wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

wake up Sarova Whitesands!!
rock
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:06:32 PM

Lack of and poor communication is as a result of preferential treatment for jungus and over-reliance on travel agents/brokers imo
hamburglar
#22 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 1:01:02 AM

Everybody goes through some tribulations every once in a while..Even the best hotels here in the States face uphill battles sometimes but that does not neccessarily mean that they are inept or incopetent. I once got my hotel reservation at a top of the line hotel chain here in the States so comically mixed up it would make this Mukiha saga sound like world class customer service....Let's cut Sarova some slack here.

I have been a loyal customer of Sarova everytime I visit Jamhuri so I have to step in and vouch for them. They are still a tremendous hotel and I will still be a customer whenever am in town. Nobody, especially businesses, is perfect. Let's not ruin this establishment's name over one random isolated incident...(that we know of)...

The sad thing about it is that bad publicity travels at warp speed, but the good is largely ignored...Let's be positive and look at the good side and be a little more objective. It's easy to fall prey to negativity and that's why negative news and train wrecks (figuratively speaking) attract the most viewers...That mindset can be detrimental.
jamplu
#23 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 8:57:43 AM

JMORAI wrote:
@MUKIHA
Dear Mr. Mukiha,
Good evening.
Firstly on behalf of Sarova Hotels and Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & spa, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your booking process. Thank you for bringing all this to our attention. We value your feedback and are committed to ensuring our guests experience flawless service.
The domestic market has kept us going in tough times and good times and we truly value our domestic market patronage of Sarova whitesands Beach resort & spa. we dont take this patronage for granted.We are currently addressing the gaps pointed out in your communication and reassure you that this kind of experience is not acceptable.
we Kindly request your contact to enable us give you an update.Please email it to joy.morai@sarovahotels.com to facilitate this. We would also like to apologise to you in person when you are at Sarova whitesands and will appreciate meeting you.
Thank you so much and nice evening.

Applause Joy.Morai at least you guyz can apologize!
callaspade
#24 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 9:21:03 AM

chemos wrote:
Spend.thrift wrote:
MISHI wrote:
White sands have always delivered excellence.i have been a guest with my family many times and the experience we receive from booking to check in , food, staff manners and the entire experience is just great. maybe there was a technical failure.. i will contact them and let them know . they are open to feedback and always value such feed back. Mukiha, pole for your experience. I recommend you go and stay with them and tell your experience to the manager who is very passionate about customer service.
I will also let their head office know. i am sure you will get an apology from them.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Who remembers that Buruburu petrol station incident where someone's tyres were deflated which was on wazua sometime back?

This manager is very passionate about customer service and seems to know the facility very well.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

this one sounds a bit more genuine...

....no comment, but i love whitesands
luttz
#25 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 9:21:50 AM

@ Jamplu! So true, not many establishment care to apologize. However, our hospitality industry needs a change of attitude in their approach to local tourism
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
callaspade
#26 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 9:28:14 AM

@joy.morai,maybe you need to find mukiha and introduce him to the zawadi club ASAP
kiash
#27 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 4:30:48 PM

Robinhood wrote:
@Mukiha,
We are deep in the high season when these high end tourist outfits are bursting to the seams with foreign tourists. Local visitors simply struggle to find space in these high end establishments at this time. Pole! They could have just said we are full...

Well said,
This is not only the case of White sands, lucky for you they have apologized; it’s so common in many hotels where jungus visit. Reminds me of sometimes back when i visited Trout tree on your way to Nanyuki with some friends. On that particular day they were waiting for a group of tour operators from Somak but we arrived kitu 20 minutes before they arrived, we were kitu 6 and we took a table enough for us and when the guy guess he was the manager saw this, he couldn’t dare tell us to move but we could hear him asking almost loud, sasa watu wa somak wataketi wapi? When the guys arrived finally, you can bet where all attention went to. After eating we had to look for the cashier for more than 15 minutes to pay our bill fortunately for them I was not the one to hand over the cash. My friend was more patient ningeponyoka nazo
kollabo
#28 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 4:35:04 PM

@joy.morai you serve horrible food at Whitesands. It tastes like cat food. I wouldnt recommend it to anyone.
#29 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 5:10:24 PM

kollabo wrote:
@joy.morai you serve horrible food at Whitesands. It tastes like cat food. I wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

Try Pontoon on Links road Nyali for the best meals.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 5:56:19 PM

kollabo wrote:
It tastes like cat food.

