wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

ONLY 200,000 GRADUATES IN KENYA?
mnandii
#1 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 11:01:18 AM

Saw it somewhere when parliament was discussing the degree rule for qualification to parliament.
If it's true that we only have 200,000 degree holders in KENIA then I think this does not bode well for our development. May be the reason we seem stuck in a rut.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
QW25091985
#2 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 11:16:39 AM

LOL ! so william ruto willnot run for presidency ? coz hana degree !
Na ngilu goes to which uni ? does she also use mwakenya and copy-paste technology coz you cannot make it through uni without it
Kumbe hawa wabunge hawaja soma !!! so shamefull.
Lakini nani mkama waititu with a post graduate degree in stone throwing ama sonko with a phd in swaganomics !
but remember they also change this bill to make it easier for defections and those who loose their seats to vie again . which is really defeating the purpose of the parties act !
Kibs should send it back to the wabunge to return the bill to the original state . this wabunge really need to be educated !
it disgust me the way they are so selfish with so much impunity
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 11:31:41 AM

Minister Dalmas Otieno came up with the 200,000 figure. I dont know if he got this from last census but I find it too low especially considering the increase in number of varsities and graduates in the last decade.
#4 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 11:32:47 AM

The last time i checked Ruto had Bsc (Botany and Zoology) and he was doing Msc. Or you're talking of which Ruto?
QW25091985
#5 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 11:44:40 AM

Mastermind wrote:
The last time i checked Ruto had Bsc (Botany and Zoology) and he was doing Msc. Or you're talking of which Ruto?

Oh i didnt know . which version riverroad edition ? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#6 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 11:45:22 AM

@qw, Samoei Ruto is a BSc holder from UoN. The Nation reports that he is now a doctoral student there. Ngilu is at St Paul University and is said to be very serious with her studies. I think this degree rule was poorly thought out and was probably passed by MPs keen to see their opponents locked out. A CPA(K) need not have a degree. An engineering or pharmacy diploma holder is competent to discuss matters in their field. Think of pilots too...the list is endless
#7 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 12:40:33 PM

A CPA(K) need not have a degree. An engineering or pharmacy diploma holder is competent to discuss matters in their field. Think of pilots too...the list is endless

Ive actually completed my ACCAs and currently im pursuing my CFA but nothing compares to the allroundedness and extensive research that came with my Bsc.

I mean professional courses do not provide avenues to study diverse humanities, language, communications skills, community service, internships that some quality degrees provide..

200,000 graduates per year implies 0.5% of the Kenyan population.. If you compare this to the USA which has 1,750,000 graduates per year (0.5% of the population) i think we're doing ok...
#8 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 12:58:10 PM

NPray
QW25091985 wrote:
Mastermind wrote:

Oh i didnt know . which version riverroad edition ? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@QW be careful Shame on you. What happened to thinking before talking (typing)?
GGK
#9 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 1:20:14 PM

William Ruto has a BSc and MSc from UoN.

I tend to disagree on the requirement for a degree cert for one to be an MP. Makes absolutely no sense because the the National Assembly is representative house for making laws which are drafted by experts. Laws are generally easy to understand.

What happens when one community doesn't have someone [willing] with a degree to seek elective position?

Great leaders are not necessarily very educated. People Like
John Major [High Sch Dropout]
Jacob Zuma [Class 3 dropout]
Tom Mboya [High sch dropout]

Neither does very educated person make great leaders Like Robert Mugambe [6 university degrees]
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#10 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 1:45:08 PM

GGK wrote:

I tend to disagree on the requirement for a degree cert for one to be an MP. Makes absolutely no sense because the the National Assembly is representative house for making laws which are drafted by experts. Laws are generally easy to understand.

What happens when one community doesn't have someone [willing] with a degree to seek elective position?

Neither does very educated person make great leaders Like Robert Mugambe [6 university degrees]

at least as for now i am the only candidate in my constituency with a degree.good news.
mnandii
#11 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 1:52:20 PM

GGK wrote:

Like North Eastern? Maybe they 'import' governors and Senators from other counties...smile
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#12 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 1:58:51 PM

mnandii wrote:
GGK wrote:

Like North Eastern? Maybe they 'import' governors and Senators from other counties...smile

NEP guys happen to be very serious with masomo. Once they get an institution with facilities they excel. The electorate there favours the educated. Let us not forget that Mandera Central has given us 2 brilliant minds: Abdikadir and Kerrow
mnandii
#13 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 2:05:12 PM

guru267 wrote:
A CPA(K) need not have a degree. An engineering or pharmacy diploma holder is competent to discuss matters in their field. Think of pilots too...the list is endless

Ive actually completed my ACCAs and currently im pursuing my CFA but nothing compares to the allroundedness and extensive research that came with my Bsc.

I mean professional courses do not provide avenues to study diverse humanities, language, communications skills, community service, internships that some quality degrees provide..

Some Universities disappoint big time. Take, for instance an Engineering Course where there are SPECIFIC exam questions and SPECIFIC answers for them which are passed on from generation to generation. So all you have to do is to cram the answers. Not good for challenging the thought process.
jerry
#14 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 3:34:30 PM

mnandii wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Some Universities disappoint big time. Take, for instance an Engineering Course where there are SPECIFIC exam questions and SPECIFIC answers for them which are passed on from generation to generation. So all you have to do is to cram the answers. Not good for challenging the thought process.

ur pastor will challenge u every Sunday to get saved using same scripture!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
GGK
#15 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 3:50:06 PM

And what does a degree mean exactly?

Someone can dash to India and come with a cert anyway
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#16 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 4:24:09 PM

GGK wrote:
And what does a degree mean exactly?

Someone can dash to India and come with a cert anyway

It is easy to get one in Kenya too. I disagree with @guru267 point that people without degrees but with other qualifications are less equipped for nation building and debate. The very technical aspects in any field do not solely depend on your education level but on experience
QW25091985
#17 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 4:32:47 PM

So i thought 1 billion shillings in the budget was set aside to educate sonko ? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#18 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 4:37:16 PM

guru267 wrote:

200,000 graduates per year implies 0.5% of the Kenyan population.. If you compare this to the USA which has 1,750,000 graduates per year (0.5% of the population) i think we're doing ok...

watu wako possessed na masomo
#19 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 5:18:33 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
Mastermind wrote:

The guy graduated his Msc in sept last year thats why he wanted to leave early to attend his graduation, he is now a PHD student
#20 Posted : Sunday, June 24, 2012 5:21:13 PM

GGK wrote:

Tom Mboya was educated at various Catholic mission schools. In 1942, he joined a Catholic Secondary School in Yala, in Nyanza province, St. Mary's School Yala. In 1946, he went to the Holy Ghost College (later Mang'u High School), where he passed well enough to proceed to do his Cambridge School Certificate. In 1948, Mboya joined the Royal Sanitary Institute's Medical Training School for Sanitary Inspectors at Nairobi, qualifying as an inspector in 1950. In 1955 he received a scholarship from Britain's Trades Union Congress to attend Ruskin College, Oxford, where he studied industrial management. Upon his graduation in 1956.

And why is Mugabe not great?