wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Cheapest Credit Card
Pierce
#1 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 12:21:47 PM

Hi guys,

Need some advise here.

I have been using Barclaycard for a very long time. Can't complain.

However I'm shopping around for a cheaper card, in terms of annual charge and more importantly cash withdrawal.

Barclay Card charges a spot charge of 6.5% plus an extra 3.5% (or thereabout) per month for cash withdrawal.

Any cheaper card around??
theuri wa gitahi
#2 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 1:49:35 PM

Pierce wrote:
Hi guys,

Need some advise here.

However I'm shopping around for a cheaper card, in terms of annual charge and more importantly cash withdrawal.

Barclay Card charges a spot charge of 6.5% plus an extra 3.5% (or thereabout) per month for cash withdrawal.

i do think KCB or I&M
wilyum
#3 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 2:58:02 PM

i echo the above,enda KCB na hutaregret!
Pierce
#4 Posted : Friday, June 08, 2012 4:57:31 PM

Just called by Simba and I&M.

KCB at same level with BBK. I&M an arm and a leg.

Barclaycard it is.

Thanks everyone for you suggestions.
Kiwi
#5 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 1:55:24 PM

Hey Pierce, if still looking for a credit card, try NIC's freedom card....... Annual fee is 2.5K, interest at 3.25% and withdrawal charge is 5% of amount withdrawn.Been having mine for 4 years and can't complain.

grolut
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 8:44:07 AM

@Pierce can I ask which Barclaycard you have?
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Pierce
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 8:57:31 AM

grolut wrote:
@Pierce can I ask which Barclaycard you have?

Not sure of the name (I've had the card for a while) but details as below.

Annual Charge: Kshs 3,000
ATm withdrawal: 6.5%
Interest on cash: 3.5%
grolut
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 9:26:42 AM

Ah okay, it's similar to my Premier League Barclaycard:

Annual Charge: 2,500/-
ATM Withdrawal: 6.5%
Interest: 3%
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 9:56:41 AM

CFC Stanbic:
Annual: 2500
ATM widhdrawal:3%
ATM widhdrawal International: 4%
Interest:3%!!!

......and this is the cheapest you will ever get!!!!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 12:55:55 PM

CFC Stanbic:
Annual: 2500
ATM widhdrawal:3%
ATM widhdrawal International: 4%
Interest on cash:3%!!!

......and this is the cheapest you will ever get!!!!

How is interest on cash calculated?

#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2012 2:20:34 PM

@Impunity,
That should have read Inteest..........not on cash, collected.
chiaroscuro
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 2:47:53 PM

I never thought the words CHEAP and CREDIT-CARD could be used in the same sentence! They are all damn expensive - some charge more interest that loan sharks! Ati 3% per month is cheap??? Aih - yawa!
ballistic
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 3:23:44 PM

Pierce wrote:
Hi guys,

Need some advise here.

Si kuna bamba mbao, ama unatafuta credit card gani?
majimaji
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 4:06:40 PM

When will they introduce an MPESA debit card that you can just swipe at the supermarket/pub/petrol station and load at MPESA outlets thro' the phone???. This is what i need.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 4:16:25 PM

majimaji wrote:

When will they introduce an MPESA debit card that you can just swipe at the supermarket/pub/petrol station and load at MPESA outlets thro' the phone???. This is what i need.

Its already there http://www.imbank.com/KE/inner.asp?cat=mpesa
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 4:21:02 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
I never thought the words CHEAP and CREDIT-CARD could be used in the same sentence! They are all damn expensive - some charge more interest that loan sharks! Ati 3% per month is cheap??? Aih - yawa!

Loan sharks charge upto 10% per week kijana!!!
grolut
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 4:34:10 PM

majimaji wrote:

Iko, the I&M M-Pesa Prepaid Debit Card. I have one, I only wish it would deduct directly from your M-Pesa account instead of you having to use Pay Bill to load the card.
Pierce
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 4:43:08 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Sometimes you are faced with some urgent cash need.....where you are bound to make extra money over and above these 3%,6.something % interest etc.

You therefore need the fastest 'least cost' way to access credit.

Tuko sambamba?
Tokyo
#19 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 7:27:35 AM

Damn it!! You are charged to having a credit card??
work to prosper
lovenuffs
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 2:10:51 PM

Tokyo wrote:
Damn it!! You are charged to having a credit card??

Kenya bado tuko nyuma, in some countries you can use your credit card without incurring even a dime as long as you manage it well.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor, it cannot save the few who are rich.