ONLY 200,000 GRADUATES IN KENYA?
QW25091985
#21 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 6:18:25 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
Mastermind wrote:
The last time i checked Ruto had Bsc (Botany and Zoology) and he was doing Msc. Or you're talking of which Ruto?

Oh i didnt know . which version riverroad edition ? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The guy graduated his Msc in sept last year thats why he wanted to leave early to attend his graduation, he is now a PHD student

wow .and the way i viewed this guy like unschooled. All these scandls are really screwing his name.
Kibs i pray doesnt sign that bill into law untill its reverted back to its original state that made politicians sit square.
#22 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 7:21:00 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
Mastermind wrote:
The last time i checked Ruto had Bsc (Botany and Zoology) and he was doing Msc. Or you're talking of which Ruto?

Oh i didnt know . which version riverroad edition ? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The guy graduated his Msc in sept last year thats why he wanted to leave early to attend his graduation, he is now a PHD student

Ask someone from UON how this masters etc. are "earned". The fellow was "doing" his Msc. while he was the Minister for Higher Education. Need I say more?

Don't speculate though. Talk to someone at UON.
#23 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 7:29:58 PM

Wonders never seize by the way.

Ruto's Thesis is on "Enviromental matters"

Mau forest comes to mind!!!

He is carrying out the study in Saiwa Swamp in Western Kenya.

I would have recommended Mau Forest!!!
#24 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 7:48:12 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
does she also use mwakenya and copy-paste technology coz you cannot make it through uni without it

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

This is what I've been talking about all along!!! What kind of graduates are we chunning out?? When I was in campus, the lecturer could as well go for tea during an exam and you wouldn't even consider or imagine using a mwakenya!!! Imagining the repercussions of being caught was enough to keep you on the straight and narrow!!! Even assignments!! Lecturers had enough time to go through everyone one's work and detect any patterns in cheating!
#25 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 7:54:14 PM

@qw, Samoei Ruto is a BSc holder from UoN. The Nation reports that he is now a doctoral student there. Ngilu is at St Paul University and is said to be very serious with her studies. I think this degree rule was poorly thought out and was probably passed by MPs keen to see their opponents locked out. A CPA(K) need not have a degree. An engineering or pharmacy diploma holder is competent to discuss matters in their field. Think of pilots too...the list is endless

Laughing out loudly are you a politician?

a degree is good in broadening the scope of thinking.
it helps you think out of the box that professional courses box you in.
that why many CPA (k)s are never satisfied with the professional courses only and often pursue BCom or Business adminstration.

ask yourself why do many accountants job adverts come with 'MBA an added advantage' tag if CPAK was enough?

watu wasome.y
#26 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 8:49:49 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
LOL ! so william ruto willnot run for presidency ? coz hana degree !
Na ngilu goes to which uni ? does she also use mwakenya and copy-paste technology coz you cannot make it through uni without it
Kumbe hawa wabunge hawaja soma !!! so shamefull.
Lakini nani mkama waititu with a post graduate degree in stone throwing ama sonko with a phd in swaganomics !
but remember they also change this bill to make it easier for defections and those who loose their seats to vie again . which is really defeating the purpose of the parties act !
Kibs should send it back to the wabunge to return the bill to the original state . this wabunge really need to be educated !
it disgust me the way they are so selfish with so much impunity

Weee...Ruto has a degree from a Nairobi university...And a masters degree too...though he took 10 years to earn it. And he got his first degree when education was education...Kama mimi.
#27 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 9:00:28 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
Mastermind wrote:

Ask someone from UON how this masters etc. are "earned". The fellow was "doing" his Msc. while he was the Minister for Higher Education. Need I say more?

Don't speculate though. Talk to someone at UON.

Whatever the case, he has the required papers..
#28 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 10:34:52 PM

Weee...Ruto has a degree from a Nairobi university...And a masters degree too...though he took 10 years to earn it. And he got his first degree when education was education...Kama mimi.

The fellow was unable to finish his masters untill he became the minister for higher education...
#29 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 10:43:38 PM

The fellow was unable to finish his masters untill he became the minister for higher education...

...One thing I respect that guy for...he is well schooled...other things notwithstanding...Hats off for the guy...Whether he completed (somebody said finish is not sound English) his masters when he was in the education ministry is neither here nor there...He proofed he could 'eat' books with his first degree
mozenrat
#30 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 10:45:50 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
Mastermind wrote:

Eish boss.. Ruto is now pursuing a PhD
#31 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 7:53:43 AM

...One thing I respect that guy for...he is well schooled...other things notwithstanding...Hats off for the guy...Whether he completed (somebody said finish is not sound English) his masters when he was in the education ministry is neither here nor there...He proofed he could 'eat' books with his first degree

You really don't get the point. Do you?
tuvok
#32 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 9:40:50 AM

Don't think this rule is really necessary. A high school cert should be sufficient. I know many, smart enough to get into Ivy league schools who've instead opted NOT to go to school but instead do business and excel greatly. Going to university does not necessarily translate to grasping complex matters post graduation. Ask any employer. (Mwakenya, skiving lectures etc being contributing factors).

rock
#33 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 11:09:31 AM

tuvok wrote:
Don't think this rule is really necessary. A high school cert should be sufficient. I know many, smart enough to get into Ivy league schools who've instead opted NOT to go to school but instead do business and excel greatly. Going to university does not necessarily translate to grasping complex matters post graduation. Ask any employer. (Mwakenya, skiving lectures etc being contributing factors).

