wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Sell or Not sell all my stocks???????????????
wanyina
#1 Posted : Monday, May 28, 2012 8:17:35 PM

Im thinking of selling majority stake in my shares and convert or increase my potfolio to the Real estate to reach 90% holding. Howevers may be after the stock gain back from all this heavy losses probability after that i may get out of the stock market indefinately.The reason being as a NSE investor, since 2005 ,i have been observing keenly for years ,and based on comparison of Real estate growth and the stock market. i found out that the stocks its a game of rollercoaster recyling of money with no clear defination of any growth.Similar comparison the money i invested at the same time( year 2005) by buying various plot at ngong area and kitengela the return has been overwhelmingly unbelievable.
QW25091985
#2 Posted : Monday, May 28, 2012 8:28:47 PM

You need to learn to read the charts. Learn to draw simple trendlines to help you see the stock market direction. Donot sell your stocks. Thats all i can with give you complicatd technical analysis.

And was that scream an orgasm ? Lol
earthvoice
#3 Posted : Monday, May 28, 2012 9:17:44 PM

wanyina wrote:
...Similar comparison the money i invested at the same time( year 2005) by buying various plot at ngong area and kitengela the return has been overwhelmingly unbelievable.

QW25091985 wrote:
You need to learn to read the charts. Learn to draw simple trendlines to help you see the stock market direction. Donot sell your stocks. Thats all i can with give you complicatd technical analysis.

Sounds orgasmic! Laughing out loudly
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
#4 Posted : Monday, May 28, 2012 9:34:58 PM

Over 20-30years nothing provides more returns than stocks... DONT SELL ALL!!
mkeiyd
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 1:13:26 PM

guru267 wrote:
Over 20-30years nothing provides more returns than stocks... DONT SELL ALL!!

@guru, An acre of land is bought in 2009 @ 15k, today, the going rate for the same acre is 800k. That's 5,333% appreciation.
How many stocks have done that, or will do that by 2019?

What i'm saying is, don't make it a general rule about stocks and their 20-30yrs' returns,vis-a-vis other investments.
jaykay
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 3:22:11 PM

@Mkeiyd:True land has gone up over the past 10 years by staggering multiples.The drivers have been urbanization, increased incomes and greater regional and foreign interest in Kenya and Nairobi.

If land was doing so well in 2012 how come the posts that Wazuans have on selling the plots are few and far between? compare the posts selling plots in 2010/2011 and those put up in 2012.

Ask any mzee in the 80s and early 90s land didn't double in 1 year.Simply because demographics , credit availability and a closed economy ensured there wasn't much you could do on urban land.why build flats in Rongai when NHC was building Bungalows in Langata?

If you expect land prices to keep rising at the same rate for the next 5 years as the period 2005-2011 you are in for a RUDE SHOCK.

Don't forget at the height of the Japanese Bubble in the late 80s the grounds of the imperial palace were more valuable than the Whole of California( Think Google,Apple and Hollywood locations) there was even a Wesley snipes flick with the Japanese having colonised USA some time in the 1990s.

@Wanyina: Timing is everything in getting into asset classes.Thats why sovereign wealth funds don't put everything in land.Put your portfolio on Wazua and the community will help you decide;@coldtusker, @the deal are good at that.

The stock market can move sideways for a long time.the US market mmoved sideways from the let 60s to 1982.Then the big bull run ocured for more than 10 years.Gordon Gekko, et al

Remember the wananchi that bought EABL and BAT in the IPOs of early 1970s sat for 15 years before harvesting but the harvest they got and are still getting is huge.

Get a good Stockbroker to advise-pay if necessary.If you had Ksh 20,000 of EABL in 2003 its now valued at Ksh 200,00 at least and you get approx Ksh 10,000 in dividend.If you bought Motor- Mart in 1992 you now have a worthless share certificate.It collapsed and toyota took over its franchise.

Cash out of your spectacular land gains and spread the cash in land and other asset classes.
mkeiyd
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 3:38:27 PM

@jaykay, did you get my point? I hope you did but if you didn't, i will repeat.
The comparison between stocks and other investments should not be transformed into a GENERAL RULE.

I also don't expect land to appreciate as it has done in the last couple of years.
I'm also guided by the fact that,we have a housing crisis in this country. If the economy grows well and with the Turkana oil coming up in 6 years or so, demand for decent housing will keep on rising and that creates more land demand.
Don't be told by anyone that the county gov't will move people from the city,it will slow the urban migration, but not to such a big degree.
Anybody who has strategic land lying within 40kms of Nairobi will reap more if not same as a stock investor,in the next 5 years.
mkonomtupu
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 4:20:41 PM

I think there was a topic some time back about a couple who bought a house in Buruburu in 1986 and a couple who invested in the BBK IPO around that time. The house in buru came to 8m and the BBK stocks came to 12m after factoring the splits, bonuses and dividends. Long term stocks rule
QW25091985
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 4:31:54 PM

QW25091985 wrote:

why the scream on the threat topic . is the situation that bad ?
jaykay
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2012 7:28:07 PM

@mkeiyd: I understood you but wazua has some folks who CAN make it a general rule that Real estate is better than stocks.

@mkonomtupu- i didn't want to use Barclays-oft quoted.Multiples for Equity-since private placement and ARM are crazier in a shorter time.