Sports
Patrick Makau left out of olympics marathon team
kyt wrote:we r here arguing abt whether makau shld be included in the marathon. does he give a hoot? REALLY? does he? of course he does, there is just too much money that comes with being the olympic champion... through commercial endorsement and appearance fees..when makau was left out, he said he was shocked and had dropped out of london intentionally to preserve his energy for the olympics. I can believe him, he looked very strong for the 16 kms he ran in london, even going past the pacemakers and at times asking them to pace the race up... Don’t cry over spilled milk…it could have been beer!
Kusadikika wrote:ballistic wrote:It is unbelievable that someone here tries to underplay makau as the world record holder which is more prestigious than being the fastest marathon title held my Geoffrey mutai (no cash to the title). If makau would have run boston with Geoffrey and Mosop, he would have beaten them hands down, he has down so several times in Berlin and Rotterdam (2010).It is just plain Athletics Kenya corruption, stupidity and favouritism. Even international media are wondering whats wrong with Kenyans for example what the hell is Mosop doing in the list? Nobody is trying to underplay Makau's achievement as a world class marathon runner. He is the world record holder and his profile of victories is respectable and enviable. The point is there are no "Ifs" in athletics or any other sport so we do not know that IF Makau had ran Boston he would have beaten Mutai or Mosop. He did not run Boston. Mosop is in the team because he has a personal best of 2:03.06 marathon time against Makau's 2:03.38. How have the two performed in the last one year: Makau 25 September 2011- 2:03: 38 - Winner Berlin marathon. World Record 5 February 2012 - 1:02: 40 - - 2nd position Granollers half marathon April 2012: London marathon failed to finish. Now let us look at Mosop: 3 June 2011: 1:12:25 (25k) 1:26:47 (30k)- Prefontaine classic. World records in the two distances. 9 October 2011 : 2:05:37 - Winner Chicago marathon. Course record 15 April 2012: 2:05:03 - 2nd in Rotterdam marathon. So although Makau is the world record holder Mosop has run a faster marathon than him and has shown greater consistency in the last one year. The Olympic marathon is not run at anywhere near world record times so current form and consistency have a greater weight than personal best times. I rest my case. Everyone is entitled to their own view, but I think it is a goof by Athletics Kenya..wasn't Mosop beaten by a big margin by two Ethiopian novices earlier this month in Rotterdam? Didn't Kirui finish a disappointing 6th in London two weeks ago, almost the same course he will run in August? So where is the wisdom of including these two? In my view the obvious representatives should have been Makau, Kipsang and Geoffrey Mutuai... Don’t cry over spilled milk…it could have been beer!
Findel wrote:kyt wrote:we r here arguing abt whether makau shld be included in the marathon. does he give a hoot? REALLY? does he? of course he does, there is just too much money that comes with being the olympic champion... through commercial endorsement and appearance fees..when makau was left out, he said he was shocked and had dropped out of london intentionally to preserve his energy for the olympics. I can believe him, he looked very strong for the 16 kms he ran in london, even going past the pacemakers and at times asking them to pace the race up... Eeeer...sorry.....nkt!! 4 real nkt LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
gadj wrote:The kales r not happy with Makau holding the record and with him not finishing the london marathon they saw a chance to select their own in the team. Kwani makau si Mkenya? Now that Mosop is ruled out of olympics with a tendon injury, isnt't time that world record holder, patrick makau is recalled to the team? I hope Athletics Kenya will put aside their stupid reasoning that its only kales who can represent Kenya in athletics, and select people on merit.
Mutai now makes the team!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
McReggae wrote:Mutai now makes the team!!!! which mutai! G .mutai fastest marathoner in the world 2:03:02 faster than even makau 2:03:38 he runs the marathon like a sprint event or E. mutai london course record holder 2:04:04
madollar wrote:McReggae wrote:Mutai now makes the team!!!! which mutai! G .mutai fastest marathoner in the world 2:03:02 faster than even makau 2:03:38 he runs the marathon like a sprint event or E. mutai london course record holder 2:04:04 There is Mutai and then Makau, they were clearly different!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
Hahahaha did mutai even finish the marathon?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
people do not send athletes to the olympics to escort kenyans to olympic glory - good stuff from all other countries All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Why was Makau left out of the team again??
