wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

Squabbling in Ojode family
#1 Posted : Monday, July 02, 2012 7:07:58 PM

What's up with these brothers of the deceased giving widows a hard time? Some of these retrogressive practices should be put to rest.

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/10ric6y/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Monday, July 02, 2012 7:30:31 PM

This is bullshit.

The widow has a right to do as she pleases. Why don't men make a point of letting everyone know what they wish before the go? If you can't take the time to write a will at least do something to make it clear on who's supposed to get something.

When the brother says dependants,do these include the brother's wives and kids? Or is there a gashungwa they had on the sideline.

Why is it always the mother of these guys who bring kasheshe yote.

Mrs. Ojode, kula hiyo mali ya mzee. Washana na ware ware.
#3 Posted : Monday, July 02, 2012 9:19:01 PM

NKTEEEEEEEEEST.

Primitive energy at its best!!

#4 Posted : Monday, July 02, 2012 10:57:05 PM

They wrote the letter to Marende as who?
#5 Posted : Monday, July 02, 2012 11:07:01 PM

Dependants Sad Pray

Mr Awuodi said he’d written the letter on behalf of his mother, Mrs Ulda Aloo Ojode “and other dependants”, with whom the deceased’s widow had “totally refused to discuss or cooperate with on matters relating to the deceased’s estate”.

“This is to request you to stop any payment of any compensation or death benefits to the widow or any other party until matters relating to the administration of the (the late Ojode’s) estate are resolved,

*yawn*
#6 Posted : Monday, July 02, 2012 11:38:28 PM

A letter worth not replying to.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 8:27:36 AM

Reeeeaaaaally? Ojode's mom was not his sole responsibility... kwani these brothers who are writing, they cant take care of their mother if Ojode is not there? What if Ojode died a poor man? Saitoti had a mother and other dependants too and we aren't hearing all this nonsense... In any case, when the body was taken for burial, didn't some of those extended family members start drama and said they do not recognise her? how now have they started recognising she was his wife? They arent even considering that he might have had loans and debts that needed clearing before anything else can be shared to anyone? Ama hiyo ni mzigo ya mama na watoto wake?

This sort of "dependency syndrome" is not healthy for any society.... Even when you are being helped, you need know that it is a 'favour'.... its not a right... the only people who have a right are the nuclear family and possibly, being Africans, the parents.... Anybody else, funga mshipi utafute yako.
Spend.thrift
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 8:39:42 AM

Reeeeaaaaally? Ojode's mom was not his sole responsibility... kwani these brothers who are writing, they cant take care of their mother if Ojode is not there? What if Ojode died a poor man? Saitoti had a mother and other dependants too and we aren't hearing all this nonsense... In any case, when the body was taken for burial, didn't some of those extended family members start drama and said they do not recognise her? how now have they started recognising she was his wife? They arent even considering that he might have had loans and debts that needed clearing before anything else can be shared to anyone? Ama hiyo ni mzigo ya mama na watoto wake?

This sort of "dependency syndrome" is not healthy for any society.... Even when you are being helped, you need know that it is a 'favour'.... its not a right... the only people who have a right are the nuclear family and possibly, being Africans, the parents.... Anybody else, funga mshipi utafute yako.

Well spoken Wendz. Dependency is too high. You get a fully grown man or woman who has completed college or university insisting on staying with their married brother or sister and all the time staying at home all day like she or he is on holiday and being fed, washed for e.t.c like the married couples 2 year old. Hata kama kazi haipatikani haraka, you better sell airtime or push carts in the meantime to earn some dignity. How does the wife of this brother feel when she hears her husband crying over another woman's (widow)domain.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 8:47:46 AM

Underneath all the noise and personal indiginations expressed here there is actually nothing wrong with what they have done. Contrary to what some might think here Ojode's widow is not the sole beneficiary of his estate. The mother if she was his dependant would be one. So would be any other child he might have had out of wedlock. And so would be the 'known' son.The proceeds of a deceased estate ought to be shared among all his dependants. Who those dependants are and their respective shares can only be established by probate.

On the payment of insurance covers that would of course depend on the terms, which we mostly have no clue.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 9:01:14 AM

This is going to get very dirty......at some point she will be told to go to Andy's real father.......expect fireworks!!!

.....If anybody can prove (even if not a relative) that their livelihood depended on you then they have a right to your estate, that is the law!!!

Ojode should have written a will!!!

You meet your mother the 1st time you get into this world!!!!
Spend.thrift
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 9:29:37 AM

This is going to get very dirty......at some point she will be told to go to Andy's real father.......expect fireworks!!!

.....If anybody can prove (even if not a relative) that their livelihood depended on you then they have a right to your estate, that is the law!!!

For some reason, I was interested in McDoba's view on this issue and he has spoken.

what you said down there I agree with fully. You meet your mother the first time you come into this world, even before. But I highly doubt that the widow would completely neglect her mother in law. Besides the mother is mother to many so its more like contributing to the welfare of the elderly mother. What is the contribution of the other fully grown men who also call her mother?

