wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

17 Pages<12345>»
EPL Summer Transfers
#41 Posted : Monday, May 28, 2012 5:59:54 PM

It's now official - Blue is the colour....

http://www.goal.com/en-g...-to-seal-chelsea-switch

I wasn't too hopeful about him joining us - Chelsea offered the best prospects of guaranteed playing time. Oh well, long way to go before transfer window closes

Maybe... but i don't trust gurl.com
#42 Posted : Monday, May 28, 2012 11:27:20 PM

Re: Hazard.
Its now official he is a Chelsea player.
Marty
#43 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 8:16:52 AM

Mastermind wrote:
Re: Hazard.
Its now official he is a Chelsea player.

Why do I have a feeling that he may not really live up to the hype? He seems to feel kinda important and I hope this does not necessarily mean he is not a team player. Lakini skills ako nazo.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 9:04:13 AM

Ocampo set to head new ethics investigations arm of World football governing body FIFA....
#45 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 10:04:42 AM

RVP has not yet agreed on a new contract with Arsenal na kama kawaida the media expects him to move to another club but after these comments from the most important women in is his life i think he'll definitely be at the Emirates next season.

"Arsenal showed faith in Robin when he was going through a lean time, so we should not repay them by thinking about other clubs, Our home life and our children are happy in London" Bouchra van Persie (Wife)

"Arsenal love him and that's a great incentive to stay. Arsenal are a fantastic club. They have no debts and Robin is idolised there." RVP's Mother!
#46 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 1:19:49 PM

RVP has not yet agreed on a new contract with Arsenal na kama kawaida the media expects him to move to another club but after these comments from the most important women in is his life i think he'll definitely be at the Emirates next season.

"Arsenal showed faith in Robin when he was going through a lean time, so we should not repay them by thinking about other clubs, Our home life and our children are happy in London" Bouchra van Persie (Wife)

"Arsenal love him and that's a great incentive to stay. Arsenal are a fantastic club. They have no debts and Robin is idolised there." RVP's Mother!

@TAZ - You should know better! The RVP women are not saying what they are saying to make Arsenal comfortable - that's not good for negotiations! They are saying it to make the suitors uncomfortable!!! The prospective clubs will now "know" that they have to offer an irresistible deal to overcome the RVP women "resistance". If one club offers a big money deal, then Arsenal will "know" they have to loosen the purse strings a bit more if they are to keep their prized possession.

RVP might stay or leave but whoever gets his signature will have to pay for his worth, which if you ask me is way up there with the rest! RVP is in the driving seat. He's on fire and he has a running down contract. If he gets a shitty deal, he'll be the dumbest player in the history of football business.

If he does not agree to a deal RVP can potentially leave the club for free at the end of next season! Now let’s assume he is worth £30m. If a club signs him for free [say on a 5 year contract] they would be willing to load the saved money onto his wages. That would be £115,000 per week [do the math] on top of what they were planning to pay him. If he accepts anything below £200,000 a week, he will be the biggest idiot in the history of idiots! Arsenal’s offer of £130,000 a week is laughable even though the £5m sign-on fee they are offering shows some kidogo seriousness. RVP apparently wants £275,000 a week which is pure madness for someone who’s already 28. You would be crazy to pay a 33 year old player £275,000 a week [assuming he gets a five year deal]. But I can totally see him earning £200,000 plus performance related bonuses!
#47 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 1:31:41 PM

And how do you pay RVP £70,000/= per week? Is he a second choice defender or something?
Marty
#48 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 2:13:16 PM

And how do you pay RVP £70,000/= per week? Is he a second choice defender or something?

