wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

The Best Internet Service Provider in Kenya
mwekez@ji
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 6:21:49 AM

Orange 3G+ speed test (Package - bundle)

ping 103ms
Download speed 0.65Mbps
Upload speed 0.36Mbps

Verdict: Poor speed especially given that its 6am in the morning and the package is bundle (Slower than 68% of KE)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1994571718.png

Someone give us a speedtest from www.speedtest.net for the much hyped airtel unlimited
Coolbull
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 8:43:26 AM

My Orange results.

Test 1 - June 7. 8:40am
PING 323ms | DOWNLOAD 2.57Mbps| UPLOAD 0.28Mbps

Test 2 - June 7. 8:43am
PING 528ms | DOWNLOAD 2.48Mbps| UPLOAD 0.31Mbps

Unlimited 3,000/= per month.

I find the speeds ok. Safaricom unlimited was just like this Orange connection.

I've noticed I'm using less MBs per day yet I'm still doing the same things. Could it be that Safcon was robbing me by 're-calcultating' usage. I'm using the same Safaricom mobile application/interface. (I have an 'open' modem).
#23 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 10:41:01 AM

Those are slow pings...low quality internet I think.

Here's mine from the office:

I'll upload Zuku home this evening.
matata
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 6:45:33 PM

Orange is the worst! nkt! It has been disappointing me long enough now!It's on en off when ur uploading important documents. Even opening an email itself is such a headache yet am based in Nrb, where networks r strong! I will try Airtel.
akowally
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 10:39:10 PM

This speedtest.com thing is interesting. Anyway my Airtel unlimited bundles expired so I have just done one for Safaricom:

Ping 119ms
Download speed 3.26 Mbps
Upload 1.57 Mbps

Will do Airtel once I do next month's subscription tomorrow.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
akowally
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2012 10:40:42 PM

By the way speed is not the only thing to look at. Another very important thing to look at is reliability. That's where Safcom and Airtel beat Orange. Airtel beats all the others in all these factors.
akowally
#27 Posted : Monday, June 11, 2012 2:23:02 AM

Here are the Airtel details based on Airtel unlimited bundle. You could not get these speeds with Safaricom unlimited. The only competitor is the kawaida Safaricom bundles which is what I used on my previous test above.

Ping 274ms
Download speed 1.53 Mbps
Download speed 2.43 Mbps
#28 Posted : Monday, June 11, 2012 6:29:30 PM

Here's Zuku from home:

Very interesting. When you change the server to the UK, speedtest shows you the "real" speed it works at:

QW25091985
#29 Posted : Monday, June 11, 2012 7:03:44 PM

Here's Zuku from home:

Very interesting. When you change the server to the UK, speedtest shows you the "real" speed it works at:

@kularaha . is the bandwidth capped ? i heard if you download a certain Gb per month your speed gets slowed down !
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 7:51:30 AM

QW25091985 wrote:

Here's Zuku from home:

@kularaha . is the bandwidth capped ? i heard if you download a certain Gb per month your speed gets slowed down !

I haven't noticed. I use utorrent a lot to download tv shows and movies...and no slowdown really.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 12:25:04 PM

I think am the only loyal safcom customer But they disappoint me!

June 1 they had this offer.Buy credit and get half offer.
So I top my modem with 1k and expect 500 free bundle after converting the sh 500.
Was seeing myself with 2000MB.smile instead of the usual 1500.

Kumbe ni ndoto.You cannot convert the offer into bundles and enjoy browsing.
Take back ur credit! nkt.
mzeiya411
#32 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 9:17:21 PM

Here's Zuku from home:

[/quote]

Interesting when guys post speedtests the server is usually their providers servers thus negating the whole process. One needs to speedtest to an offshore server to really know the quality of your provider
someuser
#33 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 10:05:48 AM

This obviously depends a lot on where you are located. I live in Mkomani in Mombasa. Orange and Airtel don't even get a reliable signal for making phone calls in my apartment. I've tried them both and they were both epic fails. Safaricom is the only semi-reliable choice for me. Since they removed the unlimited bundles, I now have much more reliable service as you could tell that someone was hogging all the bandwidth on a regular basis before. I don't mind paying extra if the service is good.

By the way, I've used my orange modem in Kikuyu, Nairobi and Kisumu and never got anything above dial up speed. I've only tried airtel in my apartment to no avail. I really wish there was a viable alternative but as it stands, I have to stay with Safaricom for now. I get around 2Mb/s most days and around 0.5Mb/s on a bad day during peak use times which is passable for me.
#34 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 10:13:20 AM

someuser wrote:
This obviously depends a lot on where you are located. I live in Mkomani in Mombasa. Orange and Airtel don't even get a reliable signal for making phone calls in my apartment. I've tried them both and they were both epic fails. Safaricom is the only semi-reliable choice for me. Since they removed the unlimited bundles, I now have much more reliable service as you could tell that someone was hogging all the bandwidth on a regular basis before. I don't mind paying extra if the service is good.

By the way, I've used my orange modem in Kikuyu, Nairobi and Kisumu and never got anything above dial up speed. I've only tried airtel in my apartment to no avail. I really wish there was a viable alternative but as it stands, I have to stay with Safaricom for now. I get around 2Mb/s most days and around 0.5Mb/s on a bad day during peak use times which is passable for me.

its okay to sell safcom, lakini are you sure orange can not get one 3g speeds in nairobi ?
someuser
#35 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 10:32:32 AM

For interests sake, this morning's test result on Safaricom through E5 wifi router:
And if I use portable hotspot on my Android phone:
#36 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 11:48:34 AM

Thank you @mzeiya for the Truth. If @someuser could also post speeds to London then we can begin to get somewhere...
#37 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 12:38:36 PM

muganda wrote:
Thank you @mzeiya for the Truth. If @someuser could also post speeds to London then we can begin to get somewhere...

Do those living in London post speeds to Nairobi or Sydney or California or Mumbai etc since all the content they access isn't held locally in london?
#38 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 1:45:53 PM

Unto every man his own portion.

If @jaggernaut you are satisfied with 'Speedtest' from Nairobi to Nairobi, so be it; knowing full well anyone with an ulterior motive could post such a test to show link between any two nodes on the ISP same network (say client/branch to HQ).

For me I need genuine Speedtest between Nairobi and Europe/US with a genuine link to speedtest.net for result - not just someimage from someISP by someuser.

The former is a PR exercise, the latter a true attempt at calibration smile

muganda wrote:

Do those living in London post speeds to Nairobi or Sydney or California or Mumbai etc since all the content they access isn't held locally in london?

mzeiya411
#39 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 1:46:18 PM

muganda wrote:

Unfortunately most of the online content is offshore thus needing to pingtest to outside countries
#40 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 3:10:27 PM

I think am the only loyal safcom customer But they disappoint me!

June 1 they had this offer.Buy credit and get half offer.
So I top my modem with 1k and expect 500 free bundle after converting the sh 500.
Was seeing myself with 2000MB.smile instead of the usual 1500.

Kumbe ni ndoto.You cannot convert the offer into bundles and enjoy browsing.
Take back ur credit! nkt.

Tuko wengi!!