wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Airtel - a nuisance
tom_boy
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 3:00:31 PM

I am on airtel prepaid tariff. Is there any way to stop them from sending me their promotional messages. Honestly, I have zero interest in knowing their many tarrif offerings and anything that will make a noticeable difference in my phone spending I am sure I will read about in the media.

How do I stop their incessant messages and fake phone calls..... its truly annoying......., even safcon does it but to a lesser degree. My arguement has always been that all these offers are skewed towards the company. They want you to spend more while making you think you are spending less. It therefore makes no sense to read them or act on them. The only way to reduce my calling costs is if they reduce the whole tarrif or I reduce my calls... period. All other permutations are hogwash ...IMHO
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 5:01:11 PM

tom_boy wrote:
and fake phone calls.

Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall It's their jinga calls which are killing me.Yesterday i blacklisted a number ending with 301.Today they've called me on another one ending in 483Sad ....I blacklisted it too and i hope and pray it worksPray Pray Sad Sad....If it doesn't,i'll throw their simcard to dogs.

theking
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 5:07:56 PM

I've blacklisted 3 of their numbers 0732-155247, 0733100301, 0786824711. Those calls r so damn annoying!!
rock
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 5:54:00 PM

Airtel iko down. Many annoying messages and phone calls and the last straw was stealing my airtime and their customer care tries to convince me that i must have subscribed to one of their numerous games,competitions or bought ringtones! Nkt!!!
rock
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 5:55:33 PM

I switched off my line..Airtel iko down. Many annoying messages plus phone calls and the last straw was stealing my airtime and their customer care tries to convince me that i must have subscribed to one of their numerous games,competitions or bought ringtones! Nkt!!!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 6:09:39 PM

Seems am the only person who has no Airtel line.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 6:13:13 PM

Mastermind wrote:
Seems am the only person who has no Airtel line.

You have two eyes then.You are not like ussmile

Just been talking to afriend.His small son subscribd to some sijui chanuka 777 or something.He is not able to unsubscribe and he is thinking of throwing away the card....Airtel is "done" by very small "things"...BK!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 8:47:33 PM

saasa jamani.
Just when am thinking of moving to Airtel.

Am safcom damu. Sihami!
Hizo shida zenyu ni nyingi sana.
Pesa Nane
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 9:30:33 PM

Anyone ever heard of 'Cheap' is Expensive??! Anyway, Am not one to castigate and not offer a solution.
Solution:
1. Enter kitchen and sharpen knife
2. Shut off the phone and remove the Airtel Sumbua SimCard
3. Chop the Airtel Sumbua SimCard into as many pieces as possible.
4. Keep one small piece as a reminder (kujichuna masikio).
5. Tupia mbwa wako na wa jirani vipande ulivyokatakata
6. Unpack the better option, fix, load and enjoy.
7. Test the M-Pesa by 'throwing something at me' (kunitupia kakitu)
You are welcome!:))
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
maligumu
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 12:46:55 AM

You guys have never been to India . This kind of thing happens in india and to make it worse it is in kihindi . Nomo stay . Every other ten minutes you get an advertisement call .
Peace be with you
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 8:37:43 AM

Most annoying is when they call you just to play you the most atrocious music you ever heard! then end by ' you can get this dunda tune by dialling..." NKT!!!!bruury gasket kabisa!
faa
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 10:36:09 AM

I like the way ,in wazua, someone starts a topic. Others support him unconditionally as if they were waiting for him to just post,

I hope you achieve something
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 11:14:08 AM

faa wrote:
I like the way ,in wazua, someone starts a topic. Others support him unconditionally as if they were waiting for him to just post,

and after bitching about it here they go back to the same problems.. hawawezi tupa hizo simcard za airtel....

Kwanza GUKA i think has separation anxiety with his simcard.. wahindi wamekuroga na hizo roti zao..
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 11:36:10 AM

faa wrote:

Hii ni republic.

pops
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 1:36:29 PM

tell me about it. yu is even worse, they keep on calling and sending messages every 5 mins. If you are away from your phone for 1 hour there are 20 msgs waiting and atleast 5 missed calls. cck should have laws about this! problem is that its a computer system calling and sending msgs randomnly so it will keep on trying your number using different numbers till it gets through. so i do not think blocking the numbers helps. airtel are clever and just keep on changing the numbers it sends from.
KADUSI
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 1:58:55 PM

Their calling rates are cheaper but the irritating calls and sms are what we need to bury in then ocean
mkeiyd
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 04, 2012 5:51:04 PM

These days i switch off my phone as i go to bed at night. They have a tendency of waking me up just after 4am.
Safcom si sumbua viiiile but credo never lasts on my safcom.

CCK should come to our rescue.
This is harassment/nuisance.
I gez one with money to burn can seek redress in a court of law for private nuisance.
Djinn
#18 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 8:11:02 AM

I admit I have been pro-Zain (pro-Celtel) but Airtel became so so mediocre in service and its offerings and is now a poor quality network. In mid May I ported my 0733 number to Orange and must say Orange is always up, clear and with none of those irritating texts and calls. Also Airtel data bundles were irregularly metered.

The Indian model will not work in this peculiar market of ours. I think its just a matter of time before we hear the worst of it. Airtel is #1 in a few of the countries it operates it, but such market presence is not enough to subsidise losses in three of its other big markets - Nigeria, Kenya and Tanzania.

#19 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 10:50:14 AM

Djinn wrote:

The Indian model will not work in this peculiar market of ours. I think its just a matter of time before we hear the worst of it. Airtel is #1 in a few of the countries it operates it, but such market presence is not enough to subsidise losses in three of its other big markets - Nigeria, Kenya and Tanzania.

Agreed Djinn....In which case Air-tel Kenya ought to have taken a different approach to this peculiar market.If they insist on doing it their way,it will be a long time before they make a ruppee.....And you just reminded me!.I should port my Airtel sumbua line to Orange.
Murenju
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 05, 2012 11:39:03 AM

I threw the Airtel sim card last year. I have no regrets.
Knock hard and it will be opened. Ask and you will be answered. Seek and you shall find.