I agree. They should find another way of vetting them,you can be knowledgeable but not competent or wise.
mkeiyd
#34 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 2:06:46 PM

guru267 wrote:

Ive actually completed my ACCAs and currently im pursuing my CFA but nothing compares to the allroundedness and extensive research that came with my Bsc.

I mean professional courses do not provide avenues to study diverse humanities, language, communications skills, community service, internships that some quality degrees provide..

200,000 graduates per year implies 0.5% of the Kenyan population.. If you compare this to the USA which has 1,750,000 graduates per year (0.5% of the population) i think we're doing ok...

@ guru267, I thought the 200,000 figure is the sum of graduates over the years. All graduates put together.

The current systems allows the deep-pocketed to make it to elective positions.
Why not have a rule to have the educated get such positions?
We just can't have fools to run a country and expect brilliant ideas from them.
There are exceptions of people without degrees but exemplary leaders, but all general rules have exceptions.
General rule, watu wasome.
Ms Mkenya
#35 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 2:27:58 PM

rock wrote:
tuvok wrote:

I agree. They should find another way of vetting them,you can be knowledgeable but not competent or wise.

I disagree.. There are also jobs where we think we can do better than those given but we do not have the qualifications they ask..
....above all, to stand.
#36 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 2:54:33 PM

perceptions can be misleading. I had the opportunity to seat across WR on a 14 hr flight and the guy was engrossed with a book most of the time. I found him to be reserved and knowledgeable contrary to the 'bargetuny' image kina @qw have of him smile
rock
#37 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 3:36:06 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
rock wrote:
tuvok wrote:

I disagree.. There are also jobs where we think we can do better than those given but we do not have the qualifications they ask..

????
#38 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 4:31:12 PM

rock wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:
rock wrote:
tuvok wrote:

????

@Ms Mkenya is telling you a very simple thing. Open any newspaper - or any other media - and go to the vacancies section.

You will see Degree in XXX, q years experience, Post Graduate this and that etc.

Some people might feel that despite their lack of such papers, given their "experience" and "in born" qualities they can do the said job. Only that no one can give it to them without the papers.

Didn't this punks pass a bill last year only to run to funerals to tell people they didn't understand it and they want it brought back to parliament??? Ni masomo kidogo!!!
GGK
#39 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 5:04:56 PM

GGK wrote:

Tom Mboya [High sch dropout]

Neither does very educated person make great leaders Like Robert Mugambe [6 university degrees]

Tom Mboya was educated at various Catholic mission schools. In 1942, he joined a Catholic Secondary School in Yala, in Nyanza province, St. Mary's School Yala. In 1946, he went to the Holy Ghost College (later Mang'u High School), where he passed well enough to proceed to do his Cambridge School Certificate. In 1948, Mboya joined the Royal Sanitary Institute's Medical Training School for Sanitary Inspectors at Nairobi, qualifying as an inspector in 1950. In 1955 he received a scholarship from Britain's Trades Union Congress to attend Ruskin College, Oxford, where he studied industrial management. Upon his graduation in 1956.

And why is Mugabe not great?

If you are historically honest, you'll know that Tom Mboya dropped out of Mang'u because of lack of fees.

It will probably explain why Mugambe is "great"
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
GGK
#40 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2012 5:11:26 PM

GGK wrote:
William Ruto has a BSc and MSc from UoN.

I tend to disagree on the requirement for a degree cert for one to be an MP. Makes absolutely no sense because the the National Assembly is representative house for making laws which are drafted by experts. Laws are generally easy to understand.

What happens when one community doesn't have someone [willing] with a degree to seek elective position?

Great leaders are not necessarily very educated. People Like
John Major [High Sch Dropout]
Jacob Zuma [Class 3 dropout]
Tom Mboya [High sch dropout]

Neither does very educated person make great leaders Like Robert Mugambe [6 university degrees]

Tom Mboya was educated at various Catholic mission schools. In 1942, he joined a Catholic Secondary School in Yala, in Nyanza province, St. Mary's School Yala. In 1946, he went to the Holy Ghost College (later Mang'u High School), where he passed well enough to proceed to do his Cambridge School Certificate. In 1948, Mboya joined the Royal Sanitary Institute's Medical Training School for Sanitary Inspectors at Nairobi, qualifying as an inspector in 1950. In 1955 he received a scholarship from Britain's Trades Union Congress to attend Ruskin College, Oxford, where he studied industrial management. Upon his graduation in 1956.

And why is Mugabe not great?

Kindly check your history carefully and honestly

Tom Mboya dropped out of Mangu because of lack of fees. He went on to do the things you are saying. http://africanhistory.ab...ieseast/p/bio_mboya.htm

The same history will determine Mugambes "Greatness"

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,