This translates to around 9M Kshs per wk. Toure (Yaya) earns around 32M per wk. That is equivalent to a house in Runda every week. Majority Kenyans will never earn in their lifetime what he earns in a week. I am in the wrong profession.
Marty
#49 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 2:19:21 PM

Arsenal not only need to pay him well but they also must show more ambition. He seems to be isolated as the only truly world class player bar Sagna in Arsenal's ranks. Tough call for Him and the club as well.
Ric dees
#50 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 3:17:53 PM

..Hazerd joins Cheski, i said it the champions league will help us sign marquee players and why not the 6th team won more trophies than the top five..what irony. Already liking the attack Mata,Hazard,Marin all very good players wacha tuone.

Amazing world class players are turning down Man U, Hazard joins the ever growing list of world class players to turn them down: Shearer,Benzema,Torres now Hazard interesting times. Man U will now compete on 2nd rate players together with akina Arsenal and Spurs, the top rate will always be Chelski and City not forgetting Barca and Madrid oohhh i forgot and of-course any overhyped English player.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#51 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 4:05:40 PM

http://soccernet.espn.go...nji-kagawa-deal?cc=3888

At least it seems we'll sign Kagawa.

@Ric, in all honesty, I'd have been the most surprised fan if Hazard had signed for Man Utd. Most players, despite leaning towards a particular team, are eventually guided by what's the best deal for the agent. Hazard repeatedly said he wants to play in the natural No.10 position that has allowed him to score 20 goals this season, he was more of a winger the previous season but with freedom to roam. He also required guaranteed playing time. How was he going to get that at City or United - for No.10? Of course when Chelsea won the champions league his fate was sealed. Unconfirmed reports when I watched Sky Sports leo afte suggests his agent got a cool 6M pounds for the deal,unprecedented by any standards.

So while I agree with you that Utd will now be competing on the 2nd tier for top players, next to City and Chelsea (at least this summer),I also know that the agent will know the best carrot to use to ensure he gets the best deal out of it - and Eden Hazard was always going to be the most lucrative deal of the season, unless Thiago Silva had entered the market.

Eden's skills are unquestionable - I'm sure he'll do well in Chelsea colours.Next season is setting up to be very exciting
#52 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 4:10:26 PM

If he does not agree to a deal RVP can potentially leave the club for free at the end of next season! Now let’s assume he is worth £30m. If a club signs him for free [say on a 5 year contract] they would be willing to load the saved money onto his wages. That would be £115,000 per week [do the math] on top of what they were planning to pay him. If he accepts anything below £200,000 a week, he will be the biggest idiot in the history of idiots! Arsenal’s offer of £130,000 a week is laughable even though the £5m sign-on fee they are offering shows some kidogo seriousness. RVP apparently wants £275,000 a week which is pure madness for someone who’s already 28. You would be crazy to pay a 33 year old player £275,000 a week [assuming he gets a five year deal]. But I can totally see him earning £200,000 plus performance related bonuses!

@ Maichblack.....By the time he leaves Arsenal on a free transfer he'll be 30yrs Old, why would Man City, Chelsea, Barca or even Real spend 200K a week on him yet they already have world class strikers and can get even younger ones (Falcao, Cavani, Lewandoski, Llorente etc)with the same or better qualities. Don't forget he also has a terrible record with injuries. I think Wenger should not offer RVP anything more than the £130,000 that's on the table. If he decides he'll leave then let him run out his contract and go for two more strikers who could earn a total of £130,000 a week (Clint Dempsey & Giroud). RVP's purchase price was only 2.5m, nothing to lose there financially.

Almost everyone has advised him to stay (i believe he will) lakini at his age i don't feel he deserves more than what he's been offered. We have already signed Podolski who has almost identical skills to him and we'll probably add one more striker before next season whether RVP signs or not. Btw Kalou is a free agent, he is also an option.

http://www.espnstar.com/...should-stay-at-Arsenal/

http://www.thesun.co.uk/...y-his-mum-and-wife.html

http://www.telegraph.co....to-stay-at-Arsenal.html

@ Smano...I think Man Utd were waiting for Hazard to confirm where he'll sign before they commit on kagawa. He's still a very good player though.
#53 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 4:59:37 PM

More on Kagawa from goal.com...

http://www.goal.com/en-g...ntract-offer-for-kagawa

I like the way SAF also looks at the economic sense of a buy for the club - Kagawa will attract all the economically massive Asian following that will bring added revenue, immediately replacing the following Park has had.

