wazua Mon, Mar 23, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Double dip recession vs Great Depression
ChessMaster
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 10:20:04 AM

Am i too pessimistic or is the first global depression of the 21st century around the corner?
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Nabwire
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 8:36:40 PM

At this point anything is possible, but I highly doubt if a depression is coming. I think the EU will be dismantled, or atleast they will shed off the extra fat, so globally we will continue to be affected until that whole mess is sorted out. China's economy is also cooling off just like the BRICS. I'm overall bullish on the US economy
ChessMaster
#3 Posted : Friday, June 01, 2012 1:03:30 AM

Comparison between the great depression and US now.The next link is a great read.Its a financial analysis of the US.Highlights:negative and growing cashflows,net worth is negative and deteriorating plus massive off-Balance sheet liabilitiesUSA Inc
Comparison between the great depression and europe now. Either way you look at it, EU and US are very close to exhausting their options especially with major defaults on the horizon. BRIC growth rates are a low and i don't think africa growth rates will help.
Cde Monomotapa
#4 Posted : Friday, June 01, 2012 6:29:02 AM

Lost Decade.
Nabwire
#5 Posted : Saturday, June 02, 2012 12:23:38 AM

I wonder who wrote the USA Inc article, sounds very alarmist, very Tea party-ish!!
Anyways the reason im bullish on the US is these guys came to the brink of financial armageddon in 08 and they rushed in to put checks and balances that ensured that they woudnt be in the same position again. US Corporations are sitting on huge sums of cash, they basically adopted a lean model and the feds instituted stress tests that they have to abide by. I was at the mall over the weekend and you could hardly walk coz there were so many people. I know the first reaction is Americans buy on credit, but that credit has a limit. Despite an economic downturn, the fact that people are shopping to me is an indicator that the economy is picking up. I remember in 08 the malls were empty. http://seekingalpha.com/...ank-of-america-is-a-buy
Basically they are prepared for the worst. But this is not to say that African stocks will not outperform US, I think the wise thing to do is diversify on both markets and hopefully buy when there is blood, if the Depression ever comes around.
Nabwire
#6 Posted : Saturday, June 02, 2012 9:44:07 AM

Cde Monomotapa
#7 Posted : Saturday, June 02, 2012 4:33:32 PM

"Money is a tool. Not a collectible."
ChessMaster
#8 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 3:06:03 PM

IMF Chief Economist says crisis will last a decade.LOST DECADE!!! Seems the age of skills and value is finally starting.Its either that or another world war.
StatMeister
#9 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 3:28:56 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
IMF Chief Economist says crisis will last a decade.LOST DECADE!!! Seems the age of skills and value is finally starting.Its either that or another world war.

Sasa jameni just when i wanted to push Kismayu to the farthest corner of my mind Sad
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
StatMeister
#10 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 3:39:02 PM

StatMeister wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

Sasa jameni just when i wanted to push Kismayu to the farthest corner of my mind Sad

And no, the next world war will be about water, not oil or religion or money or nukes
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
5 Pages123>»