wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

3 Pages<123
ONLY 200,000 GRADUATES IN KENYA?
#41 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 5:33:39 PM

jerry wrote:
mnandii wrote:

Some Universities disappoint big time. Take, for instance an Engineering Course where there are SPECIFIC exam questions and SPECIFIC answers for them which are passed on from generation to generation. So all you have to do is to cram the answers. Not good for challenging the thought process.

ur pastor will challenge u every Sunday to get saved using same scripture!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
jerry, iyo ni kali!!!!!!!!!!!!
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Phaoro
#42 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 5:56:28 PM

rock wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:
rock wrote:
tuvok wrote:
Don't think this rule is really necessary. A high school cert should be sufficient. I know many, smart enough to get into Ivy league schools who've instead opted NOT to go to school but instead do business and excel greatly. Going to university does not necessarily translate to grasping complex matters post graduation. Ask any employer. (Mwakenya, skiving lectures etc being contributing factors).

I agree. They should find another way of vetting them,you can be knowledgeable but not competent or wise.

I disagree.. There are also jobs where we think we can do better than those given but we do not have the qualifications they ask..

????

Even though the National Assembly is a representative house and should be made up of Kenyans from diverse backgrounds. Considering the nature of work conducted within the various committees, it makes sense to have a bachelor degree as a minimum requirement.

Since MP’s might be seating in critical committees that shape the direction of the country, it is necessary for them to have a level of education that allows them to be able to evaluate, review and understand critical matters presented to them by highly educated senior civil servants, other executives and subject matter experts.

A college degree shows at the very minimum you can complete a task and it is not such a high bar to require a degree. Otherwise how are our waheshimiwas going to question people in management level positions about serious national matters?

Let us not settle for mediocrity. A bachelor degree enables one to develop thinking and critical skills and that is not too much to ask of our legislators.
#43 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 6:08:27 PM

Laughing out loudly are you a politician?

No I'm not. In fact, no one in my family is.

a degree is good in broadening the scope of thinking.
it helps you think out of the box that professional courses box you in.
that why many CPA (k)s are never satisfied with the professional courses only and often pursue BCom or Business adminstration.

ask yourself why do many accountants job adverts come with 'MBA an added advantage' tag if CPAK was enough?

Coz of the dictates of the job market-nothing go do with additional knowledge. Employers too want to have staff with many papers, regardless of whether the papers added anything to the paper owner.
watu wasome.y
Wamesoma lakini hawana degree!

#44 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 6:21:12 PM

Laughing out loudly are you a politician?

No I'm not. In fact, no one in my family is.

a degree is good in broadening the scope of thinking.
it helps you think out of the box that professional courses box you in.
that why many CPA (k)s are never satisfied with the professional courses only and often pursue BCom or Business adminstration.

ask yourself why do many accountants job adverts come with 'MBA an added advantage' tag if CPAK was enough?

Coz of the dictates of the job market-nothing go do with additional knowledge. Employers too want to have staff with many papers, regardless of whether the papers added anything to the paper owner.
watu wasome.y
Wamesoma lakini hawana degree!

Never the less....wasome, the discussions in class and the critical thinking skills that they may get in interaction will be essential
#45 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 7:23:16 PM

Weee...Ruto has a degree from a Nairobi university...And a masters degree too...though he took 10 years to earn it. And he got his first degree when education was education...Kama mimi.

The fellow was unable to finish his masters untill he became the minister for higher education...

...One thing I respect that guy for...he is well schooled...other things notwithstanding...Hats off for the guy...Whether he completed (somebody said finish is not sound English) his masters when he was in the education ministry is neither here nor there...He proofed he could 'eat' books with his first degree

You really don't get the point. Do you?

Dude, I am not srow in understanding. I know what you mean...That he influenced to have his degree when he did not earn it...In other words he just like that fellow who walks Down River Road and before you can say Meja Mwangi, he has a doctorate in his pocket within two hours!!!! I think Ruto is bright enough to earn a degree without cutting Kona kona!!! That is what I think... I could be wrong.
#46 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 9:09:14 AM

digitek1 wrote:
perceptions can be misleading. I had the opportunity to seat across WR on a 14 hr flight and the guy was engrossed with a book most of the time. I found him to be reserved and knowledgeable contrary to the 'bargetuny' image kina @qw have of him smile

Care to share the route you were flying?????
#47 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 10:43:41 AM

digitek1 wrote:
perceptions can be misleading. I had the opportunity to seat across WR on a 14 hr flight and the guy was engrossed with a book most of the time. I found him to be reserved and knowledgeable contrary to the 'bargetuny' image kina @qw have of him smile

I'm guessing China.

