wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

Degree Tym
wilyum
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2012 5:26:11 PM

Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka has been honoured by a Chinese university that conferred him with an honorary degree in Agriculture.

Mr Musyoka dedicated the award by the Nanjing University of Agriculture to his quest to see Kenya attain food security

wenye wivu wajinyonge.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
its erection time,Shame on you Shame on you Sad Sad
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 8:30:25 AM

wilyum wrote:
Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka has been honoured by a Chinese university that conferred him with an honorary degree in Agriculture.

Mr Musyoka dedicated the award by the Nanjing University of Agriculture to his quest to see Kenya attain food security

wenye wivu wajinyonge.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
its erection time,Shame on you Shame on you Sad Sad

DJ CK has also become Dr. DJ CK!!! Nini hii?

I support the Don who was suggesting that there should be something to tell real [Phd.] Dr's apart from honorary Dr's!!!

You can't just wake up one day and start calling someone Dr. DJ CK, Dr. Amolo, Dr. Emilio, Dr. Sonko, Dr. Waititu etc. and still call me Dr. Maichblack and yet I had to sweat for years to get my Phd.!
chiaroscuro
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 9:14:47 AM

You have a point, Dr. Maichblack; but there is also another side to the story.

Honorary degrees are awarded because universities recognise the fact that there are OTHER ways that a person can acquire knowledge apart from going through formal education.

In this line of thought, honorary degrees are deemed "equal" to the academic ones. Treating them differently would be similar to treating qualifications in different disciplines differently.

That is; for example, saying that a BSc is a higher qualification than a BA! Ridiculous, isn't it.

I have heard a PhD (Mathematics) holder arguing that Medical Doctors are not real "doctors"... because theirs is a first degree and his is a postgraduate one!
QW25091985
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 9:16:57 AM

hahahhaha.

Dr. CK is a new one !
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 9:29:13 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Honorary degrees are awarded because universities recognise the fact that there are OTHER ways that a person can acquire knowledge apart from going through formal education.

In this line of thought, honorary degrees are deemed "equal" to the academic ones. Treating them differently would be similar to treating qualifications in different disciplines differently.

That is; for example, saying that a BSc is a higher qualification than a BA! Ridiculous, isn't it.

I have heard a PhD (Mathematics) holder arguing that Medical Doctors are not real "doctors"... because theirs is a first degree and his is a postgraduate one!

@chiaroscuro - I agree with you to some extent. The original thought was noble. Honorary degrees were only being given to deserving individuals. Not anymore!!! Don't you remember sometime back when an obscure American college/university was embroiled in controversy for giving honorary degrees right and left in Kenya - to the likes of akina Marende. The recepients had to pay some money to cater for "costs". I guess some of the degrees even had to be revoked later. And with the numerous private universities coming up, all I have to do is give honorary degrees to some "popular" individuals to gain visibility.

By the way I have seen that medical Dr., Phd Dr. thing play out in a certain gathering. Person A approaches person B and introduces Person C as Dr. so and so. Person B greets him animatedly and immediately starts chatting him up. Person A adds "he is a medical Dr.". Person B immediately looses interest, excuses himself and walks away!!!

Forgot to mention. Person B was a real Dr. (Read Phd.!)
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 10:43:41 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Bwana C,how do you give an honorary degree in Agriculture to someone who doesnt even know how to hold a jembe? Honorary degrees were originally supposed to honor great work and experience in a certain field. For example, you can give someone an honorary degree in a field if they have made significant contribution in that field, eg, I know someone who was given an honorary degree in chemistry but the amount of contribution they had made in the organisation he was leading was enormous. they'd come up with products that universities were using to understand the chemistry behind it. Such a person, really deserves the degree.... But honorary degree in veterinary to Wendz would be as useless as they can get!
cmk
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 1:40:55 PM

So can we expect him to walk all the way from china to kitui ,or ukambani wearing the flowing garment?just like our friend earlier?

Time for mudavadi to go to britain or germany and get himself honoured,otherwise things will be elephant for him..hope ruto and uhuru are listening..same goes for karua and kenneth.
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 31, 2012 5:04:24 PM

cmk wrote:
So can we expect him to walk all the way from china to kitui ,or ukambani wearing the flowing garment?just like our friend earlier?

Time for mudavadi to go to britain or germany and get himself honoured,otherwise things will be elephant for him..hope ruto and uhuru are listening..same goes for karua and kenneth.

I am waiting with abated breath to see how @Kaloozer will land at JKIA...
Pray Pray Pray

#9 Posted : Friday, June 01, 2012 9:13:51 PM

Pastors are another lot with many degrees.. Kitonga, Wanjiru, Lai, Nganga all have doctorates!
#10 Posted : Saturday, June 02, 2012 6:14:35 PM

#11 Posted : Saturday, June 02, 2012 6:19:32 PM