wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

New rules for motor vehicle insurance likely to push up fares.
murenj
#1 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2009 1:33:00 AM

A K I has made proposals to the ministry of finance limiting accident compensation to 3million shillings. Vehicle owners are supposed to meet the extra costs if claims exceed 3 million,or pay extra premiums. The move is aimed at curbing recklessness in psv. Given that psv are driven by third parties other than their owners,I foresee a situation where the owners will opt to pay the extra premiums pass the costs to the final consumer. In short be prepared for hikes in fares if these recommendations are adopted as law.

Guka killer.
wanyo
#2 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2009 7:51:00 AM

Kwani how much will it cost for the extra premiums.
And how does this figure translate to fare increment. If Premium increase say by 50%,fare cannot be inceased by the same amount because there other factor like fuel which is major. I see these as a chance by the rogue Matatu operators to increase fare to gain themselves.

They give us a break.
i too
nanfor
#3 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2009 7:59:00 AM

The Kenyan insurance industry is still run by old chute men who have refused to move with the times.

why can't they have a system where everyone is judged by how they drive? For example,if you have never had an accident,you pay a lower rate. The more accidents you have the higher your rate.

Capping their loses is a sure sign of a dying industry. They should use the money they give mpigs to lobby for a driving licence system where each and every driver's driving record is known and available to all including the owners of matatus.

That way,the matatu owner will be forced to hire people with good driving records and not those with good behaviour certificates after bribing a CID official.

This idea will go nowhere and should lead to great law for Kenyan lawyers. However,saying 'Good' and 'Kenyan Lawyer' in the same sentence is an oxymoron.

Alchemist
#4 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2009 4:12:00 PM

I found the proposal very amusing.

(1) It means that Kenyan insurance companies are unable to assess risk hence charge the correct premiums. As long as actuaries do their work properly,and incorporate all factors including fraud,there would be no reason for insurance companies to put stop loss on accident cover.

(2) If indeed parliament passes that law and of course it wont,it will create room for new innovative players to come in and insure the excess over that 3m limit. While it will cost the insured's more,in the long run these new players will also encroach on the premiums covering the Sh 3m and insurance companies will become major losers.

(3) The Matutu Industry Assoaciation can and should for legislation that will allow them to start a captive insurance company that covers its members. Such a move will plough back gains to the owners of the matatus and promote discipline among the drivers.

Enough said,any partners out there willing to help MOA set up a captive? of course for a fee.

murenj
#5 Posted : Saturday, May 30, 2009 7:35:00 AM

Apparently the issurance company does not investigate claims to rule out fraud

Guka killer.