Mutai has been better than Makau over this year, I fear his performance would have been even more miserable!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 6/17/2011 Posts: 129 Location: Nairobi
jamplu wrote:Why was Makau left out of the team again?? You have to give it up to Makau, still nursing an injury, Makau ran a very tactical race at yesterday’s Frankfurt Marathon, leaving an Ethiopian to do all the work and then quickly closing down and cruising past him at 35 kms mark when the Ethiopian thought it was in the bag. Some of the marathoners, particularly the second fastest ever, Wilson Kipsang need to learn from Makau’s tactics. Kipsang could have easily won the Olympics marathon but he used up all his energy in the first 1 hour, breaking up from the leading squad too early. If Kipsang runs fast and at better even pace like Makau, it is possible he can run 2.03.20 – he says he will try it at the New York Marathon this Sunday. As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
http://www.telegraph.co....-in-doping-inquiry.html have you been following this saga?apparently makau and jelimo are among athletes who visited the two clinics one at Kapsabet and another around Nation centre where EPO is being administered to athletes...I believe AK dint pick Makau coz they knew there waz a possibility of him failing a drug test...the WADA president was in town a while back and during the KCB meet coming soon drug tests will be introduced for the first time.Rem Isaiah Kiplagat came out guns blazing claiming there is no such thing happening in Kenya,have you heard him recently?he has humbled down esp after Kisorio was caught,this Seppelt guy has info,the pharmacists were stupid enough to keep records and just like the wikileaks guy is releasing them in bits,hope we dnt turn out like the US sprint team they have never recovered after akina Justin Gatlin,Marion Jones and co were discovered to have doped... possunt quia posse videntur
Kusadikika wrote:ballistic wrote:It is unbelievable that someone here tries to underplay makau as the world record holder which is more prestigious than being the fastest marathon title held my Geoffrey mutai (no cash to the title). If makau would have run boston with Geoffrey and Mosop, he would have beaten them hands down, he has down so several times in Berlin and Rotterdam (2010).It is just plain Athletics Kenya corruption, stupidity and favouritism. Even international media are wondering whats wrong with Kenyans for example what the hell is Mosop doing in the list? Nobody is trying to underplay Makau's achievement as a world class marathon runner. He is the world record holder and his profile of victories is respectable and enviable. The point is there are no "Ifs" in athletics or any other sport so we do not know that IF Makau had ran Boston he would have beaten Mutai or Mosop. He did not run Boston. Mosop is in the team because he has a personal best of 2:03.06 marathon time against Makau's 2:03.38. How have the two performed in the last one year: Makau 25 September 2011- 2:03: 38 - Winner Berlin marathon. World Record 5 February 2012 - 1:02: 40 - - 2nd position Granollers half marathon April 2012: London marathon failed to finish. Now let us look at Mosop: 3 June 2011: 1:12:25 (25k) 1:26:47 (30k)- Prefontaine classic. World records in the two distances. 9 October 2011 : 2:05:37 - Winner Chicago marathon. Course record 15 April 2012: 2:05:03 - 2nd in Rotterdam marathon. So although Makau is the world record holder Mosop has run a faster marathon than him and has shown greater consistency in the last one year. The Olympic marathon is not run at anywhere near world record times so current form and consistency have a greater weight than personal best times. I rest my case. Could someone then have argued that Makau was much more rested than Mosop? IMO Mosop was too tired at the Olympics and although as they say hindight is 20-20, the scenario enacted (a very average Kiprotich sprinting away from Kenyans)could have been foreseen.
