SME
Legal
Left-hand drive vehicle
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
Hi Guys, I live in a country where we drive on the right and the cars are left hand drive. I have seen very few left hand drive vehicles in Kenya; saw the Chinese Lorries on Thika road. What are the conditions for one to drive a left hand drive vehicle?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
ambulance ama fire engines
nakujua wrote:ambulance ama fire engines Are you sure? And then you drive on the right hand side! The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry wrote:nakujua wrote:ambulance ama fire engines Are you sure? And then you drive on the right hand side! during emergencies fire engines and ambulances can drive on the right hand side. I don't know if individuals are allowed to buy fire engines or ambulances for personal use.
nakujua wrote:jerry wrote:[quote=nakujua]ambulance ama fire engines Are you sure? And then you drive on the right hand side! during emergencies fire engines and ambulances can drive on the right hand side. I don't know if individuals are allowed to buy fire engines or ambulances for personal use.[/quote] ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
nakujua wrote:ambulance ama fire engines Who said it was an ambulance ama fire engine , its a personal car a Toyota Rav4. I see the english driving here with their right hand drive cars .so there in no probleme .
kiash wrote:nakujua wrote:ambulance ama fire engines Who said it was an ambulance ama fire engine , its a personal car a Toyota Rav4. I see the english driving here with their right hand drive cars .so there in no probleme . Which English? Because England English keep left like Kenyans? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question, they enjoy doing it. The answer is in the link below: http://www.kra.go.ke/customs/faqcustoms2.html#Q1
B. Left Hand Drive All left hand drive vehicles are not allowed for registration unless they are for special purpose i.e. Ambulances, Fire Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government. Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
Impunity wrote:kiash wrote:nakujua wrote:ambulance ama fire engines Who said it was an ambulance ama fire engine , its a personal car a Toyota Rav4. I see the english driving here with their right hand drive cars .so there in no probleme . Which English? Because England English keep left like Kenyans? the 'english' wazungu
KenSaf wrote:@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question, they enjoy doing it. The answer is in the link below: http://www.kra.go.ke/customs/faqcustoms2.html#Q1
B. Left Hand Drive All left hand drive vehicles are not allowed for registration unless they are for special purpose i.e. Ambulances, Fire Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government. Thanks , knew i was to get someone with the info.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/10/2006 Posts: 201 Location: Nairobi
The diplomatic corps are also allowed to import left hand, so if you have someone at any of the embassies, get them to import and then transfer to yourself...otherwise it's against the Traffic Act Cap 403.
kiash wrote:KenSaf wrote:@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question, they enjoy doing it. The answer is in the link below: http://www.kra.go.ke/customs/faqcustoms2.html#Q1
B. Left Hand Drive All left hand drive vehicles are not allowed for registration unless they are for special purpose i.e. Ambulances, Fire Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government. Thanks , knew i was to get someone with the info. @kiash - what's your intention? Are you hoping to take a car from Spain to Kenya? Why not cross over to UK pick up a car (RHD) and send to Kenya... or go online, find one and have someone in UK send it for you. I am 'selling' myself here... after all I have been sourcing cars (for Kenyans living in the rest Europe and US) from UK and having them sent to Nairobi.
SIZZLA:>>What if I register the car in Uganda??
Rank: Member Joined: 6/10/2006 Posts: 201 Location: Nairobi
@Ali, If its a left handed car registered in Uganda it WILL NOT be registered in Kenya...
JkMwatha wrote:kiash wrote:KenSaf wrote:@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question, they enjoy doing it. The answer is in the link below: http://www.kra.go.ke/customs/faqcustoms2.html#Q1
B. Left Hand Drive All left hand drive vehicles are not allowed for registration unless they are for special purpose i.e. Ambulances, Fire Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government. Thanks , knew i was to get someone with the info. @kiash - what's your intention? Are you hoping to take a car from Spain to Kenya? Why not cross over to UK pick up a car (RHD) and send to Kenya... or go online, find one and have someone in UK send it for you. I am 'selling' myself here... after all I have been sourcing cars (for Kenyans living in the rest Europe and US) from UK and having them sent to Nairobi. Tuongee bwana, send me a mail @rkiash@gmail.com
kiash wrote:JkMwatha wrote:kiash wrote:KenSaf wrote:@Kiash .. Wazua can twist you question. not that they are not getting you question,.....
.... Tenders and large construction vehicles imported for projects and to be eventually donated to the Kenyan Government. Thanks , knew i was to get someone with the info. @kiash - what's your intention? Are you hoping to take ........ ....cars (for Kenyans living in the rest Europe and US) from UK and having them sent to Nairobi. Tuongee bwana, send me a mail @rkiash@gmail.com sawa email njiani boss...
kiash wrote:Hi Guys, I live in a country where we drive on the right and the cars are left hand drive. I have seen very few left hand drive vehicles in Kenya; saw the Chinese Lorries on Thika road. What are the conditions for one to drive a left hand drive vehicle?
register the car in uganda or sudan,get a kenyan insurance cover and use it as you wish like the kenyans with tz,uganda or sudan plates with imports beyond 8 years old.
nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:kiash wrote:nakujua wrote:ambulance ama fire engines Who said it was an ambulance ama fire engine , its a personal car a Toyota Rav4. I see the english driving here with their right hand drive cars .so there in no probleme . Which English? Because England English keep left like Kenyans? the 'english' wazungu The white English! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/25/2012 Posts: 1,624 Location: Langley
Impunity wrote:kiash wrote:nakujua wrote:ambulance ama fire engines Who said it was an ambulance ama fire engine , its a personal car a Toyota Rav4. I see the english driving here with their right hand drive cars .so there in no probleme . Which English? Because England English keep left like Kenyans? If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.
McReggae wrote:nakujua wrote:jerry wrote:[quote=nakujua]ambulance ama fire engines Are you sure? And then you drive on the right hand side! during emergencies fire engines and ambulances can drive on the right hand side. I don't know if individuals are allowed to buy fire engines or ambulances for personal use.[/quote] If I live in a mansion like the Maanzoni can I be allowed to import and drive a Fire engine? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
SME
Legal
Left-hand drive vehicle