about it, is it possible for the group of 'investors' to come up with a win-win solution for all players?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
Impunity wrote:Messi atashinda pambaa. someone unpeel. Sinyiti. Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
Rank: Member Joined: 11/8/2011 Posts: 482 Location: Nairobi
quicksand wrote:essyk wrote:@kratos Kuna vile I get stirred when some people start nosing. Quote:There is no 'us' without 'them'. Africa will never learn.We must have suffered serious brain damage as a result of colonisation because inferiority kills us. There is a subtle re-colonisation taking place and a scramble for Africa's resources. The westerners fight economic wars but carry practicals on African soils. Stand to resist and NATO will be on ur doorstep.Next it will be ICC. My small cents is this.Americans yes them,will go to any extent to establish their authority even if it includes siding with rebels,equipping them and using them to get rid of an uncompromising leader.They will make it very difficult for you to govern but they will pretend to be peacemakers.Nkt! I am 100% convinced they have their chosen kenyan puppet already. that's just my opinion. Infact they will never leave us in peace,because we sold ourselves through grants and Aids. They have every right to mess with us. We are our own worst enemies; The wazungus are just exploiting the opportunity because we have our heads so deep up our own a**es. There are 2 types of people, who precede the other types of people; The haves and the have-nots. Rich dudes behave the same the world over; in dirt poor 3rd world countries as well as developed countries. They protect each other and throw each other deals. We are silly cause we can't see beyond tribe and eating and keep sending very bent individuals back to parliament. We are incapable of electing people based on policy, strategic thinking and integrity. That is our disease. Perhaps the threat of sanctions is the motivation we need to stop mucking around because who are we kidding, left to our own devices, they will run. However it turns out, I hope these 2 are not on the ballot paper. In Africa we fight amongst ourselves, equipped with Gum Boots and crude weapons, killing each other,without knowing the reason why, whilst the War Lords,dine in huge mansions, far away from the war zones. We boast of being 'sovereign', yet more than 50 years of the so called 'independence', we cannot even meet the very basics of our people. Enough said.
Sasa hii ni nini? The US lectures even mighty China. Who are we in the grand geopolitical scheme of things? Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Robinhood wrote:Sasa hii ni nini? The US lectures even mighty China. Who are we in the grand geopolitical scheme of things? We are a selfish,shortsighted,greedy,corrupt and annoying creatures with Masters abroad. We love dancing Azonto for them when they come calling.Infact business comes to a standstill because they bring us lollypops and icecream. We want to rule ourselves? well let us first pay debts owed to our Masters. Only then can we have full say and control.But in the meantime,this is my view of Africa.  The sad reality is that,everytime a leader tries to fight for his people,his fellow countrymen betray and sacrifice his soul to the masters. Tuzoee tu.That's the life. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
I shall reiterate my stand. Uhuru's and Ruto's candidature remains immoral n untenable. It borders on arrogance and impunity, riding on our PRIMITIVE political comprehension and tribalism. Why would anyone throw away his vote to these men to appease them, then suffer terrible consequences from the stupid mzungu?? I will only vote with strict selfishness. Show me what I get in return n my vote is yours. My vote is not a massage pad to sooth some swollen ego. Wake up bloody kenyans. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
The only sad thing is that we have to choose from a select field of recycled candidates. They are like chewing gum that lost it's flavour. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
simonkabz wrote:I shall reiterate my stand. Uhuru's and Ruto's candidature remains immoral n untenable. It borders on arrogance and impunity, riding on our PRIMITIVE political comprehension and tribalism. Why would anyone throw away his vote to these men to appease them, then suffer terrible consequences from the stupid mzungu?? I will only vote with strict selfishness. Show me what I get in return n my vote is yours. My vote is not a massage pad to sooth some swollen ego. Wake up bloody kenyans.  innocent till proven guilty. or has the law changed. letsnot be quick to dance azonto! I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Hillary Clinton and the possible end of the road for Ruto, Uhuru