>
Goto Page...
LCD/LED TV
Options
·
Spend.thrift
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 10:05:22 AM
My old Trinitron TV is showing signs of much earned retirement.
Now looking to replace and i'm wowed by all these things HD, LED, BRAVIA, smart TV e.t.c so much that I can't understand what to think of buying.
What advice would you give to someone who wants a reasonably priced high resolution and energy efficient model of a flat panel TV? One that is can receive the digital signal without the need for a chinese contraption called a set top box, 26 or 32 inch? Are these HD TVs able to work with kawaida DVD players or I have to buy a Blue Ray one?
Which particular model is good?
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
vin
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 10:48:02 AM
Just get yourself a sony cx520.It is digital/analogue.Since i got mine,i cant complain.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
sizzla
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 11:20:52 AM
I got myself a sweet Samsung 32" Smart TV and it works well with my Phillips home Theater, no problems there!! However the price may not be so friendly...
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 11:37:16 AM
sizzla wrote:
I got myself a sweet Samsung 32" Smart TV and it works well with my Phillips home Theater, no problems there!! However the price may not be so friendly...
Ngapi mzee?
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
sizzla
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 11:50:18 AM
Got at 45K thru a deal lakini at Nakumatt its almost 68K. Ukiwa na mtu AFCO just get a quotation from Nakumatt give the the cash to DoD then they prepare a cheque which you present to Nakumatt less VAT
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
mmarto
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 12:52:00 PM
sizzla wrote:
Got at 45K thru a deal lakini at Nakumatt its almost 68K. Ukiwa na mtu AFCO just get a quotation from Nakumatt give the the cash to DoD then they prepare a cheque which you present to Nakumatt less VAT
is anyone from kra listening.... :(
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
sizzla
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 1:42:54 PM
mmarto wrote:
sizzla wrote:
is anyone from kra listening.... :(
Kama hujui mtu wacha kuwa spoil sport!!!
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
bartum
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 2:08:37 PM
sizzla wrote:
i want a fridge worth 50k, can do the same can i do the same?
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
Spend.thrift
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 2:14:35 PM
vin wrote:
Just get yourself a sony cx520.It is digital/analogue.Since i got mine,i cant complain.
Thanks Vin. How much is that CX520. Is it an LED or LCD. Full HD or HD Ready? The technology of TV has changed so much that even the counter assistants at electronic shops do not provide understandable explanations to my questions. How do you tell if its digital?
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
vin
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 2:34:39 PM
The price at anisuma is 44K.You will know if it is digital by asking the attendant to switch to digital mode.
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
bird_man
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 2:47:49 PM
@vin....You mean one can get a digital TV for 44K?As in one that doesn't need the setup boxes?Really?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
vky
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 2:47:58 PM
sizzla wrote:
have the same, I recommend it
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
vin
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 2:51:19 PM
bird_man wrote:
@vin....You mean one can get a digital TV for 44K?As in one that doesn't need the setup boxes?Really?
That is very true Bro,it is a smart TV with all the hulabaloo of internet connection.
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
bird_man
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 3:09:09 PM
vin wrote:
bird_man wrote:
That is very true Bro,it is a smart TV with all the hulabaloo of internet connection.
Nice!Where does one check to know that its digital?I might not want to buy a Sony for example.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
sizzla
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 3:17:19 PM
@bartum, the same applies for anything sold in Nakumatt
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
tuvok
Posted :
Friday, July 13, 2012 3:32:02 PM
vin wrote:
The price at anisuma is 44K.You will know if it is digital by asking the attendant to switch to digital mode.
I Concur!
I have the same.
No Digital Set Up thingie at least until DVB-T2
The specs are online:
http://www.sony-asia.com/product/kdl-32cx520
LCD
Full HD (1080p)
Internet ready
The facebook , twitter on the tv stuff I fail to find useful though.
Spent about the same. LED would have been nice but not sure I wanted to spend the extra 15-25k
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
Excetra1
Posted :
Monday, July 16, 2012 4:35:50 PM
I also happen to own a CX520 and i have no complaints whatsoever. Funny thing is i didnt know you didnt neet a set top box till a friend of mine bought one recently and did a digital search. Anyway, I bought mine before the digital signal was available
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
holycow
Posted :
Monday, July 16, 2012 4:59:34 PM
After the reviews on wazua, got myself one. The digital part works real well. Managed to connect to the internet, though surfing using a remote felt weird. Price is the same at Nakumatt.
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
GGK
Posted :
Monday, July 16, 2012 5:07:59 PM
With that Sony CX520, you can continue receiving the digital signal during the simulcast period. Otherwise when migration to DVB-T2 is done, you will have to buy an STB.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile
Excetra1
Posted :
Monday, July 16, 2012 5:20:59 PM
@GGK. Thought we are already on DVB T2!!!!!!!
Report Abusive
Report SPAM
User Profile