wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

Elections will still be in March 2013 Appeals Court rules
mwanahisa
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 11:33:25 AM

BREAKING NEWS .......

Kenya appeals court rules elections to take place by January 2013.

See story on Reuters..

http://af.reuters.com/ar...s/idAFL6E8IV4NR20120731

What do you expect to be the impact on the equities market in Kenya?
chiaroscuro
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 11:57:09 AM

Admin; please move this to POLITICS
StatMeister
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:01:07 PM

Corrected, one judge
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
keved
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:01:16 PM

then a Dec date is possible. Martha Karua will be happy with this
Ericsson
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:02:08 PM

That is a good decision.Send the Mpigs packing as soon as possible
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
mwanahisa
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:07:30 PM

StatMeister wrote:
Corrected, one judge

The correction is duly noted. It appears the story was just too juicy and the Reuters guys rushed to post it. Let's see how the other judges rule...
mwanahisa
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:30:17 PM

We are back to square 1.

Appeals court has now affirmed the March 4, 2013 date in a majority decision of 4 to 1. Justice Martha Koome dissents.
chiaroscuro
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:30:17 PM

My interpretation of the constitution is that it should be August 14th 2012!

But this date is now not practicable.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:39:20 PM

I want in in August 2013 so as to Baks finish the infrastructure projects
Ericsson
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:45:39 PM

Profit taking in the NSE has began;share prices have started nosediving.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 1:46:29 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Profit taking in the NSE has began;share prices have started nosediving.

#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 1:50:04 PM

There is so much more infrastructure to be done, don't restrict yourself to Thika road!! and if he was to stay and see through his infrastructure projects, he will probably remain there forever...and continue appointing people at will against the constitution!!!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 2:08:33 PM

There is so much more infrastructure to be done, don't restrict yourself to Thika road!! and if he was to stay and see through his infrastructure projects, he will probably remain there forever...and continue appointing people at will against the constitution!!!

biometric
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 2:10:20 PM

King G, you can say that again. Wacha wenye wivu(those who only see Thika road as the only road that has been improved) waendelee vivyo hivyo.
I have come to learn that in this short life that we live, you cant make everyone happy. Even worse, you cant change people. You just have to let them be!
I wish this post was still at Investor section, i thought @Mwanahisa had asked for the implications of the Elections date to stocks?It would have received enough audience there!
@Wazau??
@SufficientlyP
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 2:28:31 PM

In other news, the objection to use of bio-metric voter registration has started with choruses everywhere

http://www.nation.co.ke/News/po.../-/134eg42z/-/index.html

Two civil society groups have also started to agitate for manual voter registration. It is time for dead people to vote again
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 2:31:57 PM

biometric

Bioactivist.

#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 3:02:40 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:

King G, you can say that again. Wacha wenye wivu(those who only see Thika road as the only road that has been improved) waendelee vivyo hivyo.
I have come to learn that in this short life that we live, you cant make everyone happy. Even worse, you cant change people. You just have to let them be!
I wish this post was still at Investor section, i thought @Mwanahisa had asked for the implications of the Elections date to stocks?It would have received enough audience there!
@Wazau??

What you are saying is, as long as I can develop a few roads, then I can steal and turn a blind eye to corruption as my people look the other way singing my praises.....
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 3:44:03 PM

If you were around in 2003 and you still live in Kenya, and if you choose to have an open mind(there i cant help), then you'll realise that we have more than roads, as a country to talk about. I like the increased freedom(we have more than just KBC as our stations), increased enrolment in schools, increased uptake of internet and technology eg Mpesa and mobile banking etc. There has been rapid development even despite PEV of 2007/2008 which came to spoil the party.
But because no one is a saint,i'd say what needs now to be corrected is the gap between the poor and the rich, which has increased. Tribalism has also deepened. These to me are the weaknesses under the Kibaki regime, which i hope the next President will seek to address.
my 2 centsPray
@SufficientlyP
Liv
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 4:25:14 PM

With Today's ruling, there is a likelihood that Kibaki will be president until June 2013. If there is a runoff and then a dispute that goes to court... this might happen. For those who are in a hurry to have a new regime.... I guess you have to be patient... it is important to try to live with that in mind.

abdulrahman
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2012 4:27:42 PM

Liv wrote:
With Today's ruling, there is a likelihood that Kibaki will be president until June 2013. If there is a runoff and then a dispute that goes to court... this might happen. For those who are in a hurry to have a new regime.... I guess you have to be patient... it is important to try to live with that in mind.

Atleast there will be no coalition