In the proposal form for insurance, one usually indicates the dependants and even the percetage of the estate to be given to each should one die- this is like a will. Unless there are other kids, hii maneno ingine ni utamaduni duni - na ndio inarudisha watu nyuma.

Why can't people learn to respect the dead. If a man decides to marry a woman and stay with her, why should relatives force her out to go wherever when the man dies. Why didn't they convince the man (if they could) to send her away when he was still alive?

So as Mcreggae has put it, it is going to get dirty- my version of dirty is when grown men focus their primitive energy on fighting a widow when they should spend that energy doing something for themselves and their children. Just like in cases where fully grown men with beards wake up and go to the nearest 'maduka' to drink tea and mandazi, buy newspapers and discuss the politics (usually around one individual and what he thinks of everything) while their wives toil in the shamba and at the market and when its evening, they go home expecting to be served with kichwa ya samaki, meat stew or githeri with meat. Mind you when they are drinking the tea and mandazi, their wives and kids make do with sugarless uji for breakfast and kunde ugali for lunch. And when such men die, some other men cling around the homestead after the burial hovering around any wealth left behind and if not they would be dicussing on who should be allowed to hit on the widow's candy.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 9:48:04 AM

I stand corrected, but this Ojode family is the reason why certain traditions should be banned for the sake of the nation.

We can't continue talking about wife inheritance in this day. Neither can we start talking of people who are supposed to be men forcing a widow to give them some money.

Even if that kid is not his, so what? Kama the family had issues with the widow kutoka kitambo, waseme. But hiding behind fake traditions is silly and to be honest, childish.
B.Timer
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 12:42:36 PM

Mama Ojode deserves upkeep and care from the late Ojode’s household - that is not in debate!

We can estimate her monthly budgetary requirements to be around 50K or thereabouts given that she resides in the Countryside - barring emergencies and incidental costs such as medical bills etc.
Assuming this to be the case the kitty for her upkeep would need to be contributed to by all her Children shared equitably.

Taking it that she has 5 Children, the late Ojode’s wife obligation would be to avail Ksh 15K Monthly or thereabouts.

She may choose to give more (expected but not mandatory), though this is depended on various factors, not least how she is treated by her in-laws.

Mama Ojode should be advised not to let her other Children mislead her into antagonisng her departed Sons Wife along with Andy, her Grandson!

However, just as she deserves upkeep from Ojodes household, so does she have certain obligations towards them, chief among them recognition and not directing hostilities their way.

Wazuans both Male and Female; - How would you like your matter to be handled if, God forbid, you were to find yourself in Ojode’s situation!
Dunia ni msongamano..
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 12:50:35 PM

I do not think the main issue her is the KShs 10M payout only! It has to do with his house(s), cars, sofa's, suits etc.... Basically some idiot has found a route to free wealth and the widow can go hang!!!! Very sad indeed!!!( He would not mind the widow also).... Sometimes I wonder how low some MEN can go!!!!
jamplu
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 12:52:08 PM

unfortunately the drama has just started!! what i never understand is why a grown man/woman should start demanding part of his dead brothers/sisters estate why didn't they demand it while he was still alive.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 12:55:08 PM

@B.Timer you are absolutely right. What is working here is a major case of disrepect by the brothers towards the wife.

I'm 100% sure that Ojode had loans to clear. If you know these guys, you know they normally leave madenis rather than net income to their families. That's why they pushed their insurance that high.

I would believe in the clean hands of Ojode's brothers if they also in the same breath of asking for a share of the millions, also asked for a share of his mortgage payments, car loan, education loans,developement loans etc.

But no, no. Give us the 10million now!

The mother does deserve upkeep but not from only one source as seems to be the case here.

But with all honesty, when will men ever sit down for 5 minutes as they are having their katusker and right down a will? We can't continue embarasing our families like that.

I painfully remember my uncle asking for my dads suits after he passed. Needless to say, though I was a kid, I took a panga and dared him to stay in that house for one more minute. I have never seen him again.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 12:55:39 PM

heed the wise words of @marty and write a will
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 12:56:56 PM

I stand corrected, but this Ojode family is the reason why certain traditions should be banned for the sake of the nation.

We can't continue talking about wife inheritance in this day. Neither can we start talking of people who are supposed to be men forcing a widow to give them some money.

Even if that kid is not his, so what? Kama the family had issues with the widow kutoka kitambo, waseme. But hiding behind fake traditions is silly and to be honest, childish.

... I took a keen interest to listen to Ojode's funeral proceedings because in my opinion he was just a nice person.
...I remember one politician who said they had married form the same family doing a joke that...One time when they were having some drinks, the late asked him if he had written a will because as things stood that other politician was older and more likely to die earlier than him. One of the things he wanted the Politician/lawyer to include in the will was that Ojode should inherit his wives when he dies!!!The joke fell flat on a hard rock!
So it is quite clear what this politician was thinking...that he is now the sole heir of Ojode's wife...
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 1:01:22 PM

Asi!!! These politicians and shooting blanks!!!
mkeiyd
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 03, 2012 2:10:44 PM

The grown ups who were depending on Ojode should be left to die if they so wish.
Ojode is gone, so are the favors.
The mother's issue is not debatable,she's to be taken care of,as a mother.