By the way SAF should also look to play Ashley Young just behind the striker the same way he does for England, he seems to thrive there more than coming from the left. He used to do that effectively for Villa as well
#54 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 5:14:29 PM

Marty wrote:

This translates to around 9M Kshs per wk. Toure (Yaya) earns around 32M per wk. That is equivalent to a house in Runda every week. Majority Kenyans will never earn in their lifetime what he earns in a week. I am in the wrong profession.

you should try that proffesion martysmile smile
Ric dees
#55 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 5:33:48 PM

..@smano i hear what you saying but surely the tide has been changing for some-time and to be honest wages aside rumour has it if Fergie wins the 20th title then he will call it a day and now what will happen to Man U? if what happened to Spurs is anything to go by then players are cautious. Fergie will always be an impossible act to follow and no 21 years old wants to be faced with that uncertainity.

Fergie is talking bout Value and he signed Berbatov for £30m what a horrible ROI,(however i still think he is a class act) Truth be told he knows their stock is down and he will attract players who want recognition before their next step ie Kagawa. I find it lauphable young is now been touted as a no 10 where he performed against a below average Norway who dint even make it to the Euros? i ask what has changed from Villa - nothing just that he is playing for Man U, same as jones (rem how he faded in the 2nd half) Lets wait for next season (in my mind i have signing of the decade or so they said of one chicharito always difficult to replicate the first season in a club.However i wish them well.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#56 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 5:37:33 PM

http://www.guardian.co.u...ted-dortmund?CMP=twt_gu

... Ion Hazard has been fined for missing the team bus taking Belgium's footballers to training and will have to repay his colleagues in champagne- Belgian media reported.
#57 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 5:49:51 PM

As far as I'm concerned Ashley Young has not had the sort of effect I expected from him in Man Utd - he used to score more goals at Villa! Our squad is good enough to compete in EPL as people like Smalling, Jones, De Gea, Cleverley, maybe Rafael mature while players like Anderson and Fletcher regain some semblance of form and people like Nani come out of their inconsistency shells - Man Utd is a good side "as a team" but not good enough to compete in CL with the likes of Real,Barca,Bayern,Chelsea,AC etc. Perhaps signings like Kagawa will add an extra edge,but we need additions at the left back and a Lewandowski/Lliorente esque like player up front for steele - I think that will be enough for us to take maybe another season of rebuilding the squad before we can start talking about CL - I am assuming ofcourse that the "usual suspects" will get better next season.

Then the club has to start thinking about the replacement for Fergie when the time comes. For me it has to be a big name...small names and big clubs don't rhyme, but that's just me...
#58 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 6:00:13 PM

smano, What annoys me about the Glazers is their financial model. I have maximum faith in SAF.
#59 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 8:04:32 PM

For those of you speaking of the Great Man United in past tense, it seems you don't read widely. Try the links below:

Read this. Then come up with all sorts of excuses/explanations!!!

Argue with Forbes if you so wish!
#60 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2012 8:56:37 AM

Dortmund signed Kagawa for just £300,000 (Eto'o weekly Salary)in 2010 and now he's heading to Manchester United in a deal worth up to £20m....that's good business. SAf is also looking for a left back and there are reports linking the club to Leighton Baines but i really don't think he would leave Everton to be Evra's back-up. The transfer window officially opens this Friday, i hope Wenger concludes his signings early this time.

ION, Swansea's Manager Brendan Rodgers is Liverpool's No 1 choice to be the new manager.

@ This article captures @Ric dees point of view very well!

http://www.goal.com/en-g...ty-contest-but-not-much