wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

MPesa to and from bank account transactions
#1 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 3:20:52 PM

I believe that Mpesa has now reached maturity with the advent of MPesa to bank account transactions. Unless one is handling huge amounts of money, there may be no reason to visit the bank or even go to the ATM to withdraw funds since you can do all that using your phone.
maligumu
#2 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 3:55:31 PM

I believe that Mpesa has now reached maturity with the advent of MPesa to bank account transactions. Unless one is handling huge amounts of money, there may be no reason to visit the bank or even go to the ATM to withdraw funds since you can do all that using your phone.

It is convinient however the charges might be higher . All the same it is cost effective .
Peace be with you
deadpoet
#3 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 3:59:38 PM

No M-pesa API is a real obstacle to this becoming widespread...

http://blog.kingori.co/2...hat-if-mpesa-had-an-api/
GGK
#4 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 6:04:04 PM

[quote=deadpoet]No M-pesa API is a real obstacle to this becoming widespread...

http://blog.kingori.co/2...at-if-mpesa-had-an-api/[/quote]

I find the USSD protocol very useful. It is easy connection oriented mode that uses simple menus to access the bank.

But... of-course it can be improved via an ap... but that complicates it further
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
boyd
#5 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 6:14:43 PM

tom_boy
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 5:25:11 PM

I think the next step should be for Safcon to make it easier to load money on Mpesa. I am talking of making it as easy as buying an 'Mpesa top up card' where rather than going to an agent to load your account, you just buy a card (same as for buying airtime or the recently introduced way of topping up on Megabytes). This will tremendously improve accessibility especially to the Pesa Ndogo economy.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
bird_man
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 5:43:35 PM

@tom boy.....so if I want to deposit 15,410sh which card would I buy?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
sizzla
#8 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 3:22:43 PM

bird_man wrote:

#9 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 3:43:39 PM

bird_man wrote:

15,500 card.... or you buy 15000, 200, 200, 50 cards. Whatever remains, remains in your account...

If you think you will use 12bob to make a call, how much airtime do you load? Or just want to send one sms and have no credit?
kilbuff
#10 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 3:47:59 PM

tom_boy wrote:
I think the next step should be for Safcon to make it easier to load money on Mpesa. I am talking of making it as easy as buying an 'Mpesa top up card' where rather than going to an agent to load your account, you just buy a card (same as for buying airtime or the recently introduced way of topping up on Megabytes). This will tremendously improve accessibility especially to the Pesa Ndogo economy.

so the card would be legal tender,i can exchange it for goods and services if i don't load it in my phone? then safcom would be a parallel CBK

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
grolut
#11 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 4:47:58 PM

Best option is to have M-Pesa work with NFC. It would make transactions so much quicker.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#12 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 4:53:55 PM

bird_man wrote:

15,500 card.... or you buy 15000, 200, 200, 50 cards. Whatever remains, remains in your account...

If you think you will use 12bob to make a call, how much airtime do you load? Or just want to send one sms and have no credit?

Applause Applause Applause Applause bestest answer!!!
bird_man
#13 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 4:55:52 PM

I think we are ok as it is with no "mpesa cards"....they would increase overheads for Safcom due to printing & distribution.I cant really see the benefits anyway.What are you unable to do currently?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#14 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 7:33:55 PM

bird_man wrote:
I think we are ok as it is with no "mpesa cards"....they would increase overheads for Safcom due to printing & distribution.I cant really see the benefits anyway.What are you unable to do currently?

also, MPESA outlets are all over. But come to think of it, Safcom could make money if they allowed conversion of credit to MPESA at a charge. The reverse is currently free and should remain free.
#15 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 8:09:09 PM

bird_man wrote:

also, MPESA outlets are all over. But come to think of it, Safcom could make money if they allowed conversion of credit to MPESA at a charge. The reverse is currently free and should remain free.

That's the only bit that's missing.
Mariacha
#16 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 11:16:33 AM

[quote=boyd]Mpesa has an api
http://bernsoft.com/mpes...lineintegration_v12.pdf[/quote]

hey boyd or anyone out there, please send me a copy of this api at switch[dot]logistics[@]gmail[dot]com, its not on the above site anymore!Pray
the warmer the blankets, the colder the future
mozenrat
#17 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 1:19:02 PM

bird_man wrote:

That's the only bit that's missing.

No way!!! If Safcom even considered doing this, I would sell my shares immediately... Credit is revenue, MPESA float is your money.. what you're asking Saf to do is the equivalent of Nakumatt allowing you to exchange a loaf of bread they'd sold you for cash to spend elsewhere.. Makes no business sense..
tom_boy
#18 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 1:21:45 PM

bird_man wrote:

Thanks @Wendz for coming to my rescue. @bird_man, the benefits to me are obvious. Why do banks have an Autobank ATM and a branch on the same street corner? The answer is simple, accessibility. With an M-pesa card, I don't have to leave my car to send shs 1000 to a relative in ushago. I don't have to leave my office to go que at an Mpesa agent for 10 minutes only to be told 'sina float'. have you ever gone round to 5 Mpesa agents trying to deposit 5k and been told 'hakuna float'. Well, I have! With an Mpesa card, I can even send the messenger to get me 'kadi ya Mpesa ya 1k'..... that will improve accessibility and the 'float' can move from being with the agent to being with Safaricom itself as they are the ones who will be backing the value of the card... nanhiyo itakuwa ni maendeleo.

@kilbuff .... interesting point about Mpesa card becoming legal tender..... that would be testing the limits
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
mozenrat
#19 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 1:27:07 PM

My friend @boyd.. read that document again.. M-PESA has no API.. I suspect you don't know what an API is.. I hear there are plans to deliver one in a year or two.. The so called "APIs" currently in use are scrapers that login to the M-PESA website..

bird_man
#20 Posted : Sunday, July 15, 2012 4:18:44 PM

There are no mpesa APIs.....we only have robots that login into the mpesa portal.

Havin mpesa cards would almost make them a parallel legal tender....