wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Left-hand drive vehicle
kiash
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 2:14:46 PM

Hi Guys,
I live in a country where we drive on the right and the cars are left hand drive. I have seen very few left hand drive vehicles in Kenya; saw the Chinese Lorries on Thika road. What are the conditions for one to drive a left hand drive vehicle?
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 2:44:42 PM

ambulance ama fire engines
jerry
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 2:57:09 PM

Are you sure? And then you drive on the right hand side!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 3:27:46 PM

jerry wrote:

during emergencies fire engines and ambulances can drive on the right hand side.

I don't know if individuals are allowed to buy fire engines or ambulances for personal use.
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 3:51:48 PM

jerry wrote:
[quote=nakujua]ambulance ama fire engines

during emergencies fire engines and ambulances can drive on the right hand side.

I don't know if individuals are allowed to buy fire engines or ambulances for personal use.[/quote]

Applause Applause Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
kiash
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 5:52:43 PM

Who said it was an ambulance ama fire engine , its a personal car a Toyota Rav4. I see the english driving here with their right hand drive cars .so there in no probleme .
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 6:27:00 PM

kiash wrote:

Who said it was an ambulance ama fire engine , its a personal car a Toyota Rav4. I see the english driving here with their right hand drive cars .so there in no probleme .

Which English? Because England English keep left like Kenyans?

KenSaf
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 6:45:45 PM

@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question, they enjoy doing it. The answer is in the link below:
http://www.kra.go.ke/customs/faqcustoms2.html#Q1

B. Left Hand Drive
All left hand drive vehicles are not allowed for registration unless they are for special purpose i.e. Ambulances, Fire Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government.
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 6:50:39 PM

kiash wrote:

the 'english' wazungu
kiash
#10 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 10:11:38 AM

KenSaf wrote:
@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question, they enjoy doing it. The answer is in the link below:

B. Left Hand Drive
All left hand drive vehicles are not allowed for registration unless they are for special purpose i.e. Ambulances, Fire Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government.

Thanks ,
knew i was to get someone with the info.
sizzla
#11 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 12:33:12 PM

The diplomatic corps are also allowed to import left hand, so if you have someone at any of the embassies, get them to import and then transfer to yourself...otherwise it's against the Traffic Act Cap 403.
JkMwatha
#12 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 12:56:38 PM

kiash wrote:
KenSaf wrote:

B. Left Hand Drive

Thanks ,

@kiash - what's your intention? Are you hoping to take a car from Spain to Kenya?

Why not cross over to UK pick up a car (RHD) and send to Kenya... or go online, find one and have someone in UK send it for you.

I am 'selling' myself here... after all I have been sourcing cars (for Kenyans living in the rest Europe and US) from UK and having them sent to Nairobi.
Ali Baba
#13 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 2:04:29 PM

SIZZLA:>>What if I register the car in Uganda??
sizzla
#14 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 3:15:38 PM

@Ali, If its a left handed car registered in Uganda it WILL NOT be registered in Kenya...
kiash
#15 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 2:37:03 PM

JkMwatha wrote:
kiash wrote:
KenSaf wrote:

B. Left Hand Drive

Thanks ,

@kiash - what's your intention? Are you hoping to take a car from Spain to Kenya?

Why not cross over to UK pick up a car (RHD) and send to Kenya... or go online, find one and have someone in UK send it for you.

I am 'selling' myself here... after all I have been sourcing cars (for Kenyans living in the rest Europe and US) from UK and having them sent to Nairobi.

Tuongee bwana, send me a mail @rkiash@gmail.com
JkMwatha
#16 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 6:31:07 PM

kiash wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
kiash wrote:
KenSaf wrote:
@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question,.....

.... Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government.

Thanks ,

@kiash - what's your intention? Are you hoping to take ........

....cars (for Kenyans living in the rest Europe and US) from UK and having them sent to Nairobi.

Tuongee bwana, send me a mail @rkiash@gmail.com

sawa email njiani boss...
#17 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2012 1:56:39 PM

kiash wrote:
Hi Guys,
I live in a country where we drive on the right and the cars are left hand drive. I have seen very few left hand drive vehicles in Kenya; saw the Chinese Lorries on Thika road. What are the conditions for one to drive a left hand drive vehicle?

register the car in uganda or sudan,get a kenyan insurance cover and use it as you wish like the kenyans with tz,uganda or sudan plates with imports beyond 8 years old.
#18 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 5:27:57 PM

kiash wrote:

the 'english' wazungu

The white English!

#19 Posted : Friday, August 09, 2013 3:45:14 PM

kiash wrote:

#20 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 11:30:41 AM

jerry wrote:
[quote=nakujua]ambulance ama fire engines

I don't know if individuals are allowed to buy fire engines or ambulances for personal use.[/quote]

Applause Applause Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

If I live in a mansion like the Maanzoni can I be allowed to import and drive a Fire engine?