But could also be Newyork, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Japan, Mexico, Australia, Fiji, Cyprus etc. all of which on average will take you more than 14 hours.
#48 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 11:42:30 AM

digitek1 wrote:

I'm guessing China.

But could also be Newyork, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Japan, Mexico, Australia, Fiji, Cyprus etc. all of which on average will take you more than 14 hours.

....Rarely on one flight!!!...Note the words used.....a 14hr flight implies the same vessel!!!!
#49 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 4:10:43 PM

@McReggae Cyprus is in Mediteranean sea,how someone fly there from Nairobi in 14 hrs is amazingly srow!!!
Rome Italy is 6 hrs!!!

theman192000
#50 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 4:21:36 PM

digitek1 wrote:

I'm guessing China.

....Rarely on one flight!!!...Note the words used.....a 14hr flight implies the same vessel!!!!

Me thinks it also implies digitek1 flew business class smile
#51 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 4:29:20 PM

@McReggae Cyprus is in Mediteranean sea,how someone fly there from Nairobi in 14 hrs is amazingly srow!!!
Rome Italy is 6 hrs!!!

@impunity:
Ndio nilikuwa nataka gigitek aniambie this 14hr flight they shared with Ruto.....airline and vessel used!!!!!
#52 Posted : Tuesday, June 26, 2012 6:07:30 PM

@McReggae pengine walitumia Eurocopter from Nairobi to Cyprus at an airspeed of 340km/h.
And I doubt Ruto flew third class...kuropokwa!!!

#53 Posted : Wednesday, June 27, 2012 12:27:53 PM

Nani huyu
"A first-time MP from Central had his highest moment in Parliament turned into despair on Thursday. He had spent the entire Wednesday night buying drinks for fellow MPs after they amended the Election Act to delete the provision for degree requirement for all positions in the 2013 general election. His joy turned into anger and despair when the tide changed and and the amendment was deleted. The MP, who has once survived an election petition, was spotted in Parliament on Thursday trying hard to lobby and canvass the MPs to reject the amendment brought by Transport Minister Amos Kimunya"

#54 Posted : Wednesday, June 27, 2012 12:45:37 PM

@McReggae pengine walitumia Eurocopter from Nairobi to Cyprus at an airspeed of 340km/h.
And I doubt Ruto flew third class...kuropokwa!!!

@Impunity,
Amekataa kuja kutueleza mengi kuhusu hii story yake ya safari na Ruto bana!!!!
mnandii
#55 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 9:18:09 AM

MPs save the day. Who needs a degree to lead anyway?
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#56 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 9:30:33 AM

Nani huyu
"A first-time MP from Central had his highest moment in Parliament turned into despair on Thursday. He had spent the entire Wednesday night buying drinks for fellow MPs after they amended the Election Act to delete the provision for degree requirement for all positions in the 2013 general election. His joy turned into anger and despair when the tide changed and and the amendment was deleted. The MP, who has once survived an election petition, was spotted in Parliament on Thursday trying hard to lobby and canvass the MPs to reject the amendment brought by Transport Minister Amos Kimunya"

Kung'u Waibara?
mnandii
#57 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 10:40:52 AM

Could't put it better.

"More than 95% of Kenyans (for one reason or another)have no degree. To bar them from elective office would be to drain an awful lot of human talent from our public life." Dr Kalambuka

READ.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#58 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 12:00:47 PM

mnandii wrote:
Could't put it better.

"More than 95% of Kenyans (for one reason or another)have no degree. To bar them from elective office would be to drain an awful lot of human talent from our public life." Dr Kalambuka

READ.

Applause the poor chap who couldn't afford to pay module 2 fees or a degree at the private universities despite getting a B minus in KCSE will be left out, very unfair!!

It will be government by those who can afford, a clear discrimination on class lines!