wazua Mon, Feb 24, 2025

Someone shoot a traffic cop for me.
murenj
#1 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 4:46:00 AM

This morning a cop peeked into my car. The kids were on the front seat while two pieces of smoothened timber occupied the back seat. The guy was cork sure that private cars are not supposed to carry goods. So we drive to their shabby cabin of the office and the guy cooly books me for ...... Your guess is as good as mine ..... Obstruction. SOMEONE SHOOT A TRAFFIC COP FOR ME!

Whycliffe matakwei Died fighting for what he believed in.....
Djinn
#2 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 5:18:00 AM

He was right in the sense that you are not supposed to carry GOODS in a private car - it has to be COMMERCIAL - not even PSV. But to charge you with obstruction - that is crap. BTW Obstruction carries an even heavier fine than speeding or jumping lights - and is treated more seriously not just because it interferes with flow of traffic but can actually cause accidents esp on a highway. Also if your kids are less than 12,they should not be in the front seat - its more of a safety rule than a traffic law.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
tusker8
#3 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 6:29:00 AM

you should have agreed to the charge at the cop station and get them cash bail you. They should not lock in you for that anywy. Then when taken you to court then you adeclare 'not guilty' . Cops know they are/will be hard [pressed to get the evidence. Its a tedious process but then cop will long bail out when you are serious that you want to proceed the legal way.

A journey of a thousand miles start with a cash advance
#4 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 6:38:00 AM

i thought they are supposed to write for you your mistakes at the site? What is described as 'goods'?

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#5 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 7:00:00 AM

''.....The kids were on the front seat...' @Murenj,Pole for the rough day...lakini why were your kids bundled up in the front seat??? Please,please,be bundling them in the back seat ALWAYS! It's one of the most important safety precaution you can adhere to as a parent. Tafadhali.....And let them always sit alone with safety belts on. Better safe and paranoid than sorry

BTW,Its an offence to ferry Goods in your private car...lakini pole for kuhukumiwa vibaya. Welcome to Kenya and Kenyan cops!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Spendthrift
#6 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 7:15:00 AM

@ Djinn,that's news to me. What is described as goods? If I go to Nakumatt buy a mattress and tie it on the roof os my sedan in a way that does not obstruct my front,rear and side view of the road,and that the mattress does not protrude beyong the dimensions of my car,is it a traffic offence?

Reminds me of when some road block cops stopped me at Kikuyu. First thing to ask for was the driving licence. Was OK. Next he checked into my car and then asked me why my rear windows and rear shield were tinted. I told him that was allowed. Next he made me open my boot and sensing his mischief,I switched off the engine and unlocked my trunk using the keys. The cop checks all my stuff,almost stopping to ask for the laptop receipt. Then the guy went ahead to ask me if I had a spare tyre- I showed him two in the compartment beneath,then he went on to ask for lifesaver,which I had. Seemingly beaten,he moved on to the nearside to check my insurance sticker -OK and then asked me if my handbrake was functional. At this point,I was infuriated. I took out a notebook and asked him for his Name,rank and station where he was attached and noticed that the guy was shaken. But I think what made him unsure was my parking sticker. Instead of the guy giving the details I asked for,which I have a right to know,the guy waved and wished me a safe drive.

Surely,these are the kind of cops we have on our roads and highways,always staking out for a bribe and I bet that's what Murenj was expected to give or be led into the wooden shack of a police station.

But while at it,Murenj,the title of your post is a bit frightening. I know of a few good traffic policemen out here. Just insist on never giving a bribe and if 1000 motorists do it (it's a painful exercise that begins with you saying 'Not Guilty' in court) everyday,the guys will style up or perhaps only concentrate on matatus,>95% of which are unroadworthy

Everyday!
#7 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 7:50:00 AM

...serves you right!!! This reminds me of a story from Australia where a cop nabbed a man who had buckled a crate of beer in the front seat and not done the same for his child at the back seat. he remarked; 'This is the first time I am seeing beer having more value than children'. As Leona asks you,why would you bundle up your lovely children in the front seat and carry peices of wood where the children are supposed to be sitting? It is a mistake to put children in the front seat. Never do this again. The police was right,you were dead wrong.