maka wrote:http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/athletics/9572277/Kenyan-athletes-under-scrutiny-in-doping-inquiry.html have you been following this saga?apparently makau and jelimo are among athletes who visited the two clinics one at Kapsabet and another around Nation centre where EPO is being administered to athletes...I believe AK dint pick Makau coz they knew there waz a possibility of him failing a drug test...the WADA president was in town a while back and during the KCB meet coming soon drug tests will be introduced for the first time.Rem Isaiah Kiplagat came out guns blazing claiming there is no such thing happening in Kenya,have you heard him recently?he has humbled down esp after Kisorio was caught,this Seppelt guy has info,the pharmacists were stupid enough to keep records and just like the wikileaks guy is releasing them in bits,hope we dnt turn out like the US sprint team they have never recovered after akina Justin Gatlin,Marion Jones and co were discovered to have doped... Boss the story about Makau doping has already been retracted by the magazine tha published it. Not to say that Kenyans do not dope but remember Seppel claimed to ahve video evidence. Why hasnt he availed it to Sports Illustrated and WADA?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
maka wrote:http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/athletics/9572277/Kenyan-athletes-under-scrutiny-in-doping-inquiry.html have you been following this saga?apparently makau and jelimo are among athletes who visited the two clinics one at Kapsabet and another around Nation centre where EPO is being administered to athletes...I believe AK dint pick Makau coz they knew there waz a possibility of him failing a drug test...the WADA president was in town a while back and during the KCB meet coming soon drug tests will be introduced for the first time.Rem Isaiah Kiplagat came out guns blazing claiming there is no such thing happening in Kenya,have you heard him recently?he has humbled down esp after Kisorio was caught,this Seppelt guy has info,the pharmacists were stupid enough to keep records and just like the wikileaks guy is releasing them in bits,hope we dnt turn out like the US sprint team they have never recovered after akina Justin Gatlin,Marion Jones and co were discovered to have doped... so why did they pick jelimo ?
accelriskconsult wrote:maka wrote:http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/athletics/9572277/Kenyan-athletes-under-scrutiny-in-doping-inquiry.html have you been following this saga?apparently makau and jelimo are among athletes who visited the two clinics one at Kapsabet and another around Nation centre where EPO is being administered to athletes...I believe AK dint pick Makau coz they knew there waz a possibility of him failing a drug test...the WADA president was in town a while back and during the KCB meet coming soon drug tests will be introduced for the first time.Rem Isaiah Kiplagat came out guns blazing claiming there is no such thing happening in Kenya,have you heard him recently?he has humbled down esp after Kisorio was caught,this Seppelt guy has info,the pharmacists were stupid enough to keep records and just like the wikileaks guy is releasing them in bits,hope we dnt turn out like the US sprint team they have never recovered after akina Justin Gatlin,Marion Jones and co were discovered to have doped... Boss the story about Makau doping has already been retracted by the magazine tha published it. Not to say that Kenyans do not dope but remember Seppel claimed to ahve video evidence. Why hasnt he availed it to Sports Illustrated and WADA? ...his main agenda iznt any malicious vendetta he just wanted to prove that even countries like Kenya can get entangled in this mess,kindly go and do further research,talk to journalists who focus more on athletics and you will know where the truth lies,ask yourself why Isaiah Kiplagat the alwayz tough talking,fiery guy is on the down low and hush hush on this matter esp after claiming kenyan athletes dont dope,now he,z asking for help http://espn.go.com/olymp...lp-investigating-doping its coz things are thick and he knows it,July 12th,Rael kiyara and Jemima sumgong test positive for banned substances something we arent used to hear...@nakujua maybe her EPO levels couldnt or werent detectable am not a scientist,but there is smthn fishy especially if u read about how the magic drug works take the example of Rudisha his positive movement has been gradual,he used to run 1.46,slashed it dwn to 1.44 where he stayd for a while before he broke the record,with EPO you can slash huge amounts of time putting a question mark on your performance,lets just wait and see how the story unfolds. possunt quia posse videntur
Sports
Patrick Makau left out of olympics marathon team