wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Jicho Pevu
Mali
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 5:02:00 PM

The boys are back... man what a job! that is a certified NIS project... daring; straight to the point.... Well done ...

............................ VIDEO CLICK HERE...............................................

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
mungaits
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 5:20:00 PM

Enyewe this time these dudes really delivered!!

Get rich or die trying
Kasheshi
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 6:18:00 PM

Don't shika ktn. What was it about?

R
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 7:01:00 PM

Much as the scorpion squad was sounded out for credit,one wonders what cops do. Make friends with the parking boys at the sunken carpark (Reinsurance/Electricity/Jogoo Houses) and they will point out so many watu wa kindra (the T-metal they break car locks with) you will wonder if police exist.
Mali
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 5:14:00 AM

I really wonder what police use the CCTV in the CBD for! Can this work be given to private Co..? and KTN can look at a new revenue stream.....>>>><<<<<

#6 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 7:06:00 AM

That was work well done,have your car fitted with an alarm system to avoid such petty thieves who try unlocking your car by force!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
mtaalam
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 7:15:00 AM

It's obvious the police are one with the thugs!!
How can a team of journalists,stake-out thugs and get so much in two days
and the cops who are 'trained' to do it can't in a lifetime??

Don't praise the cops yet,they were also caught off guard by the journalists
and probably the only way for them go get the story is to involve the cops
so the don't warn their thug friends.

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 7:38:00 AM

my phone keeps on ringing..idiots!!!!!

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
tandich
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 7:46:00 AM

I was at the scene yesterday. It seemed they were working together with the cops. Also surprising was the speed with which other Media Houses responded to the story.
Spendthrift
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 8:15:00 AM

@Mali

You need to appreciate the role of the media in stemming this kind of crime. Bile against KTN is misplaced at least on yesterdays expose. The police will never be of help in these matters,most of them anyway.

On Monday,I packed behind Lifestyle to do a quick one (shopping). As me and my fiancee were about to step on the escalator,I remembered there were two laptops in the car,one in the trunk and one backseat and that I had not remove the control panel for the CD player. As a precaution,I asked her to proceed while I walked out to watch over the car since a friend had experienced the misfortune of having his car cleaned out near there. To my surprise by the time I reached the shoe shine area,there were three gentlemen near my car (two pocketing while the other one was looking near the control fascia- I think he must have been checking to see the LED emittor that signifies if the car alarm is activated). (monday was a pulic holiday so the space between mine and the next car was large enought for the fattest person I know to pass without hugging my car.

Quickly,they disappeared after being signalled that I had appeared. The signaller was someone who I believe must have been a taxi driver,or an idler using the parked taxi jallopies as a stakeout point. With no evidence I didn't bother to alert a band of cops who passed by minutes later. Man that was very fast and assuming my car did not have an alarm system,I am sure the items would have been long gone had we proceeded into the supermerket,given that my fiancee came out the supermarket 20 minutes later.

And in the case of KTN's story,there may be no sufficient evidence to convict the guys who were nabbed....my opinion. Lakini KTN walifanya kazi yao.

Guys,install alarm and always be cautious.

Everyday!
Msa Liti
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 8:57:00 AM

Was surprised by the piece yesterday. While I appreciate the roleof media in nabbing thieves and their ilk,I feel bad when somebody is dishonest while at it. The same footage had been aired by Citizen minutes earlier. Was shuffling stations and I saw it happen. For John et al to pose as if they have been shooting the footage for sometime is dishonest. Most likely some freelance cameraman shot the video and sold it to both stations. it thus would have been appropriate for the KTN guys to acknowledge his effort even Supersport and Reuters are acknowledged when footage from them is aired.

A man's face is his autobiography. A woman's face is her work of fiction.
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 9:06:00 AM

@Msalit: Interesting. ... probably some parts of it,not the whole footage. I should also start moving around with a camcorder!!!
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 9:08:00 AM

Msa Liti,

Citizen simply took the piece from Jicho Pevu at 7PM and aired at 9PM........why the hating on KTN?????

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
lexus
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 9:28:00 AM

big ups to ktn that was an eye opener.

work smart
tandich
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 9:43:00 AM

Just to clarify. I counted at least 3 'professional' Cameras like the ones news crews use together with several still cameras at the scene.
Mali
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 9:50:00 AM

@all.. The KTN footage at 7:40p.m had other episodes,the first 4 guys where nubbed and took the cops and KTN to where they sell their stuff..

The second episode; one of the guys went missing when the cop shot in the air...

I strongly believe that all the work was done by KTN.. They did a fantastic job and thumbs up to them... I didn;t see other stations.... so can't comment..

Layman
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 10:13:00 AM

Things are getting giants,where will we be parking our vehicles while shopping? Ok,always remember to leave nothing very vaualble in your car at all times.

The future is already here!
Silk
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 12:10:00 PM

Excellent piece whomever did it.

Life is too short.
mtaalam
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 12:26:00 PM

But let's be honest,who would ever dare pull a stunt like that in the CBD in broad daylight knowing our trigger happy watumishi?

There's no way these thugs would be doing this without some blessings from our watumishi.

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
Spendthrift
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 12:47:00 PM

If you knew the stealth and speed with which these guys operate,you would appreciate that it is possible for a passing by cop to assume the thugs actually own the cars. Plus they have learnt to predict police movement. It is simple,unless on tip off,once the police officers pass a point,they are unlikely to repeat sequence within 30 minutes. 30 minutes is enough for these guys to clean out up to 6 cars.

Although I wouldn't rule out police involvement (in releasing the suspects),my main suspicion is directed to those men (maybe also women) wearing yellow dust coats and carrying big receipt books....some taxi drivers maybe and lastly shop owners (or their employees) who readily accept the swag/cargo for resale . But a good alarm system is deterrent enough.

One more tip,if you have to drop off someone on some streets,notably Tom Mboya street or Ronald Ngala Street in the busy hours and you have valuables kama laptop in the back seat,be very keen as you disengage the central lock...Those boys are fast and have roving eyes. As for the chokoras on the Globe cinema stretch,just pray...they have a skill for removing corner lamps,windbreakers and side mirrors or snatching mobile phones through rolled down windows and the worst part is that you are better off in the car when they do this.

If you have to pen the trunk at a busy street parking e.g near archives,engage the central lock or alarm and then proceed to open the boot using the key. Do NOT pull the bootlid cable when still in the car. Wacha alarm ilie laikini your valuables will be safer.

Everyday!