Somebody shoot Murenj for me....
#8 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 8:14:00 AM

@Djinn; so why do private cars have a boot? And a foldable rear seat to extend the boot?

Wacha hiyo mchezo!!!!

Please quote the relevant section of the Traffic Act!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
murenj
#9 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 9:01:00 AM

Apparently the kids escaped his attention. And if he did notice,he was faced with a dilemma. You cannot charge a 5 year old with not wearing a safety belt,or ridding in a dangerous possition...... There is no law holding the driver responsible for such actions of his passengers. And as for the kid's safety just how fast can one travell in the morning jam especially on ngong road? but my beef is being charged falsely. Maybe the traffic cops on this forum can shed some light on this new law...private cars and goods

Blackberry
#10 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 12:25:00 PM

I feel U Murenj....for me trafic police are the main cause of traffic Jams and are there to just harass the motorists!

A short while ago I was booked for having a cracked winscreen( running the bottom left side and no where near inhibiting my view. The next day at the court I was shocked at the number of traffic offenders. I was even more shocked by everybodys advise that it is better to just itikia mashtaka and be fined! Kumbe gova makes quite a bit at the courts.

Opinion is free,truth is sacred.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#11 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 5:07:00 PM

I have never understood the meanness of the Kenyan middle class. What is sooo difficult about giving a policeman 200 or 500 shillings when you probably spend twice or even five times that on an evening out. Until the day you understand that you,if you earn anything above Ksh. 40,000 a month are in the top 5% highest paid people in Kenya and that the police are powerful poorly paid individuals you will stress yourself to death with complains about them that will get you nowhere. Be nice to the cops,be respectful,be generous and you will live in Nairobi and anywhere else in Kenya in peace and harmony with them. Murenj,to say,'Mkubwa,hapo yenyewe nimefanya makosa lakini nilikuwa na haraka kidogo na singeweza kungoja pickup. Pole sana kwa baridi mkubwa lakini kuna chai hapa kidogo ya kusaidia. Unajua uchumi umeharibika sana siku hizi......................' does not cost much. You are happy,the cop is happy and if it hurts your consience to think what you have given is a bribe think of it as having helped a needy brother because whether you see it like that or not most cops are,needy brothers albeit with the powers to cause you some trouble if you dont cooperate.

Weusi wa nywele za mshtakiwa zaonyesha ujinga alio nao
half_empty
#12 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 5:44:00 PM

@murenj.. tafadhali badilisha topic... too many cops getting shot nowadays... its not funny

@all... hio sheria iko kweli... where does that leave toyo townace with collapsible back seat... 0.75 tons capacity... no TLB... hence private... plus jnrs ride infront coz nyuma hakuna seatbelt... whats the big deal
murenj
#13 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 8:13:00 PM

Cops get shot at because they deserve it. Period. In north eastern province they lie low like envelopes because the locals know a thing or two about guns. Down here they lord it over us. Time to regain some respect.

Kinyee
#14 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2009 7:54:00 AM

@Kusadikika,the way you have reasoned you deserve my salute,we are poorly paid and then some other Kenyans like murenj ni matharau tupu.

@Murenj,i dont like your way of reasoning and also your topic,i would you like if your relative been a cop is shot or your relative is shot by a cop. I think people like you should be shot. whats your car no. plate.

arsenal fanatic
Mosby
#15 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2009 9:34:00 AM

police manning roadblocks on ngong road-near santak estate and shade hotel,karen- have fikad peak..they flag down matatus,conductor alights n driver proceeds 2 navigate the roadblock pole pole while waiting 4 conductor.these goons dont even pretend to look inside matatus,..jicho pevu should do an expose..these ones should b shot b4 am shot because of their greed and negligence..

:::
murenj
#16 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2009 9:47:00 AM

@kinyee. Yes i do have a cop in the police force. He has a big ego. I thought it was a personal weakness. Apparently the whole police force suffers from inferiority complex,and retaliate with brutality when their egos are rubbed the wrong way....nothing personal. But there is no effective way to humble the police other than a bullet.... You should see them throw away their G3 rifles and uniforms when faced by Shiftas armed with machine guns....BURE KABISA.