Let me call a spade a spade.
A lot of us as Kenyans love complaining all the time. The roads in Eastleigh are the worst in the world but you know they deserve it. They don't pay any taxes. See a thread here on someone using one of those walalo tax avoiding shipping companies.
I hate gov't but I have seen what good governance can do.
Gov't starts with me, the citizen. If I continuously complain about gov't resources and pay no tax, I'm basically a thief. Stealing from all the hard working Kenyans who get salaries deducted income tax every month....you know, your tenant. Robbery without violence....
That's one of the reasons I felt nothing for the paper thieves who got their mansions destroyed in Syokimau. They knew what they were getting themselves into but they thought they were cleverer than the whole world.
That unfortunately is a moral topic which I'm not qualified to discuss.
However, I can discuss my experience and facts.
Someone here is claiming that big gov't is bad for the economy. Then has the audacity of quoting the USA.
So let me give you a few economics facts
When the great depression happened because of greedy speculators, the saviour was gov't. It taxed and got everyone back to work building roads and the infrastructure we care about.
There was bigger gov't.
When Regan, the republican Jesus, saw the economy floundering, he increased gov't spending. More tax...shhhh it's a secret.
When George Bush Senior saw the economy floundering, he increased taxes..Again more jobs
When George Bush Jnr went with this smaller gov't stuff....we are still paying for it.
The history is clear. When the economy is burnt up and can't create jobs organically, you need to have more gov't spending on crazy things like the us super highways, going to the moon....things like Thika road!
All the rest is hogwash politics.
Now the problem in Kenya is not bigger gov't or more taxes.
It's you fools electing the wrong leaders. Unfortunately if you elect Kisia, Waititu and expect them to understand what the last budget was about, you are mad.
When I ask guys what does Raila stand for in terms of my tax or Uhuru, or Ruto, I'm told stupid things like jaruos will never rule. Kumbe wewe ndio KUBAFU. Pay the 30% and shut up.
There is nothing wrong with the tax regime. If you elect bad leaders who eat your money, please don't blame taxes....Blame yourself for electing a fool for a leader....Making you a bigger fool.
So my stand in this is very clear.
I want no taxes at all.
But I've seen enough in my life to know that some people are eating what they don't deserve.