What were you thinking?

Eating Cat food that is?

How often have you have you been served at the White Sands.

Perhaps there is something very wrong with your taste buds. But then again, what would you expect of somebody who eats cat food?
#31 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 6:18:48 PM

You guys are pathetic.

Must you wait till a potential client complains to the world b4 u act?

What picture is painted and how many europeans do u think have read this complaint?
The day you guys start treating kenyans like humans is the day you will progress.

Now the best apology would be to offer him free full board stay for the days he's there.
That shows ur apologetic,caring and value ur clients cz there's nothing annoying as bad customer service.

That was too harsh, having run a business i know that mistakes happen......they have acknowledged and apologized. That's what life is all about, learning to know when you're at fault and how to react.

#32 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 6:22:33 PM

kollabo wrote:

Are you Filipino by any chance? You should try what they call "balut" smile smile smile

#33 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 6:26:04 PM

kollabo wrote:

I actually have a different opinion. The food at Whitesands is excellent by Hotel standards. I really enjoy their menu (except the sea fish).

Was there recently (this month) and almost half of whitesands is currently under renovations. It couldn't have come at a better time, the rooms are literally falling apart. having said that, its the only hotel i stay in annualy in Mombasa.
luttz
#34 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 7:25:22 PM

@ Kollabo: Too harsh on the guys even after apologizing. I am sure Whitesands is not the worst of the hotels in this country. A person who has traveled to many places on the globe and experienced different service levels will not use such a tone. In anything, they there menu is dominated with "international cuisine" and not what you find in your local restaurant.

@ Essyk! Why the obsession with Europeans?
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#35 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 11:24:25 AM

roflol.

eti cat food..

missed that.Laughing out loudly

theman192000
#36 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 11:33:08 AM

First of all, kudos to Whitesands for responding and apologizing to Mukiha. The fact that they even patronize wazua.co.ke displays some form of progress.

With regard to kollabo's comment; I think that Whitesands is Kenya's second largest hotel in terms of bed occupancy after Nairobi Intercontinental. The food is therefore cooked wholesale not unlike CCU at the UoN.

So if you are looking for better cuisine maybe you should take the B&B option and eat lunch and dinner elsewhere. In the end it will be Mukiha's decision.
rock
#37 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 11:53:15 AM

aemathenge wrote:
kollabo wrote:
It tastes like cat food.

What were you thinking?

Eating Cat food that is?

How often have you have you been served at the White Sands.

Perhaps there is something very wrong with your taste buds. But then again, what would you expect of somebody who eats cat food?

Laughing out loudly Ouch!!
keved
#38 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 12:04:09 PM

Mombasa Continental is a very very nice hotel.
rryyzz
#39 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 12:57:34 PM

kollabo wrote:
Have been to the Whitesands thrice and enjoyed my stay there. Sasa hii maneno ya cat food sijui lakini your cats taste buds must be ya hali ya juu.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Ric dees
#40 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 1:09:37 PM

..Enough of the slating Sarova Whitesands have apologised and we move on, judging by sixe there food is not all that bad (i love there variety b-fast) among the best in the coast in my opinion however i have always like dit coz the Jet Ski's well that's just me.

I think what a lot of hotels should embark on is customer service esp when it comes to local toursim, i think this is sorely lacking, i was in Mt Kenya Safari club with family 2 weekends ago and everything took that bit extra something that infuriated wifey, we dint have a waiter "guarding" us as they did with other foregin guests maybe coz well we are local, my cocktail orders took that bit longer, oftenly getting them wrong,we literary had to beg them to put on the fire at the fire place but great amenitites all in all it was a great experience however some sensitizing of the staff could go a long-way esp in regards to local guests.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.